New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Jun 09, 2012, 08:35 PM
slaterm61 is offline
Find More Posts by slaterm61
Registered User
slaterm61's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by blade strike View Post
Just so everyone is clear you will not trigger a pre set fail-safe on a 6200 rx.

You need a ar7000 or higher rx to trigger fail-safe with spektrum. Then you also have to bind twice. One to standard bind and then next bind with be with the TX in the config that will trigger the naza or wkm to trigger their Failsafe.

So for an example I use throttle hold to trigger failsafe on the wkm/naza. So I would power on rx with bind plug. Once power light is blinking pull bind plug. Now I power on my TX with throttle hold ON and bind button pressed. Recycle power and now test your failsafe via software.
Perhaps im doing it wrong ,but my Spektrum DX7/s doesnt seem to like it when any of the switches/sticks are in off/low position.. i cant seem to get it to bind in any other position than that.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 09, 2012, 08:59 PM
Adidas4275 is offline
Find More Posts by Adidas4275
manual flying apologist
Adidas4275's Avatar
Read up on smart fail safe v. Preset fail safe.
Old Jun 09, 2012, 09:26 PM
Buzz Bomb is offline
Find More Posts by Buzz Bomb
Ham Call Sign: KK4KGJ
Buzz Bomb's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yammysho View Post
Pitch 190, Roll 200, Yaw 140 and Vertical 220. I'm still tweaking a bit....
3S 5800 LiPo
Flying weight 1541g


Video is raw 720 @ 60fps

http://youtu.be/9ObA4EenG8Q
What props are you using?
Old Jun 09, 2012, 09:35 PM
Yammysho is offline
Find More Posts by Yammysho
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buzz Bomb View Post
What props are you using?
Graupner Elektro Prop - 10x5

Did balance but these are good straight out of the box.
Old Jun 09, 2012, 09:42 PM
blade strike is offline
Find More Posts by blade strike
DJI Testing / US Support
blade strike's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by slaterm61 View Post
Perhaps im doing it wrong ,but my Spektrum DX7/s doesnt seem to like it when any of the switches/sticks are in off/low position.. i cant seem to get it to bind in any other position than that.
Power the rx with bind plug and once powered, pull plug. Now bind the rx with the tx in fail safe.


Also your ar7000 should read batt / data if not you need it updated.
Site Sponsor
Old Jun 09, 2012, 09:47 PM
noffler is offline
Find More Posts by noffler
Registered User
just received my GPS today and have a question regarding mounting the unit. There seems to be 2 contradicting orientation axis in the v2.0 manual. There's a green/red arrows where X is positive to the left. And the black text showing X is positive as it points to the right. I'm not sure if mounting the GPS towards the tail is Pos X or Neg X.

Same goes for the Z axis. When the GPS is above the copter, would that be Pos Z or Neg Z?

THoughts?
Old Jun 09, 2012, 09:56 PM
capman231 is offline
Find More Posts by capman231
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_beeson View Post
I'm pretty sure that it is just dead space inbetween the endpoints of the switch.

since you are using a 3position switch now,
instead of a two position switch,
there are two dead spots instead of 1.


So, they should be the same,
in that "a failsafe position is a failsafe position".
If they had different functionalities, then they should be labeled as such.

-Mike
I think they may be different Failsafe's according to the manual. I think One puts it into GPS Attitude Mode Failsafe and the other one puts it in just Attitude Mode Failsafe. My GPS won't get here until Tuesday or Wednesday due to a delay in Customs so I haven't been able to test it yet. Just my thought and I could be wrong.

capman231
Site Sponsor
Old Jun 09, 2012, 09:56 PM
signal7 is offline
Find More Posts by signal7
Registered User
signal7's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by noffler View Post
just received my GPS today and have a question regarding mounting the unit. There seems to be 2 contradicting orientation axis in the v2.0 manual. There's a green/red arrows where X is positive to the left. And the black text showing X is positive as it points to the right. I'm not sure if mounting the GPS towards the tail is Pos X or Neg X.

Same goes for the Z axis. When the GPS is above the copter, would that be Pos Z or Neg Z?

THoughts?
In the diagram, the green line indicates a negative value, the red line indicates positive value. So, GPS behind the Naza is negative X (green), in front is positive X (red). GPS to the right of the Naza is positive Y (red), GPS to the left of the Naza is negative Y (green). And for Z, GPS above Naza is negative (green), below is positive (red).

