Thread Tools
May 22, 2012, 12:18 PM
Registered User
Discussion

DJI Zenmuse Z15n Gimbal thread.


Disclaimer:
Please please lets try to keep this thread on topic. We know the GPS is not working well in Southern Hemisphere. We know they are working on it. We know some hate DJI and are upset with this and that. Thanks.

Meanwhile. had a chance to play with the S800 and Z15n gimbal. My Z15n is set to default settings and waiting for the software to become available any day so I can't make some FINE tune adjustments. So I have some "twitching" of the gimbal that shows up. That will all get resolved once I hook up to the software and do a calibration I guess.

Anyways, the Zenmuse is the REAL DEAL. I'm uploading some footage and will post shortly. Its pure raw. I can't get over how stable it holds the camera. I cranked on the S800 really hard and besides the twitch is amazing. No more worries about flying smooth I can tell ya that.

This is far from a Spam post, this is because I had my first Z15n fight and the raw footage is awesome and I'm blown away. Can't wait to make some tweaks to the gimbal and start filming and not constantly messing with setups.

Yes, its not cheap but.... I'm good with all that if time and time again my footage is perfect. For the record I like to consider myself a hack pilot.

Uploading right now.
Last edited by UAVProducts; Jun 05, 2012 at 06:40 AM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
May 22, 2012, 01:13 PM
Needs more bacon!
Dolby's Avatar
So can you change lenses on your nex using the z15n? Some times I need the 16mm and other times I like to use a 30mm. Seeing some video of when the mount is powered on it looks like there's only room for a 16mm because it flips the camera around 360 degrees vertically.

http://youtu.be/izv9GJ8SkbM?hd=1&t=1m25s
May 22, 2012, 01:25 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dolby View Post
So can you change lenses on your nex using the z15n? Some times I need the 16mm and other times I like to use a 30mm. Seeing some video of when the mount is powered on it looks like there's only room for a 16mm because it flips the camera around 360 degrees vertically.

http://youtu.be/izv9GJ8SkbM?hd=1&t=1m25s
Its very specific to the lens. I won't know the answer to that until I get to play with the software. I believe the calibration is very advance and only can be done bu authorized personal. Again, until I get the software/manual I really don't know.

I just bolted it on and went a flew it.

I'm thinking the gimbal TX I used had subtrim set and that might be the reason to the twitch. I'm charging the Lipos and will go out later and do some more testing.

I'll just post the boring videos so no smoke and mirrors.
May 22, 2012, 01:30 PM
Registered User
I'm really looking forward to seeing these new vids.
May 22, 2012, 01:39 PM
Registered User
MAN, I want one too, but WAY outta my league.
I can't even afford the S800 I ordered.
May 22, 2012, 01:59 PM
Registered User
Its nothing special.
Notice the twitch on ground before and after take off.

Heading to post office then back to playing with it.

http://youtu.be/OA_qpQpCJIE
May 22, 2012, 02:08 PM
Private Pilot
Twister773's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by jasper7821 View Post
MAN, I want one too, but WAY outta my league.
I can't even afford the S800 I ordered.
Say the word and I'll buy it from you haha
May 22, 2012, 02:11 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Twister773 View Post
Say the word and I'll buy it from you haha
I should have a bunch of S800 in a few weeks. Getting the pre orders almost filled.
May 22, 2012, 02:38 PM
Registered User
What camera is this? Calibration only through authorized personal? Jesus, did you get it
with the cam already built in?
Well, this are the things that hold me back preordering this thing, maybe someone from
DJI could finally enlighten us what camera and lens are working, how the calibration is done
etc. etc.
May 22, 2012, 02:49 PM
Hold Down The West!
cryhavoc38's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dolby View Post
So can you change lenses on your nex using the z15n? Some times I need the 16mm and other times I like to use a 30mm. Seeing some video of when the mount is powered on it looks like there's only room for a 16mm because it flips the camera around 360 degrees vertically.

http://youtu.be/izv9GJ8SkbM?hd=1&t=1m25s
Gotta admit thats one bad arse gimbal.
For the price though, it should come with that controller
May 22, 2012, 02:53 PM
Registered User
Do you know when try are shipping it out to us.... ???

Need some pix of your setup...
May 22, 2012, 03:01 PM
Registered User
Looking past the twitching, that is fantastic footage.
May 22, 2012, 03:12 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hypam View Post
What camera is this? Calibration only through authorized personal? Jesus, did you get it
with the cam already built in?
Well, this are the things that hold me back preordering this thing, maybe someone from
DJI could finally enlighten us what camera and lens are working, how the calibration is done
etc. etc.
Sony Nex5N, 16mm and forgot to even look at camera settings or set.
These motors on these Zenmuse gimbals are nothing at all like Servos. So fluid its crazy. So YES, they are very sensitive to weight and balance. So YES, they have to be calibrated per camera, per lens..I guess.

Zenmuse is a high end gimbal. Its not for everyone I will admit that.
May 22, 2012, 03:15 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul@SCC View Post
Looking past the twitching, that is fantastic footage.
I have it setup for a two person setup right now because I don't have the software.
So "I think" the twitch is because I have not calibrated the camera TX etc and I had to add a few clicks of trim to get it perfectly level.

I have seen the beta manual and I think that is the issue. Either way, its really amazing. I just want that software before Memorial Weekend!!!!!

Going to go play some more, even thou its not 5pm here yet.
May 22, 2012, 03:30 PM
Needs more bacon!
Dolby's Avatar
Wow that video is just awesome, once you get that twitch fixed it will be perfect.

I wish you could swap between 16mm and 30mm though. Hopefully in the software there will be a drop down menu where you can select the lens your using.

Oh is there any built in shutter control on the Z15n? I notice that black bar on the front of the gimbal kind of covering where the IR sensor is on the camera. Or is that just the HDMI to Composite converter?

Can you show some pictures on how its mounted to the rales on the landing gear? I'm curious.

Very tempted to get one from you...
Last edited by Dolby; May 22, 2012 at 03:41 PM.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Micro Shrike Build Thread (was Mystery Build Thread) AndyKunz Electric Plane Talk 101 Dec 05, 2013 09:50 AM
Discussion New HoverFly thread in the multrotor forum.... Please Post your Setup in the thread Adidas4275 Aerial Photography 2 Apr 16, 2012 12:37 PM
Wanted You have posted in this thread You are subscribed to this thread XP 9303 Transmitte Patchitagain Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 1 Feb 20, 2012 11:44 AM
Discussion Another test of Changing thread description test of Test thread for next year Prof100 Foamies (Kits) 4 Dec 18, 2011 09:28 PM
Question Thread Tools - Show Attachments In This Thread Cincy E-Flyer Site Chat 2 Oct 28, 2011 09:53 AM