New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Nov 20, 2012, 01:39 PM
lakis21 is offline
Find More Posts by lakis21
Registered User
lakis21's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by u2builder View Post
I had a recent crash due to a switch in the wrong position/stupid mistake while flying FPV and hit a tree and fell to the ground. The GPS protector broke off at it's base but it may very well have saved my GPS. I epoxied the stem to the base and all is good. Great product and small investment to protect an expensive part. Thanks for making it. I have one on both of my multicopters!
Thats great!!!!
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 20, 2012, 01:54 PM
wdelarme is offline
Find More Posts by wdelarme
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by u2builder View Post
I had a recent crash due to a switch in the wrong position/stupid mistake while flying FPV and hit a tree and fell to the ground. The GPS protector broke off at it's base but it may very well have saved my GPS. I epoxied the stem to the base and all is good. Great product and small investment to protect an expensive part. Thanks for making it. I have one on both of my multicopters!
Keep in mind I replace either part for $5.00...
Old Nov 20, 2012, 02:01 PM
T J Gilbert is offline
Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar

Go for it


Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_q View Post
Question-
Is there any reason the GPS antenna can't be replaced? I've done this with my Osd and now get a full sat lock in under 30 seconds inside my shop

Surely someone has tried this before?

Here is the component I used on my Osd:
https://www.sparkfun.com/products/8975?
I've seen these go as low as $24 which is a lot less than a new Dji unit.

Enquiring minds want to know!
If it will fit.
I don't see why not.
It's probably surface mount soldering if you are proficient in that skill...

After checking farther, I agree with wdelarme & ehx. Way too complicated & it's a crapshoot if it will work when you've gotten it connected. And you still have to get the old one loose from the conformal coating...
Last edited by T J Gilbert; Nov 20, 2012 at 03:10 PM.
Old Nov 20, 2012, 02:01 PM
kc10kevin is offline
Find More Posts by kc10kevin
Lt Col, USAF, Retired
Quote:
Originally Posted by wdelarme View Post
Keep in mind I replace either part for $5.00...
Just purchased 2 of them from you! Thanks.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: KKNG Rename
Old Nov 20, 2012, 02:05 PM
micarus is offline
Find More Posts by micarus
Registered User

Naza wont start.


Hi fellas , been flying fine since I put the Naza on my Qaud but found a problem on the r/x so cleared the model to reset for another r/x which would not talk to the Naza so fixed the problem on the original r/x and put it back on but now the Naza wont have that either!! I did all the Binding and the r/x seems to be fine if I put a Servo directly on a chanel but otherwise Nada!.

I'v treid the assistant but it says there is a fault on the T/x???

Any ideas? please.
Cheers MIKE.
Old Nov 20, 2012, 02:08 PM
wdelarme is offline
Find More Posts by wdelarme
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by T J Gilbert View Post
If it will fit.
I don't see why not.
It's probably surface mount soldering if you are proficient in that skill...
I looked into getting mine fixed...The original one is epoxied in place so it cannot be removed. I'm not an EE so I asked one and he said no way buy a new one
Old Nov 20, 2012, 02:41 PM
ehx is offline
ehx
Find More Posts by ehx
ehx
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_q View Post
Question-
Is there any reason the GPS antenna can't be replaced? I've done this with my Osd and now get a full sat lock in under 30 seconds inside my shop

Surely someone has tried this before?

Here is the component I used on my Osd:
https://www.sparkfun.com/products/8975?
I've seen these go as low as $24 which is a lot less than a new Dji unit.

Enquiring minds want to know!
If you truly mean just the antenna, it's possible, but way beyond most hobbyist's abilities. You would have to find the same or a very similar OEM antenna. A different antenna might not "play well" with the compass in addition to perhaps not being an ideal match to the receiver.

The Sparkfun product referenced is a full GPS receiver, not just the antenna. Even if you could find the same OEM GPS receiver DJI uses, DJI is likely to have a proprietary firmware.

In short, the answer is no. But this is just an educated guess as I haven't took one apart - yet.
Old Nov 20, 2012, 02:54 PM
indra9110 is offline
Find More Posts by indra9110
Registered User

gps antena


Quote:
Originally Posted by lakis21 View Post
I open it there is something like crack...

i think after the frame, the gimbal, the len and the display of the GoPro2 also the gps maybe went faulty ....


I dont know if this can replace!! the pic look like similar with dji naza gps

GPS Ceramic Internal Antenna 20 x 20 x 7mm

- Dielectric Antenna
- Center Frequency:1575.42 MHz±3 MHz
- V.S.W.R:1.5:1
- Bandwidth:±5 MHz
- Impedance:50 ohm
- Polarization Type:R.H.C.P

- LNA/Filter
- LNA Gain(w/o cable):28 dB Typical
- Noise Figure:1.5 dB
- DC Voltage:2.2~5 V
- DC Current:5~15 mA

- Mechanical
- Size:20*20*7mm
- Mounting:Internal
- Cable Length:40mm
- Connector:IPEX Connector
- Weight:9.6g


http://www.goodluckbuy.com/gps-ceram...20x20x7mm.html

cheers

Indra
Old Nov 20, 2012, 03:47 PM
T J Gilbert is offline
Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar

Recheck this...


