New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Oct 23, 2012, 06:00 PM
segdohbird is offline
Find More Posts by segdohbird
Registered User
segdohbird's Avatar
Just outa curiosity where do you guys have the reciever gain pot set on the rx ?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 23, 2012, 07:29 PM
Tom Z is offline
Find More Posts by Tom Z
RC Reviews & Tx Setup Guides
Tom Z's Avatar
I had mine at the factory setting but for 3D I use Manny's pot setting.

See my post for pictures.

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...0&postcount=18


Tom
Old Oct 23, 2012, 08:25 PM
helicopter_new is offline
Find More Posts by helicopter_new
Registered User
Changing gain's pot position how exactly affects flight characteristics?

PS. Tom Z I've read your blog, that's a really good work!
Old Oct 23, 2012, 08:45 PM
Tom Z is offline
Find More Posts by Tom Z
RC Reviews & Tx Setup Guides
Tom Z's Avatar
Thanks.

Changing gain's pot position increases or reduces the gyros stabilizing effect.
With it all the way up it is extremely stable like a coaxial helicopter.
With it turn all the way down it is super responsive and twitchy for 3D flight.

The Mini CP can now do full 3D flight with the new RX firmware and upgrades.


https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...7&postcount=24

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1744410


Tom
Old Oct 24, 2012, 03:48 PM
helicopter_new is offline
Find More Posts by helicopter_new
Registered User
Where can I find Genius CP's and Mini CP's ESC and motor specifications?
Old Oct 30, 2012, 11:51 AM
dariobrit is offline
Find More Posts by dariobrit
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skovoroda View Post
7-10t set
2x8t

I haven't tried them personally yet, so you would have to trust benmlee




Well... I bought those 7t PN racing... but they're for 1,5mm shaft and my C05 is 1mm...
May be dangerous but I have to try...some melted plastic to fill the .5mm gap in order to fit... Will be tough to make it balanced...
Do you have any ideas how I can do it right?
Old Oct 30, 2012, 12:24 PM
sbstnp is online now
Find More Posts by sbstnp
Deviant
sbstnp's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by dariobrit View Post
May be dangerous but I have to try...some melted plastic to fill the .5mm gap in order to fit... Will be tough to make it balanced...
Do you have any ideas how I can do it right?
Order some proper ones here:

http://www.shop.kkpmo.com/

Yeah, they're kind of expensive...
Old Oct 30, 2012, 07:40 PM
dariobrit is offline
Find More Posts by dariobrit
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by sbstnp View Post
Order some proper ones here:

http://www.shop.kkpmo.com/

Yeah, they're kind of expensive...
Good to know...I've already wasted 20 dollars in those PN Racing... At least I'm going to try to get them fit... :-/

Thanks
Old Oct 30, 2012, 07:49 PM
dkfuji is offline
Find More Posts by dkfuji
RC Helis: My Healthy Obsession
Quote:
Originally Posted by dariobrit View Post
Well... I bought those 7t PN racing... but they're for 1,5mm shaft and my C05 is 1mm...
May be dangerous but I have to try...some melted plastic to fill the .5mm gap in order to fit... Will be tough to make it balanced...
Do you have any ideas how I can do it right?
That pinion looks like its plastic. If it is, you will more trouble than just mounting the gear square on the shaft. I have tried plastic pinions on smooth motor shafts and it just doesn't work out very well. I had to rough up the shaft and epoxy the gear onto the shaft to prevent slipping. The only right way to install the gear would be to pull the old shaft out of the bell and replace it with a 1.5mm shaft and loctite it into the motor bell.
Old Nov 18, 2012, 04:45 PM
johan_alps is offline
Find More Posts by johan_alps
Registered User
Failed to do a brushless upgrade yesterday with the config in the first post of this thread

- CO5M 13000kv (the HM-C05M-Z-15ADH50, from here)
- 9T pinion + genius cp main gear
- WK-WST-10A-LT

It has very little power and makes horrible noise. See video.

Everything seems to turn correctly. The head of rotor is not more difficult to turn manually than with the stock brushless motor. There is a half-milimeter space between the motor and the servo. I've tried to move it further away from the main gear - no change.

When I put the stock motor back it works like a charm.

Any great ideas?
Old Nov 18, 2012, 06:04 PM
Tom Z is offline
Find More Posts by Tom Z
RC Reviews & Tx Setup Guides
Tom Z's Avatar
Sounds like a gear mesh problem or the pinion is slipping on the motor shaft.
Did you try to run the motor off the heli and see if it runs smooth and quiet?

Tom
Old Nov 19, 2012, 05:02 PM
johan_alps is offline
Find More Posts by johan_alps
Registered User
Nope, I'll try that as soon as a get a bit of time.
Old Nov 22, 2012, 04:44 PM
johan_alps is offline
Find More Posts by johan_alps
Registered User
Seems to make normal noice when run on its own.

I assembled the heli with the motor and I do get decent lifting power. However it makes a LOT more noice than the brushed motor and battery time seems awfully short (i.e. shorter than with my new brushed motor) But I have yet to do a timed comparison.

Also with the brushlees motor the heli is extremely janky it moves in a robotic way.

The only other thing I changed was that I put a genius main gear. Perhaps I should try with my mini cp gear (only that means I'll have to remove the pinion from the brushed motor)? Is it worth the hassle you think?
Old Nov 22, 2012, 04:54 PM
Xermalk is offline
Find More Posts by Xermalk
Registered User
Are the brushless motors supposed to have high frequency vibrations? both my c05 motors vibrate even without pinions, completely assembled my mini vibrates to the point it moves around on the floor with 0 pitch.

I had to lower the gyro sens slightly so that the gyro stopped shaking the servos when hovering indoors.

One c05 is a 11000kv 1.5mm / 7&8T from HK and the other is a 11500kv 1mm / 9T from Chinese Jade.
Old Nov 23, 2012, 01:14 AM
Tom Z is offline
Find More Posts by Tom Z
RC Reviews & Tx Setup Guides
Tom Z's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by johan_alps View Post
Seems to make normal noice when run on its own.

I assembled the heli with the motor and I do get decent lifting power. However it makes a LOT more noice than the brushed motor and battery time seems awfully short (i.e. shorter than with my new brushed motor) But I have yet to do a timed comparison.

Also with the brushlees motor the heli is extremely janky it moves in a robotic way.

The only other thing I changed was that I put a genius main gear. Perhaps I should try with my mini cp gear (only that means I'll have to remove the pinion from the brushed motor)? Is it worth the hassle you think?


The flight time with the C05 is pretty good using the Genius CP main gear.
You should get at least a minute or more flight time over the stock brush motor.
Sounds like the gear mesh is not correct or the pinion is slipping
on the motor shaft. Is your pinion a M0.5?
If gear mesh or pinion slipping on the motor shaft is not the problem then
you may have a bad motor bearing.


Tom


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anybody use two packs for speed 400 twins? Daniel English Electric Plane Talk 69 Feb 26, 2014 05:49 PM
Discussion NiCad Disposal GaryK Batteries and Chargers 28 Jan 16, 2014 02:16 PM
Which sensorless SC will work the best for an F7LMR and 10 cells? GregG Electric Plane Talk 6 Nov 18, 2013 09:21 PM
ARF's Cheaper Than Built-Up's Models E-Challenged Electric Plane Talk 42 Aug 01, 2013 11:25 AM
x250...not fair!! tnsfrk Electric Plane Talk 28 Jan 08, 2012 10:30 AM