Thread Tools
May 09, 2012, 10:42 PM
Registered User
Discussion

Help with Frsky into Airtronics please


Hi, I just picked up an old manual trim Airtronics V600 to install the DIY Frsky adapter on.

I am not sure how to locate the PPM, positive or negative locations on my board. Was wondering if there is a method I could follow to accomplish this as I havent seen it installed on my radio before only the v6000 which although similar, still has a different board.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
May 10, 2012, 12:14 AM
Registered User
Check for any other system conversion of your radio, the same will apply to Frsky too.
Else, post a picture of boards here, please.
May 10, 2012, 07:18 PM
Registered User
harborflyer's Avatar
Post pics of radio, Please.

ross
May 11, 2012, 03:51 PM
Registered User
harborflyer's Avatar
Does it have a buddy box plug in socket ?

ross
May 11, 2012, 05:07 PM
Registered User

plug


Yes it has the plug, I'm posting pics of the front and then of the board. You can see the plug dangling to the left of the board.

Also I wrote down what each numbered wire on the back of the buddy box plug goes to:

1 Power
2 Ground
3 Mod out
4 Power
5 Mod in

So would I be able to cheat and just splice into these wires or use them to trace to a good solder spot on the board?





May 11, 2012, 05:16 PM
Registered User

...



May 11, 2012, 10:22 PM
ab amicis auxilio parvulo
Aerospacer's Avatar

FrSky for Airtronics VG600


If you look on the back of the VG600 case for the FCC ID you might be able to go to the FCC web site and get the schematics for the main board where the RF circuit resides. I have done that on my RD6000 and VG6000.

Back when they were getting FCC certification for these "older' radios the manufacturers didn't usually invoke confidentially to keep the schematics from being accessed by the public.

If you try to trace back from the trainer plug you may find the PPM for the trainer output goes through an IC switch so you won't be able to find its origin at the 72 MHz RF section where you need to get it for the FrSky.
May 11, 2012, 11:25 PM
Registered User

fcc


I located the schematics with your help but I honestly can not decipher the information I need from them.

I'll give them a full look though, and if I can, I will post them here for others.
May 11, 2012, 11:33 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by flomofo
I located the schematics with your help but I honestly can not decipher the information I need from them.

I'll give them a full look though, and if I can, I will post them here for others.
Post the schematics link, what is mistery for you could be an easy lecture for others
May 11, 2012, 11:42 PM
Registered User

...


downloading them now

vg600-1 by flomofo, on Flickr

vg600-2 by flomofo, on Flickr
Last edited by flomofo; May 12, 2012 at 12:34 AM.
May 12, 2012, 12:54 AM
Registered User
harborflyer's Avatar
3, 3, 4, splice into these, and pull crystal. DIY module tapes inside back of case, mount antennae on top where 72 ant. is.

ross
May 12, 2012, 12:55 AM
Registered User
harborflyer's Avatar
pardon me, 2, 3, 4, leads.

ross
May 12, 2012, 01:19 AM
Registered User

...


Thank you for the help, I soldered my DIY kit to the buddy box plug and got it working.

My digital servos are really twitching like crazy, especially at center, but my analog Futaba s3004 works fine with it.

But this morning after testing the digital servos with my new RDS8000, I tried the VG600 with the DIY kit again but it is no longer powering on.

Kind of stumped as to why because it was working fine just seconds earlier and I didnt see any magic smoke or anything when turning it on.
Last edited by flomofo; May 12, 2012 at 03:57 PM.
May 12, 2012, 03:58 PM
Registered User

...


I already tried using different power sources, maybe this thing just shorted out.
May 13, 2012, 10:09 PM
ab amicis auxilio parvulo
Aerospacer's Avatar

PPM signal on VG600


If you come off 2,3 & 4 on the trainer jack, the PPM signal on 3 is only alive when the trainer switch is pushed. I would think you want to intercept the PPM signal off the collector of DT3 (arrow labeled RF at the center right of schematic sheet #1).

That is essentially what I did on my RD6000. Also, better than just pulling the 72 MHz crystal, find and open the 9.6 volt battery feed to the 7 volt regulator in the stages of the RF on schematic sheet #2. This will kill the 72 MHz RF and save a power drain on the battery. Also the TP8 on the RF circuit of sheet #2 is the PPM after going through two stages of buffering/amplification. If you back up two transistors (can't read their tags) you have the ideal point to pick up the PPM.

Doing these things requires translating the schematic to the actual circuit board traces and components. The two schematics you have represent what is on the lower main circuit board. The power and encoding of the PPM is on the left half when you look from the back. The RF circuits are on the right half of the board. A good reference is the antenna which taps off in the center. My RD6000 actually had jumpers to bring the PPM and 9.6 volt power from the encoder side to the RF side which could be readily unsoldered and both break the 72 MHz circuits and give an attach point for the FrSky wires.
Last edited by Aerospacer; May 13, 2012 at 10:15 PM.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Help with a Turnigy 9x, Frsky, and Smartieparts boards... daign Radios 35 Mar 17, 2013 03:36 PM
Discussion Frsky help on Airtronics V600 flomofo Sailplane Talk 0 May 09, 2012 07:29 PM
Discussion Pleas Help me with walkera 36 WK-0701 Tx kaushiksad Simulators 1 Dec 03, 2007 06:26 PM
Help With Charging Li-Po's With Triton Charger Pleas? Synthetic Batteries and Chargers 13 Dec 17, 2004 08:08 PM
RealFlight g2 Multiplayer pleas help Pablito Parkflyers 0 Apr 27, 2002 08:44 PM