Zero UAV YS-X6 Owners Thread and Discussion - Page 58 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Jun 16, 2012, 09:03 PM
Go Hawks!
cryhavoc38's Avatar
As I mentioned a few times, I TO got alot of wobble when powering up the first time.

This was due to some bad props
What I mean with that is the tracking was way off..WAY OFF.
One tip would be higher than the other tip by several milimeters.

When I replaced those props with a brand new set of balanced APC props, it was smooth as silk.

I also have to make sure that my motors were perfectly straight up and down, otherwise I would get a little bit of YAW movement.

once those thing were done, everything was good.

tc3wins, sorry you are having issues with yours, but short of walking you through the setup step by step, I'd like to see pictures of your props, laying flat on a table to see if the tracking is off.

Also, you mentioned that your system didn't vibrate with the props off yes?
and it did vibrate with the props on?

you know I am going to say that its your props...because thats the only logical conclusion OTHER than having your motors misaligned or having bent shafts/prop adapters.

For the vast majority of the owners...its minor things that we are sorting out, but not vibration issues.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jun 16, 2012, 09:05 PM
Multirotor Builder!!!!!
I don't know exactly what I did it just started to work with both routers. Got everything to read on the pc.
Jun 16, 2012, 09:19 PM
Go Hawks!
cryhavoc38's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by fajar
I just did the throttle range calibration last night as I set up my X8; step number 3 and 7 are different from Xrotor's instructions. Here are the steps with my amendments:

Note: make sure to remove props first for safety.
1. Power on TX radio
2. Power on YS-X6 controller only. Don't power up your ESC/motor yet.
3. Put YS-X6 into "enable insurance". Confirm enable insurance.
4. Set TX Radio to full throttle.
5.Plug in power to ESC/Motor.
6.Once you hear sound from ESC/Motor put TX radio to minimum throttle.
7. You should hear esc beeping to confirm that throttle range calibration is successful. Restart power.

If that doesnt work, switch the order of step 3 with step 4.
That worked PERFECTLY!!

Did it exactly like you layed out...and all 8 esc's beeped in turn, then lowered the throttle and all 8 beeped at once.

while my copter was flying fine, the motors didn't start up at the same time, but now they all are.
all the esc's were throttle calibrated before installation, but I didn't work at getting the FC to calibrate the throttles as they should be

Thanks for the exact instructions. Enable Insurance was a must for it to work properly.
Last edited by cryhavoc38; Jun 16, 2012 at 09:28 PM.
Jun 16, 2012, 10:28 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by fajar
I just did the throttle range calibration last night as I set up my X8; step number 3 and 7 are different from Xrotor's instructions. Here are the steps with my amendments:

Note: make sure to remove props first for safety.
1. Power on TX radio
2. Power on YS-X6 controller only. Don't power up your ESC/motor yet.
3. Put YS-X6 into "enable insurance". Confirm enable insurance.
4. Set TX Radio to full throttle.
5.Plug in power to ESC/Motor.
6.Once you hear sound from ESC/Motor put TX radio to minimum throttle.
7. You should hear esc beeping to confirm that throttle range calibration is successful. Restart power.

If that doesnt work, switch the order of step 3 with step 4.
@fajar
Thanks for the amendments
What's "enable insurance" do? I always wonder what it does
Jun 16, 2012, 11:11 PM
Go Hawks!
cryhavoc38's Avatar
who here is flying an octo with the YS
pm me. I have a question
thanks
Jun 17, 2012, 12:35 AM
Registered User
fajar's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by xrotor_rg686
@fajar
Thanks for the amendments
What's "enable insurance" do? I always wonder what it does
No problemo amigo.

Enable insurance is arming mode.

@ cryhavoc check your pm.
Jun 17, 2012, 02:39 AM
Multirotor Builder!!!!!
I just finished up some tests on the frame and motors I was using with the YS-X6. I put 3 other flight control boards on the frame. a I86 from HK , a KK board , and a multiwii board. and well, there was no wobble or shaking what so ever. everything was solid. I also installed the same three boards on the Hexa I was using and same result all was solid. no wobble. SO I am thinking that the IMU is either too sensitive, or it was bad. I am sending back to have gothelirc look at it to see what is up.
Jun 17, 2012, 06:13 PM
RCI
RCI
Registered User
RCI's Avatar
Hello
, A customer has a problem, when he armed the FC will operate only two engines. Any idea why this happens?
Jun 17, 2012, 07:17 PM
Registered User
Just got out flying yesterday and in 20-25 knots I activated the return to home feature. I kid you not... The craft landed within 3 feet of where it had originally taken off. Amazing
Jun 17, 2012, 07:30 PM
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCI
Hello
, A customer has a problem, when he armed the FC will operate only two engines. Any idea why this happens?
Do they get power if they throttle up on all motors? What ESC's are they using, and are they calibrated? I had a small issue with one motor firing up, then stopping:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MNr-DjtGF0o

