Thread Tools
Old Jul 30, 2012, 10:43 PM
robstach is offline
Find More Posts by robstach
Registered User
I too had a motor that was acting a little twitchy. Had the dji escs installed.

You have probably noticed that they are a very tight fit. When I looked at the esc of the twitchy motor it was really wedged in there and probably had some flex to it. Once I got it to where it wasn't wedged things were good again.

Im hoping to be back in action by Thursday.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 30, 2012, 11:27 PM
oddcopter is offline
Find More Posts by oddcopter
Quadcopter Addict
Quote:
Originally Posted by robstach View Post
I too had a motor that was acting a little twitchy. Had the dji escs installed.

You have probably noticed that they are a very tight fit. When I looked at the esc of the twitchy motor it was really wedged in there and probably had some flex to it. Once I got it to where it wasn't wedged things were good again.

Im hoping to be back in action by Thursday.
Hmm, my ESCs are in the legs and seem loose enough.

My motor specs are:

KV 900
Configuration 12N14P
Stator Diameter 22mm
Stator Length 16m
Shaft Diameter 3mm

I am a little nervous about trying anything other than medium timing, but I guess I could try high. Don't want to burn anything up. Anyone have an opinion?
Old Jul 31, 2012, 12:34 AM
elliott000 is offline
Find More Posts by elliott000
Registered User
I dont think you will burn er up, just come down after a minute and check the temps of each motor and esc, itll make some noises when you hammer it if it doesnt like the timing too
Old Jul 31, 2012, 10:18 AM
vic20owner is offline
Find More Posts by vic20owner
LOAD "FLIP-FPV",8,1
vic20owner's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cervanchez View Post
Tom,

I'm new to this thread, but I thought I saw you post something a couple weeks ago about pitch and roll gains should be different on the naza for this frame, or something like that, but I can't find it now. Not even sure if it was this thread or another.
It's not really that critical, in fact I set them the same. I mentioned it more for the quadrino not so much for the naza since most people are always flying the naza in autolevel mode.
Old Jul 31, 2012, 11:33 AM
Bhuwan is offline
Find More Posts by Bhuwan
Registered User
I'm a bit nervous to get the NTM 1200kV due to the timing issue I've read about - anyone have any thoughts?
Old Jul 31, 2012, 11:34 AM
Cervanchez is offline
Find More Posts by Cervanchez
Habitual Line Stepper
Cervanchez's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by vic20owner View Post
It's not really that critical, in fact I set them the same. I mentioned it more for the quadrino not so much for the naza since most people are always flying the naza in autolevel mode.
Ah, ok. I have the quadrino also. couldn't remember where I saw it. Thanks
Old Jul 31, 2012, 12:59 PM
huskerfreak is offline
Find More Posts by huskerfreak
Registered User
huskerfreak's Avatar

Couple Questions


I have a few questions...

I just received my FPV air frame and I plan on using my electronics out my Whitespy 450. I see a lot of people one here using electronics and batteries that are bigger than what comes one the 450. Am I going to be under powered? I plan on just using my goprpo for right now. I am waiting on the update on the fpv back pack to stream live.

Another question is why is everyone using both a gopro as well as a separate fpv cam? Does the gopro not record when using the video out on it? I suppose I could look into it myself as I have one. I was just looking for a quick answer.

Finally I am using the quadrino board does anyone have a good pic of it mounted on this air frame. I went through quite a few pages and did not see one.

Thanks ahead for the help!!

Jamee
Old Jul 31, 2012, 02:47 PM
WiseDuck is offline
Find More Posts by WiseDuck
Mmmmmmm!
WiseDuck's Avatar
GoPro gives you a letterboxed, wide view as far as I know. The goggles we use have 4:3 LCDs. Also, I don't think any of the wide-angle HD cameras give you a picture as good as some of the regular FPV cameras out there. Some more expensive FPV cameras have a "wide dynamic range" feature which you can enable. I can fly my quad in any conditions, staring right at the sun doesn't blind the camera, you can see the sun, sky and ground clearly. So it's very very easy to fly with that.

My HoryzonHD on the other hand, is very hard to fly with because of how it adjusts the exposure. (Dark ground, clear sky. Or clear ground, white sky.) I assume that GoPro cams behave in a similar fashion.
Old Jul 31, 2012, 02:51 PM
gundamnitpete is offline
Find More Posts by gundamnitpete
Team White Llama!
gundamnitpete's Avatar
I use nothing but my gopro and have no issues. Works good for me!
Old Jul 31, 2012, 04:16 PM
Bhuwan is offline
Find More Posts by Bhuwan
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vantasstic View Post
I did some more flight data tests on my HT-FPV quad today. I tested the 920kv DJI motors on 4S with Gemfan 9x4.5 carbon filled props. I ended up with less mAh consume per minute than with the 8x4.5 props; however, to date the overall winner is still the 850kv motors with 9x5x3 props on 4S. My results are below. The very first reading was with 930kv motors on 4S w/o FPV equipment on a Tricopter. It, certainly won hands down for flight time and mAh consumed. Of course it's also lighter and only has three motors. I'm didn't have a GoPro mount for it so couldn't test it fully loaded...I'll do that next weekend. I will say that the tricopter seemed smoother in flight than any of my quads. I'm going to attribute this to the motors not having to change rpm to yaw the craft...so things stay on a much smoother key. I'll get a total weight and flying time test on it to really compare it against an FPV quad...that'll be later though. Anyway, here's the flight data:
Thanks for the info!
Old Jul 31, 2012, 04:58 PM
vic20owner is offline
Find More Posts by vic20owner
LOAD "FLIP-FPV",8,1
vic20owner's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by huskerfreak View Post
I have a few questions...

