Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Old Oct 06, 2012, 08:30 PM
jdreitman is offline
Find More Posts by jdreitman
Registered User
Agree the frame is not great, but I am using 10" graupner props.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jab View Post
Not much to judge by, but the twitch motion looked just like what you would get if you jerked the radio sticks. So my first guess would be a radio/receiver problem.

But it may just as well be the frame/propellers causing vibrations. The plastic F550 arms and propellers are to flexible in my opinion and not well suited for flying in windy conditions.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 06, 2012, 10:26 PM
Mr_westie is offline
Find More Posts by Mr_westie
Down under under
A log file really helps with troubleshooting
Old Oct 06, 2012, 11:04 PM
Salocin is offline
Find More Posts by Salocin
Registered User
Salocin's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andre6553 View Post
My android version is 4.0.4

Maybe its time for zerouav to update their software to work on newer android software.

Is anyone else using android 4.0.4 and having the same problem

I just got my tablet is there a way to downgrade to 3.2.1
I'm on 4.0.4 Andre
Old Oct 07, 2012, 02:20 AM
cryhavoc38 is offline
Find More Posts by cryhavoc38
Why didn't they run? A pass???
cryhavoc38's Avatar
I would get a random twitch if I had the gains up too high. It was a balancing act to get the gains set not too high that the ship would twitch, but not too low that it would drift.
Old Oct 07, 2012, 02:36 AM
Salocin is offline
Find More Posts by Salocin
Registered User
Salocin's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by cryhavoc38 View Post
I would get a random twitch if I had the gains up too high. It was a balancing act to get the gains set not too high that the ship would twitch, but not too low that it would drift.
I put my twitch anomalies down to solar activity as it is only a problem when the sun is going nuts.
Old Oct 07, 2012, 06:43 AM
david.scarbrow is offline
Find More Posts by david.scarbrow
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by jab View Post
The characters are vibrations directions. Up, Down, Left, Right etc..

LR12 is bad.. The manual states that vibrations larger then 10 in any direction might be problematic for the IMU. Larger then 15 is critical.

Edit: GPS lock is a solid red. Red blinks means few or no satellites locked depending on the number of blinks.
Jab,I have just rebuilt all of the machine again taking into account all of your comments regarding vibrations, etc.. I took time to verify that the motor mounts were Equally vertical and horizontal with each other. The motors all appear to be smooth running, there props (APC 13 x 4) appear balanced OK. I am taking the launch procedures slowly and all seems to be OK and starts up nicely. I get a green light blinking about once per 2 seconds (this is the bit I don't understand about having a solid red light). I get the ctaft to a height of about 4-5 metres, I yaw it all OK, I move the craft backwards and forwards and left and right OK. It hovers solid with no real drift. The solid white (slight green tinge on it though) comes on and if I have the battery alarm on it seems to sound at around the same time. I then land the craft all OK and the whit light goes out and back to a green light once every 2 seconds. The only thing that is different now and before the original crash is that I upgraded to 16 waypoints. Rob, apart from the 16 waypoint firmware change was there any othe change to the firmware ?

I've got something wrong but at the moment I don't have a clue as to what it is.
Old Oct 07, 2012, 06:57 AM
jdreitman is offline
Find More Posts by jdreitman
Registered User
I'll play with the gains in the next few days and see if that helps. What gains did you end up adjusting in order to get rid of the twitch?

Also, I'll upload my log files tomorrow and hopefully you guys can help me investigate a bit further.

Thanks again. Much appreciated!

Quote:
Originally Posted by cryhavoc38 View Post
I would get a random twitch if I had the gains up too high. It was a balancing act to get the gains set not too high that the ship would twitch, but not too low that it would drift.
Old Oct 07, 2012, 06:57 AM
david.scarbrow is offline
Find More Posts by david.scarbrow
Registered User
Jab, by the way the Vibrate readings are typically around L-R1 to U-R0. The flight file doesn't show any more than that.
Old Oct 07, 2012, 07:18 AM
robone is offline
Find More Posts by robone
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by david.scarbrow View Post
Jab,I have just rebuilt all of the machine again taking into account all of your comments regarding vibrations, etc.. I took time to verify that the motor mounts were Equally vertical and horizontal with each other. The motors all appear to be smooth running, there props (APC 13 x 4) appear balanced OK. I am taking the launch procedures slowly and all seems to be OK and starts up nicely. I get a green light blinking about once per 2 seconds (this is the bit I don't understand about having a solid red light). I get the ctaft to a height of about 4-5 metres, I yaw it all OK, I move the craft backwards and forwards and left and right OK. It hovers solid with no real drift. The solid white (slight green tinge on it though) comes on and if I have the battery alarm on it seems to sound at around the same time. I then land the craft all OK and the whit light goes out and back to a green light once every 2 seconds. The only thing that is different now and before the original crash is that I upgraded to 16 waypoints. Rob, apart from the 16 waypoint firmware change was there any othe change to the firmware ?

I've got something wrong but at the moment I don't have a clue as to what it is.
Hi David

I don't know of any changes in the FW other than the waypoints. It might be worth reinstalling. Do you have the latest FW installed? Because, as far as I understand it, you still have to keep up with the changes to the latest FW, even though you installed your FW for the 16 waypoints.

