Oct 26, 2003, 05:29 PM
Thread OP

Elmer's Ultimate Glue

Has anyone tried Elmers Ultimate Glue??

I did not know that this glue required water to set. Is it too late now or can I put water on the glue joint?? This is my first try at bulding a foamie.

Any help on this matter would be great.

Thank you,
MJR
to remove ads between posts
Oct 26, 2003, 05:41 PM
Chemically Corrected
Water is not required, it just makes it kick faster and foam up more. Go ahead and splash some on. With foam, I usually wet both sides, apply some glue and mate the two pieces. Then pull them apart and wipe off some of the excess glue rejoin and tape them together until it sets. After awhile you will get a good feel for how much glue to use to keep the amount of razor blade work to a minimum.
Last edited by Grapeape; Oct 26, 2003 at 05:49 PM.
Oct 26, 2003, 05:41 PM

ELmer's Ultimate Glue

I havn't heard of this stuff but I bet if it's a polyurethane type that humidity and patience will do the job. If it's warm and humid where you are, maybe just leave it. If not, maybe seal it in a garbage bag with a wet rag for the humidity and wait a long time? I'm assuming your project is foam.
Oct 26, 2003, 05:49 PM
Thread OP
Thanks for the info guys. I thought my first atempt was a failure berore it started.

I am making the Geobat that is featured on another thread. Know anywhere that i can get some cheap radio gear to put in it?

MJR
Oct 26, 2003, 07:36 PM
EDF rules... :)
I am using this glue on my 757 and inside the house with the aironditioner on it takes a while to set and only foams very little, the glue joints seem to be pretty strong after 24 hours. When letting in a little moisture it takes about 6 hours and foams a lot. Like another post stated it helps to wipe the joint after it starts to foam.

Cheers,

Eric B.
Oct 27, 2003, 08:19 PM
Thread OP
I checked on my Geobat this morning and all is well. It looks like the water I splashed on did the trick.

Thanks,

MJR
Oct 27, 2003, 08:30 PM