NAZA GPS ***Owners Thread*** FIRST PAGE LINKS UPDATED 8-13-12 - Page 376 - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Oct 15, 2012, 12:00 PM
I never finish anyth
Maybe I just like dancing with my hexa! DON'T JUDGE ME!
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Oct 15, 2012, 12:27 PM
Registered User
Thanks 320. Is there a way to mix the trainer switch with the SC switch so you can use it to activate the failsafe?
Oct 15, 2012, 12:38 PM
Registered User
Bill Glover's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCrites
DON'T JUDGE ME!
I'm disagreeing, not judging.
Oct 15, 2012, 01:04 PM
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar

Safety Battery for Assitant


Quote:
Originally Posted by u2builder
Regarding powering up without removing the props, which is definitely a pain, I was wondering if one could use a "testing" battery made from some well used small lipo where there was say a 1A or so quick blow fuse on one of the battery leads. That should blow right away if the motors tried to start.
OK, went to the hardware store and got a fuse holder and connected it to an old Lipo. I put a 1A fuse in it because I have lights that draw 600 mA. Took 5 minutes to make.

I took the machine outdoors and powered up. Lights were on and VU was working. I did the CSC and then gave it full throttle. Props barely started up and fuse blew of course just like I thought it would . Perfect. Only one test because the fuses are a buck a pop, but beats chopping up the fingers.

Without lights you could probably use 1/4 A fuse.

I am not saying don't remove props, but seems like this setup provides pretty good safety. Use at own risk and test outdoors first of course.
Last edited by u2builder; Oct 15, 2012 at 01:09 PM.
Oct 15, 2012, 01:17 PM
Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar

u2builder


I like your invention...
Might consider making one.
Oct 15, 2012, 01:21 PM
Registered User
I dont suppose I'm the first to do this but if you're having trouble finding 50% throttle to engage altitude hold put a kink in your throttle curve.Tried it yesterday,works a treat, much easier
Tim
Oct 15, 2012, 01:22 PM
saabguyspg's Avatar
nice job, and thanks for posting.

Steve

Quote:
Originally Posted by u2builder
OK, went to the hardware store and got a fuse holder and connected it to an old Lipo. I put a 1A fuse in it because I have lights that draw 600 mA. Took 5 minutes to make.

I took the machine outdoors and powered up. Lights were on and VU was working. I did the CSC and then gave it full throttle. Props barely started up and fuse blew of course just like I thought it would . Perfect. Only one test because the fuses are a buck a pop, but beats chopping up the fingers.

Without lights you could probably use 1/4 A fuse.

I am not saying don't remove props, but seems like this setup provides pretty good safety. Use at own risk and test outdoors first of course.
Oct 15, 2012, 01:28 PM
Registered User
ralfrcgroups's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by tangle
I dont suppose I'm the first to do this but if you're having trouble finding 50% throttle to engage altitude hold put a kink in your throttle curve.Tried it yesterday,works a treat, much easier
Tim
I did this a long time ago (think I also posted it) while training FPV-flight. Often when using YAW (flying mode 2) I lost or increased altitude - with this little option it was easy then... I put this option onto a flight-phase switch.
Oct 15, 2012, 01:28 PM
Registered User
crash8384's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by jetstuff
Hmmmmm.. but that's (at least) a dozen leads on a multirotor.......
True but if you took one look at my arm right now, then every one will understand prop safety !!!!

Better believe ill never power up anything with props or blades on again
Ill upload a pic in a few just to show how important it is to remove them cause ya never know !
Oct 15, 2012, 01:32 PM
Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar

Heli vs Acro Transmitter


Quote:
Originally Posted by tangle
I dont suppose I'm the first to do this but if you're having trouble finding 50% throttle to engage altitude hold put a kink in your throttle curve.Tried it yesterday,works a treat, much easier
Tim
I fly Naza with my JR9303H.
It comes with the sawtooth detent feature removed from the throttle stick.
It's very easy to find the hover point.
An acro radio can be converted.
I even fly my planes with it.
It's easy to get used to...
Oct 15, 2012, 01:32 PM
Registered User
320pilot's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AAzerosix
Thanks 320. Is there a way to mix the trainer switch with the SC switch so you can use it to activate the failsafe?
Well, I like to keep things simple. I use (or will use) my orange three way switch to select GPS, or Attitude or Fail Safe. Then you are not getting weird combinations of different switches. Before I launch, all switches are down (away from me). That puts the NAZA in GPS mode.

So after I have calibrated my NAZA with the GPS, then I will adjust the end point again, so the third switch position, will move the cursor between A (attitude) and M (Manual) into the Fail Safe area.

So the three way switch will activate FailSafe too; if I pull the switch up all the way.. Just read the end of my post.
If you don't understand what I wrote at the end, I can post another picture of my Tx Calib page, with Fail safe activated by the orange three -way switch.
Last edited by 320pilot; Oct 15, 2012 at 02:03 PM.
Oct 15, 2012, 01:38 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by T J Gilbert
I fly Naza with my JR9303H.
It comes with the sawtooth detent feature removed from the throttle stick.
It's very easy to find the hover point.
An acro radio can be converted.
I even fly my planes with it.
It's easy to get used to...
Couldn't agree more, the first thing I do with a new Tx is remove the ratchet on throttle .Tim
Oct 15, 2012, 03:40 PM
Registered User
Bill Glover's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by tangle
I dont suppose I'm the first to do this but if you're having trouble finding 50% throttle to engage altitude hold put a kink in your throttle curve.Tried it yesterday,works a treat, much easier
Tim
I use a 'hover' flight phase with throttle fixed at 50% so the stick does nothing. I also have a 'landing' one with a fixed throttle position set for the fastest stable descent (avoiding the 'wobbles'), which is very handy when it's up high.

'Normal', 'hover', and 'landing' are on a 3-pos switch above the throttle stick.
Oct 15, 2012, 06:16 PM
Registered User
FYI I successfully flashed the 27ms firmware for d8r-xp to my d8r-II plus. The 18ms firmware behaved very strange with ppm in Naza assistant but with this one everything seems great.
I guess the drawback will be more latency but I'm not doing any stunts with my quad
Oct 15, 2012, 10:09 PM
Westland Michigan.
Quote:
Originally Posted by crash8384
True but if you took one look at my arm right now, then every one will understand prop safety !!!!

Better believe ill never power up anything with props or blades on again
Ill upload a pic in a few just to show how important it is to remove them cause ya never know !
I'm looking forward to seeing it. Not because i'm into seeing something grusome, But I want to show a couple of friends of mine the seriousness of flying a multicopter. Especially in populated areas!!


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product GAUI 500x/ GU-INS GPS Owners Thread - Tips, Problems And Experiences sap_2000 Multirotor Drone Talk 231 Aug 05, 2014 04:32 AM
Discussion HoverFly Owners Thread: Pro, GPS, Sport, Gimbal and news Adidas4275 Multirotor Drone Talk 195 Sep 06, 2012 04:45 PM
Found DJI NAZA GPS Upgrade Module for the DJI Naza Flight Controller skyhulk Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 10 Jul 20, 2012 08:47 PM
Question Question for Spektrum DX8/HF GPS owners Wayno Complaino Aerial Photography 13 Jan 01, 2012 01:18 PM
Discussion Gps owner videos jginsandiego Aerial Photography 0 Oct 04, 2011 05:01 PM