I just received my FPV air frame and I plan on using my electronics out my Whitespy 450. I see a lot of people one here using electronics and batteries that are bigger than what comes one the 450. Am I going to be under powered? I plan on just using my goprpo for right now. I am waiting on the update on the fpv back pack to stream live.

Another question is why is everyone using both a gopro as well as a separate fpv cam? Does the gopro not record when using the video out on it? I suppose I could look into it myself as I have one. I was just looking for a quick answer.

Finally I am using the quadrino board does anyone have a good pic of it mounted on this air frame. I went through quite a few pages and did not see one.

Thanks ahead for the help!!

Jamee
The new gopros will record while streaming video out... I use one on my fpv frame for my recording and fpv cam. Only problem with the older camera is that it is very bad in low light, ie around sunset... almost impossible to see. The new gopro hero 2 is better, and this issue has been fixed as far as I know.

I tried the Horizon cam, and while it was better in low light, in bright light it was very bad... vertical orange lines, etc, and the video did not look anywhere near as good as the gopro. Also, the mounting was really awkward.
Old Jul 31, 2012, 05:18 PM
WiseDuck is offline
Find More Posts by WiseDuck
Mmmmmmm!
WiseDuck's Avatar
I think the video quality is comparable, with a bit of tweaking in post it looks almost identical. And on a good day, sunshine, no clouds, sun high in the sky, it works very well for FPV. But if it's cloudy it's almost useless. And yes, it is awkward to mount on things and if you don't hold it down as hard as possible you will get jello. While with the GoPro I just put it on the anti-vibration tape, hold it down with a battery strap and voila, almost perfect video with zero effort.
Old Jul 31, 2012, 06:22 PM
huskerfreak is offline
Find More Posts by huskerfreak
Registered User
huskerfreak's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by huskerfreak View Post
I have a few questions...

I just received my FPV air frame and I plan on using my electronics out my Whitespy 450. I see a lot of people one here using electronics and batteries that are bigger than what comes one the 450. Am I going to be under powered? I plan on just using my goprpo for right now. I am waiting on the update on the fpv back pack to stream live.

Another question is why is everyone using both a gopro as well as a separate fpv cam? Does the gopro not record when using the video out on it? I suppose I could look into it myself as I have one. I was just looking for a quick answer.

Finally I am using the quadrino board does anyone have a good pic of it mounted on this air frame. I went through quite a few pages and did not see one.

Thanks ahead for the help!!

Jamee
Thanks for the gopro info. Can anyone help me on if I would be under powered using the motors and esc off of the Witespy 450??
Old Jul 31, 2012, 06:27 PM
Banana Furikake is offline
Find More Posts by Banana Furikake
Registered User
Hey guys- need some help. I took my HT-FPV out today and the thing cratered. I had transferred everything from my Witespy and put it in the HT-FPV. Unit had 980kv motors and upgraded ESC's- running 9x4.7s. (Also has the DJI Naza with GPS). The only thing I changed was to change to a 5000mah 3S battery (from 2200 3S). The battery is connected by a bullet connector to a XT-60 via an adapter. COG was in the right place, all props balanced, GPS calibrated and flashing green. I had the unit in ATTI mode and was pretty high (I had done some lower level testing and it was running aok). I reached a certain altitude and it wouldn't go any higher- I then maxed the stick- and it sat and wouldn't climb. Suddenly the quad lurched to the side and went down. I was hoping someone might be able to tell what's up by the engine noise on the video.

I also checked the battery when I got home and it had plenty of power.

Crash (0 min 43 sec)


Thanks in advance!
RCG Plus Member
Old Jul 31, 2012, 06:44 PM
Bhuwan is offline
Find More Posts by Bhuwan
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Banana Furikake View Post
Hey guys- need some help. I took my HT-FPV out today and the thing cratered. I had transferred everything from my Witespy and put it in the HT-FPV. Unit had 980kv motors and upgraded ESC's- running 9x4.7s. (Also has the DJI Naza with GPS). The only thing I changed was to change to a 5000mah 3S battery (from 2200 3S). The battery is connected by a bullet connector to a XT-60 via an adapter. COG was in the right place, all props balanced, GPS calibrated and flashing green. I had the unit in ATTI mode and was pretty high (I had done some lower level testing and it was running aok). I reached a certain altitude and it wouldn't go any higher- I then maxed the stick- and it sat and wouldn't climb. Suddenly the quad lurched to the side and went down. I was hoping someone might be able to tell what's up by the engine noise on the video.

I also checked the battery when I got home and it had plenty of power.

http://vimeo.com/46718006

Thanks in advance!
What a crash.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Show Us Your Ground Station !!!! FPV Ground Station Design and Idea's found here :) JettPilot FPV Equipment 4632 Today 04:47 AM
Discussion Show us your FPV Multicopter Derek_S FPV Talk 194 Feb 08, 2013 01:07 PM
Discussion FPV Successful? Show us setup and parts list Royalson FPV Talk 0 Mar 10, 2012 09:25 AM
Discussion Show us your FPV / RVP ground Base set up in action Trackercal FPV Talk 94 Nov 05, 2010 11:21 AM
Discussion Show Us Your FPV Helo Set Up Trackercal FPV Talk 2 May 12, 2009 12:05 AM