Mar 24, 2012, 12:27 PM
Thread OP
Build Log

Building a 1/72 canadian "Glen-class" tug from the 1/82 Lindberg Diesel Tug

Hi there.

"My name is Michael and this is my first try on RCing."

But im not new to modelbuilding in general.

I know this site for some years and was a random lurker since i found it when looking for infos on building a rcd Revell Flower Corvette. The Flower is still in its building stage, as i was distracted for some years due to other modelling hobbys. Then, last November, i started working on it again from time to time (mostly fixing bad things with my now better skills then when i started it) - until i recently noticed that a new version will be released, and i decided to wait for that, maybe it will have some parts i like to add to my started one. But i was already infected again .... and i decided that i need a rescue vessel as 2 working boats will be safer than only having one.

Im a 1/72 scale-slave, and i always liked the found buildups of the Lindberg tug - so i made my math what size the tug would have in 1/72, and then i searched for a class in that size, a easy buildup with only minor adaptions (if possible). I found nothing that way, but while searching i fell in love for the canadian WW II tugs of the Glenn-class, and halleluja, that will be a nice match for my Flower when both are build, too.

But ..... not much of the Lindberg can be used other than the main hull, most parts need to be made from scratch. Nonetheless, i decided to give it a try.

I started it 2 weeks ago, so i first have to show you what i did already. And now i would like to show my way - as im new and have no real clue for rc, feel free to chime in and say when i mess it up.
Last edited by Lichtbote; Mar 24, 2012 at 12:47 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Mar 24, 2012, 12:41 PM
Thread OP
Well, there i was .... sitting in my shop, staring at the hull, looking a little bit dumb - and hoping for a idea to start.

First i sanded the front bumper away.