The sign of the Z-value is counter-intuitive to me, but that's what it says...
Old Jun 09, 2012, 09:57 PM
rc-oldguy is offline
Find More Posts by rc-oldguy
IT Specialist
ok i know its new but has anyone got the new dji naza gps unit? if so whats it come with? does it have a mast included? and do you have to swap out your older/ non gps controller? what are the colored buttons on the addictiverc.com web site? are they markers? or gps stickers? or what? also hows the programming? i had a hard time with just getting it set up but now i love it flys great i really want the rth feature as my eyes are getting old with me
Old Jun 09, 2012, 10:00 PM
signal7 is offline
Find More Posts by signal7
Registered User
signal7's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-oldguy View Post
ok i know its new but has anyone got the new dji naza gps unit? if so whats it come with? does it have a mast included? and do you have to swap out your older/ non gps controller? what are the colored buttons on the addictiverc.com web site? are they markers? or gps stickers? or what? also hows the programming? i had a hard time with just getting it set up but now i love it flys great i really want the rth feature as my eyes are getting old with me
Mast is included (see earlier post w/ pic). GPS plugs right into the existing Naza, and you click a few buttons to upgrade your firmware to support it.

It will require very little additional programming. I'd read the manual ahead of time and get an idea of what to expect, but it's rather straightforward and shouldn't take you long to setup.
Old Jun 09, 2012, 10:31 PM
Buzz Bomb is offline
Find More Posts by Buzz Bomb
Ham Call Sign: KK4KGJ
Buzz Bomb's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yammysho View Post
Graupner Elektro Prop - 10x5

Did balance but these are good straight out of the box.
Yeah I can tell they sound really smooth.
Old Jun 09, 2012, 11:28 PM
BladeRex is offline
Find More Posts by BladeRex
Bladerex700
This thing rocks!! I am so happy with my purchase!! I am glad I spend the money on the whole thing, is amazing how it works, special when all I knows was a kk board, lol
Old Jun 10, 2012, 01:28 PM
Puget Sound Flyer is online now
Find More Posts by Puget Sound Flyer
ShOP loCAL FaRMers
Puget Sound Flyer's Avatar

Compass Calibration - New set up


I've installed and field tested the GPS on the HT FPV however dont seem to be able to get the NAZA into compass calibration mode.

The instructions say to move the control mode switch quickly 6 - 10 times and the led should turn solid yellow...I've tried several different reboots but don't seem to be able to get it started.

Anybody else having troubles or have successful experience?

Andrew
Old Jun 10, 2012, 02:13 PM
badbill is offline
Find More Posts by badbill
Habitual Freeloader
badbill's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puget Sound Flyer View Post
I've installed and field tested the GPS on the HT FPV however dont seem to be able to get the NAZA into compass calibration mode.

The instructions say to move the control mode switch quickly 6 - 10 times and the led should turn solid yellow...I've tried several different reboots but don't seem to be able to get it started.

Anybody else having troubles or have successful experience?

Andrew
Try going back and forth 12 times- I have always had to do it more on my WKM's.

Bill Davenport
AMA 28141
RCG Plus Member
Old Jun 10, 2012, 02:34 PM
Socratic is offline
Find More Posts by Socratic
Registered User

Fail Safe (confusion) Continued!


Received my GPS over the weekend and am setting it up on my Hex. I use a Futaba 7C. On the previous thread, there was discussion regarding using Fysky reciever for fail safe since the 7C isn't capable of full fail safe program. I have a fysky 6 channel and a corona 7 channel receiver hanging around. If I configure (one of) these to work in (transmitter bi-pass?) fail safe, will that do the trick?

Anyone actually test this "theory" out yet?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product GAUI 500x/ GU-INS GPS Owners Thread - Tips, Problems And Experiences sap_2000 Multirotor Talk 231 Aug 05, 2014 05:32 AM
Discussion HoverFly Owners Thread: Pro, GPS, Sport, Gimbal and news Adidas4275 Multirotor Talk 195 Sep 06, 2012 05:45 PM
Found DJI NAZA GPS Upgrade Module for the DJI Naza Flight Controller skyhulk Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 10 Jul 20, 2012 09:47 PM
Question Question for Spektrum DX8/HF GPS owners Wayno Complaino Aerial Photography 13 Jan 01, 2012 02:18 PM
Discussion Gps owner videos jginsandiego Aerial Photography 0 Oct 04, 2011 06:01 PM