Mar 19, 2012, 12:11 PM
Thread OP
Question

Tx settings for ALES question???

I'm just getting into ALES, so this is a newbie question. I stuck a motor into the nose of my old Supra. The question is, do I control the motor with the throttle stick (which I also use for flaps), or should it be set to one of the Aux switches on the Tx. The latter may not be possible, because most esc's require playing with the throttle stick to get them armed. However, it would be the simplest solution if it could be made to work, because then I wouldn't have any confilicts to deal with between the flaps and motor when landing. I'm sure there must be a way, with a switch, to have flaps only and no motor control with the throttle stick for landing. I'm not sure how to do this. What so most of you guys do? Any help is appreciated. I have a JR 9503.

Thanks,
George
to remove ads between posts
Mar 19, 2012, 12:59 PM
George,

There are differing opinions about running the motor from a switch or making your flap stick do double duty as a throttle stick too. It can be made to work either way, but I prefer to use a switch for motor and leave the flap stick for landing control - the same as on all my string launched sailplanes. A spring loaded switch or momentary push button switch would be preferred, but even a simple on-off switch can be used.

Programming the controller isn't really a problem. If you're using a Castle controller, most people connect it with a USB cable to a computer to take advantage of all of the programming options. They also have a field programming card that can be used too. If you happen to have a controller that can only be "stick" programmed, you can temporarily plug the controller into one of your flap channels to adjust the programming, then reconnect it to an aux channel to be operated with a switch in flight.

Good luck,
Lenny
Mar 19, 2012, 01:16 PM
Dark Side of the Red Merle
See my post here please:
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...6&postcount=12