Zero UAV YS-X6 Owners Thread and Discussion - Page 15 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
May 19, 2012, 11:46 PM
Go Hawks!
cryhavoc38's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by fajar
You can change the speed for the entire waypoint operation in the parameters page. But if you want to have velocity variations for each travel point to point then I suppose you can change the velocity in the GS as the multi flies to that point.

They may come up with "operations mode" in the future where we can preset parameters into a comprehensive plan for an entire waypoint operation. They should have plans to implement the mode as their competitor has already implemented similar feature in their waypoint system.

Right now, the basic stuff works.
What I would like to see in a future rev is a target point for the cam lock..
perhaps its there already, and I just haven't seen it yet.

Like mikro uses..select a target and then select way points around the target where the craft will auto yaw around for the cam lock. I suppose this is part of the enhanced version of the firmware?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
May 20, 2012, 01:22 AM
Registered User
fajar's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by cryhavoc38
What I would like to see in a future rev is a target point for the cam lock..
perhaps its there already, and I just haven't seen it yet.

Like mikro uses..select a target and then select way points around the target where the craft will auto yaw around for the cam lock. I suppose this is part of the enhanced version of the firmware?
in the map you can click a point to bring up a smiley on the map, activate ptt lock thingy then move your aileron stick and the copter will fly in a circle with the yaw lock to the smiley. Tried that in the field last week but I had to abort the circle because the radius was a bit too wide for me. yeah, this feature is part of the enhanced kit.
May 20, 2012, 04:42 AM
Suspended Account
So I'm slowly putting this thing together.
Got it inside my GhettoStar clone frame.
It seems to be really heavy. I will probably fly it with 4S 5000 pack, which is another few hundred grams. Seeing how I never built anything > 1kg AUW I'm wondering if it will fly.
It's 1.8kg now without battery.

May 20, 2012, 04:47 AM
Registered User
fajar's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by timecop
So I'm slowly putting this thing together.
Got it inside my GhettoStar clone frame.
It seems to be really heavy. I will probably fly it with 4S 5000 pack, which is another few hundred grams. Seeing how I never built anything > 1kg AUW I'm wondering if it will fly.
It's 1.8kg now without battery.

It's about time you fly something with more mass, TC.
May 20, 2012, 05:01 AM
Registered User
Any info on what makes the box tick? Are the hardware similar to ... or of better quality?
May 20, 2012, 05:54 AM
Registerer Used
milouze's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by timecop
So I'm slowly putting this thing together.
Got it inside my GhettoStar clone frame.
It seems to be really heavy. I will probably fly it with 4S 5000 pack, which is another few hundred grams. Seeing how I never built anything > 1kg AUW I'm wondering if it will fly.
It's 1.8kg now without battery.

Hey TC, glad to see that huge NoppiStar equipped with excellency stuff!
Eager to see it airborne, do take a vid of it please, for the Hall of Fame J/K
May 20, 2012, 07:58 AM
Registered User
topgearuk's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by fajar
Interesting!!

What's your view so far Fajar?

Knowing your own all 3, how does it compare to DJi and XA, in GPS position hold? And Altti?
May 20, 2012, 09:25 AM
Just a yard bird
kd4wen's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by timecop
So I'm slowly putting this thing together.
Got it inside my GhettoStar clone frame.
It seems to be really heavy. I will probably fly it with 4S 5000 pack, which is another few hundred grams. Seeing how I never built anything > 1kg AUW I'm wondering if it will fly.
It's 1.8kg now without battery.

TC 2 images came to mind that would be reallt cool logo for your zero aircraft get a decal made up I think I like the pink one best.
May 20, 2012, 09:49 AM
Suspended Account
Thanks dude. Getting Quad_Addict to print me a decal asap.
May 20, 2012, 10:05 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by fajar
The joystick is connected through YS-X6 wifi module. I use android tablet as my GS.
Do you need any special hardware for that? I can not understand how the connection between the joystick and the android GS is made.
May 20, 2012, 10:08 AM
Registered User
cougar2465's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by redridinghood
Do you need any special hardware for that? I can not understand how the connection between the joystick and the android GS is made.
I think its a virtual Joystick on the tablet screen.
May 20, 2012, 10:16 AM
Gravity is a cruel mistress...
Blucross's Avatar
2 different things. There is a virtual joystick in the GCS software, but I think redridinghood is asking about using a PC Flight Joystick with the YS as shown in the product videos.

They mention using a specific wifi version of a joystick, I am looking for it I can't recall off hand. I would imagine that it connects to the same router as the YS and somehow is detected by the GCS, but some clear definition of the process would be cool. The manual doesn't say a word about it.
May 20, 2012, 10:31 AM
Registered User
cougar2465's Avatar
Would be great to have a radio TX in the shape of joysticks it wouldn't be hard to make. Both Radio TX and Joystick use the same type of pots but just different spring rates.
May 20, 2012, 10:32 AM
Just a yard bird
kd4wen's Avatar
TC what ESC's are you using on that setup and are they flashed with high speed firmware.
Thanks ahead of time.
For some reason I can't wrap my head around spending over 50 dollars a unit for 25 amp Castle creations high speed ESC's but really trying to lock down a high speed ESC that will be reliable in flying aircraft that are worth more than my first automobile. Or first born as far as that goes lol
May 20, 2012, 10:36 AM
US Support / 107 Certified
blade strike's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by kd4wen
TC what ESC's are you using on that setup and are they flashed with high speed firmware.
Thanks ahead of time.
For some reason I can't wrap my head around spending over 50 dollars a unit for 25 amp Castle creations high speed ESC's but really trying to lock down a high speed ESC that will be reliable in flying aircraft that are worth more than my first automobile. Or first born as far as that goes lol
I wouldnt give CC anymore of my money.. Just do a read on the quality of the last year and they support.. They used to be on top but now...?

Coming from heli's I have seen more than one cc esc catch fire and destroy very expensive birds and would not trust any of them now!
Latest blog entry: Mavic CrystalSky Mount


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion YS-X6 testing GotHeliRC Multirotor Drone Talk 1200 Aug 08, 2013 10:23 AM
New Product Test video of YS-X6 Autopilot system pzhang Multirotor Drone Talk 141 Jun 07, 2012 07:50 AM
Discussion New UAV System from Zero UAV alishanmao UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 2 Apr 19, 2012 10:02 AM
New Product YS-X6:A coming new king in the multi rotor heli world yiny0730 Multirotor Drone Talk 13 Mar 29, 2012 12:28 AM