I recalibrated the ESC's, seemed to tidy the issue up.
Jun 17, 2012, 07:47 PM
Destroyer of airframes
RTRyder's Avatar
Finally got a few minutes to install the Skyline IMU on the AV130 attached to the Cinestar/YS-X6. Got everything setup, charged a battery, went out in the yard for a little test flight, powered everything up, started the motors and brought the throttle up. In a split second it jumped up about 2 feet and did a backflip into the dirt!

I've flown this setup many times now and it's been fine to this point, never had an issue with it even looking like it would flip in any conditions. From a quick visual inspection I can see it broke a prop and bent the roll cradle on the AV130. Fortunately the Nex 5N that was on the AV130 didn't get damaged, that really would have p****d me off. I put it on the shelf and haven't looked any closer to see if anything else is broken, I'll leave it there until I get back from my Monday - Wednesday business trip.

Not happy with this thing right now, thinking of reverting back to the WKM that I had on this frame before the YS...
Jun 17, 2012, 07:51 PM
Registered User
I wouldn't give up on it... I've been flying mine now for over 3 weeks, and have yet to have any issues. Been using the Aeroxcraft gimbal on mine. Besides a bit of Jello, the things seems to be working great.

You should send in your log files to YS and see if they can help you sort out the issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RTRyder
Finally got a few minutes to install the Skyline IMU on the AV130 attached to the Cinestar/YS-X6. Got everything setup, charged a battery, went out in the yard for a little test flight, powered everything up, started the motors and brought the throttle up. In a split second it jumped up about 2 feet and did a backflip into the dirt!

I've flown this setup many times now and it's been fine to this point, never had an issue with it even looking like it would flip in any conditions. From a quick visual inspection I can see it broke a prop and bent the roll cradle on the AV130. Fortunately the Nex 5N that was on the AV130 didn't get damaged, that really would have p****d me off. I put it on the shelf and haven't looked any closer to see if anything else is broken, I'll leave it there until I get back from my Monday - Wednesday business trip.

Not happy with this thing right now, thinking of reverting back to the WKM that I had on this frame before the YS...
Jun 17, 2012, 07:52 PM
Registered User
Hi
I just got my Ys-x6 but I have problems to download the App for my iphone with safari any ide?
The phone have been jailbroken and i have installed MY-FI on it got that working.
please help!!!
SSJheli
Jun 17, 2012, 08:29 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCI
Hello
, A customer has a problem, when he armed the FC will operate only two engines. Any idea why this happens?
Please recalibrate the throttle range of your ESC by using the YS GCS app. You can find the instructions here.
Jun 17, 2012, 08:47 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by ssjheli
Hi
I just got my Ys-x6 but I have problems to download the App for my iphone with safari any ide?
The phone have been jailbroken and i have installed MY-FI on it got that working.
please help!!!
SSJheli
Install cydia app "safari download enabler" if you want to download the app straight to your phone. The rest of the process is a bit complicated as it requires another app (ifile) to unrar the package then install it in the /applications directory. So locate the downloaded file, unrar then move it to /applications directory. Set the appropriate permission in the /applications directory.

Please google how to install an app by using iFile app (setting the appropriate 755 permission then apply the permission to the whole file including the ones in the sub-directory). After completing the installation, you must restart the ipad/ reload the spring board.

The easiest way is to download the app by using a PC/ Mac. Please find the instructions here.
Last edited by multirotortech; Jun 17, 2012 at 09:04 PM.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion YS-X6 testing GotHeliRC Multirotor Drone Talk 1200 Aug 08, 2013 10:23 AM
New Product Test video of YS-X6 Autopilot system pzhang Multirotor Drone Talk 141 Jun 07, 2012 07:50 AM
Discussion New UAV System from Zero UAV alishanmao UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 2 Apr 19, 2012 10:02 AM
New Product YS-X6:A coming new king in the multi rotor heli world yiny0730 Multirotor Drone Talk 13 Mar 29, 2012 12:28 AM