Mar 20, 2012, 05:55 PM
God is my pilot
Thread OP
Discussion

Help a fixed wing 3D guy pick a chopper

I've been flying planes for 6 years. I'm a decent 3D pilot.

So I'm looking for a helicopter for the park. I was thinking of a multiplex FunCopter for it's ability to fly outside which is mostly where I would fly. But the MCPX looks like like it could be flown indoor and out and offer some 3D interest to grow into.

I've played with heli's on real flight over the last several years and am pretty comfortable with TRex 450 there.

Thoughts?
to remove ads between posts
Mar 20, 2012, 07:03 PM
Jim,

IMHO you need to ask the rotor guys/gals.
Don
Mar 20, 2012, 07:08 PM
God is my pilot
Thread OP
Don, you are so right
Mar 21, 2012, 05:20 AM
I am new but have msr, msrx, 120sr, mcpx, and blade 450. My quick synopsis so far

Msr: Indoor or no wind outdoor. Auto corrects itself. Good in home first heli to puts around with
Msrx: still fixed pitch but doesn't auto correct itself. Aka if you push the stick in a direction it goes in that direction until you move stick in some other direction. Msr on other hand will stop by itself and hover if you let go of stick. Msrx is similar to mcpx but no real inverted/3d option.
120sr: same like msr but bigger so it can handle outdoor wind a little. Maybe up to 5-10mph. Especially if you upgrade the motor. It is cheap and straight drop in. If you upgrade it you will require higher C rated batteries though FYI.
Mcpx: probably what you are looking for if you want some 3d/inverted option. It is small but way more powerful than the others listed. Good starter for 3d/inverted flight although a lot of people say the larger are easier to start with. The downside of larger just like in planes is 1. Cost and possibly 2. Size. I can fly mcpx just about anywhere whereas 450 needs some space to really enjoy it IMO.
450: blown up versions. You want flybarless (fbl) to get into heavy stuff. Blade 450 is not fbl but can be through mods.

Battery sizes