Quote:
Originally Posted by micarus View Post
Hi fellas , been flying fine since I put the Naza on my Qaud but found a problem on the r/x so cleared the model to reset for another r/x which would not talk to the Naza so fixed the problem on the original r/x and put it back on but now the Naza wont have that either!! I did all the Binding and the r/x seems to be fine if I put a Servo directly on a chanel but otherwise Nada!.

I'v treid the assistant but it says there is a fault on the T/x???

Any ideas? please.
Cheers MIKE.
What type receiver do you have selected? Traditional vs. Sbus
What brand receiver are you using? Some are quirky
Are you sure of the channel assignments? Not all brands are the same
Are your three wire plugs oriented correctly? DJI jumpers are tabbed, but you may have had to modify or change the ones going into your receiver
Are your plugs pushed in all the way on Naza and your receiver? They are a tight fit sometimes
Last edited by T J Gilbert; Nov 20, 2012 at 04:14 PM. Reason: Thought of more...
Old Nov 20, 2012, 05:47 PM
u2builder is online now
Find More Posts by u2builder
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar
Quote:
I dont know if this can replace!! the pic look like similar with dji naza gps
Wow, it has the same number even. Very interesting. Am I reading correctly that it costs about $5???

How does the the compass business work in the DJI GPS? Is it just part of the GPS antenna or is it in the Naza?

Definitely worth investigating. The DJI GPS is crazy expensive compared to any other GPS. I have a Tiny OSD with GPS on my quad. The whole OSD with current sensor and GPS costs $107. This little GPS locks on much quicker than the DJI GPS and often gets an extra satellite.
Old Nov 20, 2012, 06:24 PM
Bill Glover is online now
Find More Posts by Bill Glover
Registered User
Bill Glover's Avatar
The Naza GPS is a combined GPS/Compass unit.
Old Nov 23, 2012, 02:41 AM
Malinois1 is offline
Find More Posts by Malinois1
Registered User
Does anyone have any experience or instructions on setting up the F450 Naza FC and GPS with a DEVO 10 TX and RX1002 2.4Ghz 10ch? The reason I am asking is because I'd like to know if they are experiencing any unique problems or is there anything I should know before I began to calibrate. Thanks in advance!
Old Nov 24, 2012, 02:25 AM
MidwestRob is offline
Find More Posts by MidwestRob
Registered User
MidwestRob's Avatar
Hi guys, was looking for some expertise on how the Naza's failsafe is supposed to work. I've been using the Naza w/ GPS since it's realease without any problems, but I've noticed something strange when the Naza kicks into failsafe from a loss-of-signal. The Naza will temporarily switch to failsafe until the receiver regains signal again and then I will suddenly have control of the quad without flipping the mode switch. If I turn the transmitter off and then on again, I have to flip the mode switch to regain control.

This issue can be pretty scary when flying in manual mode, lose signal, then unexpectedly have control again without warning. I was wondering why the Naza reacts differently from a temporary loss-of-signal than when I turn the transmitter off? I have an Aurora 9 radio w/ an Optima 9 receiver. Anyone have any idea what's going on?
Old Nov 24, 2012, 02:52 AM
Tahoe Ed is offline
Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
DJI Support
Tahoe Ed's Avatar
Rob, I have never has a loss of signal so I cannot comment. How did you. Way far out or ???
Site Sponsor
Old Nov 24, 2012, 03:17 AM
MidwestRob is offline
Find More Posts by MidwestRob
Registered User
MidwestRob's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tahoe Ed View Post
Rob, I have never has a loss of signal so I cannot comment. How did you. Way far out or ???
I've had it happen a few times over the last several months. It has only happened while flying FPV. The failsafes are usually caused by harmonic interference with my video transmitter and radio receiver. Once it happened when I flew behind a row of trees that blocked my signal while flying FPV.

The Naza will go into autopilot, then suddenly give control back over to the radio when it has signal again. It doesn't do the same thing when I turn the radio transmitter off and then on again. I have no clue why it acts differently because both situations are essentially a loss-of-signal failsafe.
Last edited by MidwestRob; Nov 24, 2012 at 03:26 AM.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product GAUI 500x/ GU-INS GPS Owners Thread - Tips, Problems And Experiences sap_2000 Multirotor Talk 231 Aug 05, 2014 05:32 AM
Discussion HoverFly Owners Thread: Pro, GPS, Sport, Gimbal and news Adidas4275 Multirotor Talk 195 Sep 06, 2012 05:45 PM
Found DJI NAZA GPS Upgrade Module for the DJI Naza Flight Controller skyhulk Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 10 Jul 20, 2012 09:47 PM
Question Question for Spektrum DX8/HF GPS owners Wayno Complaino Aerial Photography 13 Jan 01, 2012 02:18 PM
Discussion Gps owner videos jginsandiego Aerial Photography 0 Oct 04, 2011 06:01 PM