Anyway, here is an extract from the Manual showing the lights

Appendix 3 : Light Description
- GPS unlocated, red light blinks for 3 times one loop.
- GPS located (5 satellites), red light blinks for 2 times one loop.
- GPS located (6 satellites), red light blinks for one time one loop.
- When located GPS satellites is more than 7, the red light be solid all the time. It actually goes off, if you are in manual mode.
- When GPS Speed value from Kalman filtering is too large, the LED will be solid white, need to land aircraft urgently.
- Altitude hold in the Stabilization mode: Blue light blinks for one time one loop
means the users is operating; Blue light blinks for two times one loop means
Altitude hold.
- In the GPS mode, Green light blinks for one time one loop means the user is
operating; Green light blinks for two time one loop means Auto-over and
position hold.
- Low voltage alert:Yellow light blinks for 3 times one loop;
- Low voltage alert urgently:Yellow light blinks constantly.

It seems to me that your problem could be the battery voltage. Maybe your voltage drops - hence the battery alarm.

But, I am only surmising now. The best solution is to send your flight file to ZeroUAV and ask them. They are very helpful and I am sure they will be able to give you a solution.

You asked about the red solid light. This will only come on when you are in manual mode. This flashes and then goes off when you have 7 satellites. As soon as you switch to GPS mode you will only get the green lights, which does not show you the number of satellites.

By the way, how do you know if you have enough satellites before taking off? I normally wait for 8- 9 satellites before taking off which means it can afford to lose 1 or 2 satellites without causing problems. If you are only using the LED as your indicator, then you probably will be taking off when you have 7 satellites (goes off) and if you lose a few I am sure the white light will come on because "When GPS Speed value from Kalman filtering is too large, the LED will be solid white, need to land aircraft urgently."

Rob

Edit: I must admit, I never look at the lights so I am not sure if it turns red or not. But from what I remember, it used to go off when you had enough satellites. I am going to go outside right now and check.

Okay....checked and it goes off when it gets 7 satellites....
Last edited by robone; Oct 07, 2012 at 08:15 AM. Reason: Clarification
Old Oct 07, 2012, 08:31 AM
maximus-rc is offline
Find More Posts by maximus-rc
RTF copters maker
maximus-rc's Avatar
Hi all,
Your opinion aboiut this video ?
It is made from one of my Coaxial Octo
- motors 3548 with 14" bleech propellers and 4S Lipo
3 axis gimbal with FY30A stabiliser...
Cheers
Maximus
Old Oct 07, 2012, 08:33 AM
maximus-rc is offline
Find More Posts by maximus-rc
RTF copters maker
maximus-rc's Avatar
Hi all,
Can you give me your opinion about this video ?

Coaxial Octo YS X6 FY30A (2 min 24 sec)









It is made from one of my Coaxial Octo
- motors 3548 with 14" bleech propellers and 4S Lipo
- 3 axis gimbal with FY30A stabiliser...
Cheers
Maximus
Old Oct 07, 2012, 01:43 PM
maximus-rc is offline
Find More Posts by maximus-rc
RTF copters maker
maximus-rc's Avatar
First test on a HEXA XL on mediterranean sundown. (3548 motors with too much big 15" props)

HEXA XL YS X6 MAXICOPTER (0 min 31 sec)
Old Oct 07, 2012, 04:12 PM
Psionic001 is offline
Find More Posts by Psionic001
Psionic001's Avatar
Can't tell much about the video or copter as there's way too much post stabilisation distorting the video.


Quote:
Originally Posted by maximus-rc View Post
Hi all,
Can you give me your opinion about this video ?

http://youtu.be/BIT3nALomEg








It is made from one of my Coaxial Octo
- motors 3548 with 14" bleech propellers and 4S Lipo
- 3 axis gimbal with FY30A stabiliser...
Cheers
Maximus
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 07, 2012, 05:38 PM
whizz101 is offline
Find More Posts by whizz101
Registered User
hello,
Is anyone else having problems with the gimbal set-up on the ys.?
I'm using the pc ground station and am having some strange results. If i have the quad on the bench and tilt the craft either left right or forward backward the servo's for the gimbal only start to move once i get past 20degrees.
I have tryed adjusting the PTZ pitch and roll sensitivity, but here it only gets stranger. If i put zero here i get no servo response. Infact i get no servo response until i set it at 60. If i put roll ptz at 60 and tilt the craft to the left i get no response till the craft is at 20degees, and then i get mabey 5degrees of servo movement as itilt the quad past 20degrees. If i now tilt the craft the oposite way there is no response. If i now make the roll ptz negative i get the same result as before, but with the opposite direction. If i increase the ptz, neg or pos then i get more servo travel but only on one side still.
I am using digital servo's but when i try to change the update rate to 333Hz on the steering gear it never works and reverts back to 250Hz, The same is true when trying to update the esc speed.
Any help much appreciated,
Tristan
Old Oct 07, 2012, 06:32 PM
richkphoto is offline
Find More Posts by richkphoto
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Psionic001 View Post
Can't tell much about the video or copter as there's way too much post stabilisation distorting the video.
+1 or image stab is turned on on the camera


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion YS-X6 testing GotHeliRC Multirotor Talk 1200 Aug 08, 2013 10:23 AM
New Product Test video of YS-X6 Autopilot system pzhang Multirotor Talk 141 Jun 07, 2012 07:50 AM
Discussion New UAV System from Zero UAV alishanmao UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 2 Apr 19, 2012 10:02 AM
New Product YS-X6:A coming new king in the multi rotor heli world yiny0730 Multirotor Talk 13 Mar 29, 2012 12:28 AM