The Hobbyking KK2 Flight Controller - Page 5 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Jun 25, 2012, 03:53 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris...
If Rolf patented it then surly by law he should get royalty's shouldn't he ?
He does get a royalty, and I doubt an open source project would be patented.

Why don't you have a read of Rolf's actual thread on the controller instead of guessing here:

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1675613
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jun 25, 2012, 10:31 AM
Registered Addict
Kris...'s Avatar
Ok i will thanks Erknie.
Jun 25, 2012, 04:02 PM
Registered User
blacksto's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adrian_M
Hi I'm looking @ that kit too i will be interested to see how long it takes you to get it the price is very good too
Hello! As a newbie in multi rotor helis, I also managed to buy one board from the first stash and also thinking to buy that 450 kit from rctimer. So I'll be also waiting for feedback and of course several tips and maybe settings for that quad and board. I would only ask if I should also order one programming card for those ESC-s and I guess I also need a Li-Po buzzer and I'm set.....right?!
Thank you I hope everything's gonna work out!
Regards, Alpar
Jun 26, 2012, 01:03 AM
Registered Addict
Kris...'s Avatar
The board already comes with a buzzer blacksto.
Jun 26, 2012, 02:36 AM
RC Man Child!
Hey guys, here is a new walkthrough video I just made of the new KK2. I hope you enjoy it!
Hobbyking's KK2 Control Board: THE WALKTHROUGH (10 min 12 sec)
Jun 26, 2012, 04:03 AM
Registered User
Just looked at your video after some random surfing. Is the board that you reviewed the one sold by Hobbyking at $30? If so I just CANNOT believe it after my experience (disappointing I may add!) of my attempts with Mike Dammar's Spectrolutions board which relied on I.R. differentiation for levelling! (And in the UK for most of the time is impossible!)
The features you describe are, to me, unbelievable considering I was paying some $ 3-400 for my board!
I'm looking forward to your further videos.
Ted (UK)
Jun 26, 2012, 04:25 AM
http://der-frickler.net
(Jo)Hannes's Avatar
Yes, this is the Hobbyking 30USD Board, with a BuddyCode the price i payed was 18USD ;_)

Again, great work from KaptainKuk! The original KK was the first affordable Multicopter Board, even when you had to strip 3 HK Heli Gyros for 14USD each and solder it yourself before the first complete Boards came up. Can't wait to see THIS ONE fly....
Jun 26, 2012, 06:33 AM
Registered User
blacksto's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kris...
The board already comes with a buzzer blacksto.

right! thanks I also read it on the other post, as I understood you need to connect a cable from the positive lead of the battery near that yellow component on the PCB. The ground does not need to be connected because it uses the ground signal from the PCB.
Thanks for the heads up!
Jun 26, 2012, 03:09 PM
skumgummi dave
lurking...

Dave-
Jul 04, 2012, 05:27 AM
Firepower
Firepower's Avatar
Has anyone tried one of these boards. Just wondering seeing it is a 8bit controller and not 32 bit.

Where do you find Buddy Codes?
Jul 04, 2012, 06:17 AM
making crashing a lifestyle!
dutchcommando's Avatar
tried..

KKv2 self level test (2 min 31 sec)


without self level it rocks... with... err... not jet..
i have to dig in the PI settings to get that part right i think..
for now it just wanders around on it's own with auto stab on..
Jul 04, 2012, 06:24 AM
Firepower
Firepower's Avatar
Thanks dutchcommando - Hopefully the PID settings will fix it.

Anyone got the self leveling to work so that the quad does not move around a lot.

EDIT: Just checked the board out on youtube and looks quite good. Guess it is worth buying.
Last edited by Firepower; Jul 04, 2012 at 06:59 AM.
Jul 04, 2012, 07:21 AM
Registered User
Del-Dredd's Avatar
Buddy code have been removed from this item, I got mine for $18 when they first were up, went like hot cakes as they say, still do at full price.
Still awaiting its arrival.
Jul 04, 2012, 07:53 AM
Registered User
Can I run this with 3s , it only says upto 6v ??
Jul 04, 2012, 08:20 AM
making crashing a lifestyle!
dutchcommando's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by FANtastic
Can I run this with 3s , it only says upto 6v ??
the board gets its power from the ESC BEC, through servo output pin 1. (others have no +5V pin connected.... very smart! saves the hassle of cutting the red servo wire on three esc's)
the BEC from the ESC will provide the board with the needed 5V-6V.

if you can use 2s,3s,4s,5s,6s,7s etc etc etc is determined by your ESC (and motors)

so if your esc (with build in BEC) supports 3S, then the board can to.. it is powered by the bec, not the lipo directly.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-HowTo MultiWii, Clone WM+ with ITG3205 gyro and a Nunchuck clone with ADXL335 acc chip markusb2 Multirotor Drone Talk 5 Apr 29, 2012 06:47 PM
Help! Mk gyros-Acc? smartquad Multirotor Drone Talk 0 Mar 11, 2012 08:27 AM
Sold HobbyKing ECO8 150W 7A 8S Bal/Dis/Cyc Charger w/ acc. Wingbreaker Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 1 Feb 29, 2012 10:12 AM
Sold Multiwii quadCopter gyro ACC & baro ($205) madushan2008 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 12 Jan 23, 2012 09:19 PM
Discussion Acc only - no gyro drifter1949 Multirotor Drone Talk 3 Sep 20, 2011 08:13 PM