Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by thwaitm, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Jun 04, 2012, 11:02 AM
Registered User
Careful!

Just hacked my Devo 10B 10mW for 100mW operation


For anyone who might be interested, I've hacked the Devo-10 A 100mW firmware to work on the B 10mW version.

The process was based on work done by FDR_ and rcH4x0r who did the same thing for me and my Devo-8 10mW Tx.

Needless to say, this is unsupported and might trash your TX.
Not for the fainthearted!

You need,
  1. HxD - Hex Editor - free
  2. DFU Tools from FDR_

The method:
In the Devo-8 hacked firmware there is a string of 10 repeating bytes 00 C7 in block 184D-1856.
In the original FW for both A and B versions this same string appears at offset 1853 in A firmware and 184B in B firmware.
It's just before the 4 bytes 44 45 56 4F which spells DEVO.

In the Devo 10, the same 4 bytes 44 45 56 4F occurs at offset 1111.
Again, just before this there is a similar series of bytes except this time it contains 00 C9 at offset 110B.
Replacing the 10 bytes in block 1105-110E with 00 C9, saving the hacked firmware and recalculating the CRC enables the 20db option in the Devo-10.

See the attached PDF for screenshots helping you through the process.
Last edited by thwaitm; Sep 06, 2016 at 07:13 PM. Reason: Added Devo-12 Fw v1.5A hacked dfu
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Aug 05, 2012, 06:54 PM
Registered User

Hacking Devo 10B 10mW for 100mW operation


Hi Mik:

What is the benefit of going 10mW from the 100mW on your Devo 10? And how do I tell what version I have on my Devo 10?

Thanks,
Andy
Aug 06, 2012, 02:43 AM
Registered User
Hi Andy,

You get the full power of the TX and maybe 2x the range or a little more and less chance of interference/glitching closer in. Honestly, in most cases I guess it doesn't make a large amount of difference.

The way you can tell is in MODEL menu under AMPLI menu. If you can select 20db then you have a 100mW TX and don't need this hack.

Cheers!
Aug 08, 2012, 01:44 AM
Registered User
Where I can get "DFU Tools from FDR_"?
Aug 08, 2012, 02:17 AM
Registered User
Send a private message to FDR_ and ask him for them.
Aug 11, 2012, 07:18 PM
Registered User

Software 0.6B and Library 0.2 on Devo 10


Quote:
Originally Posted by thwaitm
Hi Andy,

You get the full power of the TX and maybe 2x the range or a little more and less chance of interference/glitching closer in. Honestly, in most cases I guess it doesn't make a large amount of difference.

The way you can tell is in MODEL menu under AMPLI menu. If you can select 20db then you have a 100mW TX and don't need this hack.

Cheers!
I see only 10db so I have the 10mW TX. However I had already used the UP02 to upgrade my Devo 10 to Software 0.6B and Library 0.2. Does this mean I should not use your 0.5A hack on my Devo 10?
Aug 12, 2012, 05:14 AM
Registered User
Well, if you use the Wireless Cowper function then you'll need 0.6FW but if like me you have no idea what Cowper is then you can use hacked FW0.5 to get 20db available. It depends what and how you fly if you really need 20db gain but having more than enough range is always better than not having enough...
Aug 20, 2012, 09:51 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by thwaitm
Well, if you use the Wireless Cowper function then you'll need 0.6FW but if like me you have no idea what Cowper is then you can use hacked FW0.5 to get 20db available. It depends what and how you fly if you really need 20db gain but having more than enough range is always better than not having enough...
What is Wireless Cowper?
Have you tried to modify the FW0.6?
Aug 20, 2012, 11:27 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by upside_down
What is Wireless Cowper?
Have you tried to modify the FW0.6?
I'll try that next week. I've been away from my tools on my hols.

Still wondering what Cowper is... wireless is surely better though! ;-)
Aug 20, 2012, 12:40 PM
Registered User
I have modified a DEVO-10 Fw v0.6A.dfu
(10 bytes between 1105 and 110E replaced with 00 C9 and then calculated the new CRC)
but at the moment I have no Devo10 to test it.

If anyone will test, go to hoho.de.tf
(Please infor me if the modification does not work. Then I will remove the file immediately.)


A friend could test the modification now.
He has no success.
So I removed the file from the web space.

Waiting for your modified firmware.
Last edited by upside_down; Aug 22, 2012 at 02:50 AM.
Aug 23, 2012, 07:25 PM
Registered User
thanks upside_down !!
your toot "DevoTXlibmod.exe" is good func.
and I can mod devo10 0.6a hacked firmware file .
My devo10 just have 20dbm power!
http://tagashira.sakura.ne.jp/sblo_f....6A_hacked.dfu
Aug 24, 2012, 03:49 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by ytg1123
thanks upside_down !!
your toot "DevoTXlibmod.exe" is good func.
and I can mod devo10 0.6a hacked firmware file .
My devo10 just have 20dbm power!
http://tagashira.sakura.ne.jp/sblo_f....6A_hacked.dfu
I have compared your and my modified firmware an did not find any difference.
Maybe my friend made something wrong while testing my mod.

I set a link to your mod on my webspace.

Thank you!
Jun 30, 2013, 09:54 AM
Registered User
How about devo 12s, how to upgrade to 100mw ?
Jun 30, 2013, 07:49 PM
Registered User
No idea, never tried, I don't own one to test but I expect it's basically the same method.
Jun 30, 2013, 08:07 PM
Registered User
Ok, how long range after hack to 100mw?


Quick Reply
Message:
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Walkera DEVO Tx Hacking rcH4x0r DIY Electronics 2975 May 19, 2017 05:40 PM
Discussion Hacking the Devo 8 NorCalMatCat Radios 2 Mar 12, 2012 02:05 PM
Wanted Trade My Genius 2801 RX for a genius Devo RX Z06 Tony Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 1 Dec 09, 2011 01:47 PM
Discussion how to chang walkera 2801pro from 10mw to 100mw raptorddd Micro Helis 2 Dec 12, 2009 09:23 PM