Thread Tools
Jun 12, 2012, 07:15 AM
Registered User
Just checked again and it is
Mode 1: Manual
Mode 2: Manual
Mode 3: Switch 1: Auto Hovering
Mode 3: Switch 3: Back Landing

So thats okay
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jun 12, 2012, 07:43 AM
Wish i was a flight pack
TNTJET's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by robone
Just checked again and it is
Mode 1: Manual
Mode 2: Manual
Mode 3: Switch 1: Auto Hovering
Mode 3: Switch 3: Back Landing

So thats okay
Rob your mag declination must be set at -18 ,i know your pc gcs wont allow it you will need to get hold of an android device of some sort to set initial settings properly at the moment your copter is set to massive toilet bowl settings being 180 degrees opposite to what it should be ,also check your copters acquired sat lock although 8/9 sats are good im locking on 11/12 with no issues.Hope i have been helpful to you!
Jun 12, 2012, 08:44 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by TNTJET
Rob your mag declination must be set at -18 ,i know your pc gcs wont allow it you will need to get hold of an android device of some sort to set initial settings properly at the moment your copter is set to massive toilet bowl settings being 180 degrees opposite to what it should be ,also check your copters acquired sat lock although 8/9 sats are good im locking on 11/12 with no issues.Hope i have been helpful to you!
What I have read in the manual and on one of these threads, if the declination is West then it is a negative declination and it must be entered as positive.

My declination is
Magnetic declination: 17 46' WEST
Declination is NEGATIVE

The max satellites visible in South Africa today is always between 7-10. So 9 was good
Jun 12, 2012, 08:51 AM
Registered User
Reginak's Avatar
Hi, a simple question.

Can I power the WIFI unit directly from a 4S battery?

Thanks
Jun 12, 2012, 08:58 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reginak
Hi, a simple question.

Can I power the WIFI unit directly from a 4S battery?

Thanks
yes the WIFI unit can be powered by 4S.
That's my setup right now.
Jun 12, 2012, 09:23 AM
Registered User
Reginak's Avatar
Last question, is it safe to use a single CC BEC (10 AMP peak) to power both AV200 and a AR8000 receptor?
Jun 12, 2012, 09:25 AM
http://gothelirc.com/
GotHeliRC's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reginak
Last question, is it safe to use a single CC BEC (10 AMP peak) to power both AV200 and a AR8000 receptor?
Why? your receiver should have been power by the MC, that was powered by your main pack.

If your gimbal servo get stuck, it can fried your Castle bec and take down the aircraft... That's why they separated the servo power source in the first place.
Jun 12, 2012, 09:30 AM
Registered User
Reginak's Avatar
Right now I power my receiver from a BEC (not CC ) does powering my MC by my main pack will power my receiver?
Jun 12, 2012, 09:34 AM
Wish i was a flight pack
TNTJET's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reginak
Hi, a simple question.

Can I power the WIFI unit directly from a 4S battery?

Thanks
I suggest you turn over your router and read the input voltage specs before the magic smoke issue, run a stepdown convert to match wifi voltage input.
Jun 12, 2012, 09:38 AM
12th Man
cryhavoc38's Avatar
How one powers their system is going to be completely their choice based on their comfort level.

I use the main flight packs to power the FC
I use a 5amp sbec to power the av200 servo's for now

I would not power the receiver separately. use the FC's power through a three wire servo lead.

When I get the skyline, I will use a ccbec pro with its own 2s lipo to power the gimbal, then I will reroute the 5amp sbec to power the FC so that the gimbal power and the FC power are not related in anyway, just in case a servo gets stuck, or goes bad.

And yes, the wifi module works just fine on 4s power, but I do not know the full power in specs of the wifi, ie would it handle 5s power.
Last edited by cryhavoc38; Jun 12, 2012 at 09:47 AM.
Jun 12, 2012, 09:39 AM
http://gothelirc.com/
GotHeliRC's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reginak
Right now I power my receiver from a BEC (not CC ) does powering my MC by my main pack will power my receiver?
Ouch! No no no... if you look at the wiring from the manual, it does not say to power the receiver separately. I hope that the connection from your receiver to the MC is only signal wire for now, if not, that can cause a lot of conflict between two different power source.

The MC should have powered your receiver. Here's how I wire mine.

4s lipo go into MC.
Throttle: 3 wires going to MC (this will feed power to Receiver)
Aileron, Elv, Rud, ect... : just signal wire going to MC
Jun 12, 2012, 09:39 AM
12th Man
cryhavoc38's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by TNTJET
I suggest you turn over your router and read the input voltage specs before the magic smoke issue, run a stepdown convert to match wifi voltage input.
he's talking about the wifi module on the copter, not the wifi router on the ground.

works fine on 4s, but I wouldn't go any higher unless the module specifically states on the manufacturer page that it has some sort of switching regulator inside of it.
Jun 12, 2012, 09:40 AM
Wish i was a flight pack
TNTJET's Avatar
Sorry my mistake ,misread the question wifi can take up to 6s have it running on my spreadwing ,thought you meant the router
Jun 12, 2012, 09:47 AM
12th Man
cryhavoc38's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by TNTJET
Sorry my mistake ,misread the question wifi can take up to 6s have it running on my spreadwing ,thought you meant the router
this is good to know. It has to have a switching regulator inside the wifi module then.
Jun 12, 2012, 09:48 AM
Wish i was a flight pack
TNTJET's Avatar
Yes it has a switching reg inside, Please contrary to the manual only plug higher than 3s voltage packs in P socket of fc not AI 0 as stated in manual!
Last edited by TNTJET; Jun 12, 2012 at 09:49 AM. Reason: Punctuation


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion YS-X6 testing GotHeliRC Multirotor Drone Talk 1200 Aug 08, 2013 09:23 AM
New Product Test video of YS-X6 Autopilot system pzhang Multirotor Drone Talk 141 Jun 07, 2012 06:50 AM
Discussion New UAV System from Zero UAV alishanmao UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 2 Apr 19, 2012 09:02 AM
New Product YS-X6:A coming new king in the multi rotor heli world yiny0730 Multirotor Drone Talk 13 Mar 28, 2012 11:28 PM