Walkera DEVO Tx Hacking - Page 71 - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Aug 20, 2012, 01:54 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by thloh85
Hi PB,

What's the CYRF_MaxPower check for? What information does the address 0x80001007 contain (code in cyrf6936.c)? It appears my Devo10 reports the power of 10mW, but the datasheet of CYRF6936 doesn't say there's a limitation, it just says write the power output to offset 0x3 (PA setting), is that correct?

Thanks
That is the address in the Devo8 bootloader that defines whether the tx is 10mW or 100mW. On the Devo8, this is the only difference between the 2 models. I don't know the proper address for the Devo10, and it is possibly different. However, my Tx shows '100mW', so there is at least some possibility that it is the same.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Aug 20, 2012, 03:10 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhracturedBlue
That is the address in the Devo8 bootloader that defines whether the tx is 10mW or 100mW. On the Devo8, this is the only difference between the 2 models. I don't know the proper address for the Devo10, and it is possibly different. However, my Tx shows '100mW', so there is at least some possibility that it is the same.
Oh... That's the stupid bool that causes the A firmware to refuse to boot on 10mW devices...
Thanks for all the help PB, I'll try to work on the LCD driver, but you might be even faster to get it done than I do
Aug 20, 2012, 06:19 AM
Registered User
Hi all,
I am newbie here and always follow all post, very interesting...
I dont have any RC stuff and just got used Devo10 with RX1002 from ebay for 83EUR inncluding shipping.

... I think that's enough for intro

For LCD stuff on Devo10, I just saw the pcb picture and did some retrace, here are my found:
PD.4 !OE as E
PD.5 !WE as RW
PD.14 D0
PD.15 D1
PD.0 D2
PD.1 D3
PE.7 D4
PE.8 D5
PE.9 D6
PE.10 D7
PB.1 Backlight
PD.11 A16 as A0

Since LCD just to be written and connected to Databus&co we can use SRAM controller for LCD, and command write need A16 low signal and data write need A16 high signal.

I dont have my PC ready for programming yet and need quite more time since my son wont let me sit in front my PC for more than 5 minutes.

I think thloh85 can do something since all connection already cleared.

Happy coding!
Aug 20, 2012, 06:27 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by xCometz
Hi all,
I am newbie here and always follow all post, very interesting...
I dont have any RC stuff and just got used Devo10 with RX1002 from ebay for 83EUR inncluding shipping.

... I think that's enough for intro

For LCD stuff on Devo10, I just saw the pcb picture and did some retrace, here are my found:
PD.4 !OE as E
PD.5 !WE as RW
PD.14 D0
PD.15 D1
PD.0 D2
PD.1 D3
PE.7 D4
PE.8 D5
PE.9 D6
PE.10 D7
PB.1 Backlight
PD.11 A16 as A0

Since LCD just to be written and connected to Databus&co we can use SRAM controller for LCD, and command write need A16 low signal and data write need A16 high signal.

I dont have my PC ready for programming yet and need quite more time since my son wont let me sit in front my PC for more than 5 minutes.

I think thloh85 can do something since all connection already cleared.

Happy coding!
That's informative, thanks a lot. I'm also quite busy with life stuff, so even if I wanna do stuffs, it'll be snail slow. But from time to time, when I'm bored I'll look at it.

Means that I can FSMC write highest bit of address to 1 or 0 to set it to command or data write, and data bus remains data bus correct?

Thanks btw for the info, I really appreciate it

That aside, it seems that CYRF6936 only support up to +4dbm, does that mean the max output power is 2.5mW? I'm from CS background, so if anyone can enlighten me it'd be great
Aug 20, 2012, 07:44 AM
Registered User
FDR_'s Avatar
They use a power amplifier after the CYRF.
It's a T212 with 18dB amplification...
Aug 20, 2012, 10:03 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDR_
They use a power amplifier after the CYRF.
It's a T212 with 18dB amplification...
I see, must have missed that when reading deviation code...
Aug 20, 2012, 10:09 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by thloh85
I see, must have missed that when reading deviation code...
It is on-board the module and is a fixed amplifier. You have no control over it (except changing whether it is running on the Tx or Receieve path)
Aug 20, 2012, 10:48 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by xCometz
Hi all,
I am newbie here and always follow all post, very interesting...
I dont have any RC stuff and just got used Devo10 with RX1002 from ebay for 83EUR inncluding shipping.
...
Funny... Just sold one on ebay for that amount two weeks ago
Aug 20, 2012, 02:16 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by magiceddi
Funny... Just sold one on ebay for that amount two weeks ago
Yeah, the planet earth became too small for all of us
Aug 20, 2012, 06:42 PM
Registered User
Atomic Skull's Avatar
Anyone know where I can get a replacement for an RX802 antenna? One of the antennas on my RX802 has developed a crack in the insulation where it goes into the case. They are connected to the board by a U.FL connector so they should be replaceable.

Will a Futaba 2.4ghz antenna work?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Futaba-Repla...item23171b3c21
Last edited by Atomic Skull; Aug 21, 2012 at 02:43 AM.
Aug 21, 2012, 02:45 AM
Registered User
Any cable with U.FL connector will work. Remove outside insulation and shielding, leaving 31.25 mm (1.23 in) of unshielded wire at the end. Lenght of shielded part have to be multiple of N wavelength of 2.4 GHz (125 mm).

Any other 2.4 GHz Rx antenna also will work.
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...Sky_ACCST.html
Last edited by vlad_vy; Aug 21, 2012 at 02:54 AM.
Aug 21, 2012, 02:57 AM
Registered User
Atomic Skull's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by vlad_vy
Any cable with U.FL connector will work. Remove outside insulation and shielding, leaving 31.25 mm (1.23 in) of unshielded wire at the end. Lenght of shielded part have to be multiple of N wavelength of 2.4 GHz (125 mm).

Any other 2.4 GHz Rx antenna also will work.
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...Sky_ACCST.html
Given how cheap a prefab antenna is I'll just buy it.
Aug 21, 2012, 08:01 AM
Registered User
FDR_'s Avatar
Breaking News!

Here comes the PPM devention tx module from Walkera:
http://www.walkera.com/en1/particular.jsp?pn=MTC-01







Last edited by FDR_; Aug 22, 2012 at 12:31 AM. Reason: added images
Aug 21, 2012, 08:12 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDR_
Breaking News!

Here comes the PPM devention tx module from Walkera:
http://www.walkera.com/en1/particular.jsp?pn=MTC-01

Wonderfull ....but will wait

Appears i was wrong again only new protocol or others too??
Wish Hammer22 had more time to add it to his, he's welcome to my money
Last edited by SadSack; Aug 21, 2012 at 08:36 AM.
Aug 21, 2012, 08:31 AM
http://walkera-fans.de
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDR_
Breaking News!

Here comes the PPM devention tx module from Walkera:
http://www.walkera.com/en1/particular.jsp?pn=MTC-01




Great news indeed! Now I can control all my Walkera models with my WK-2801PRO alone! Or I can handle my QR Ladybird to someone who has a Spectrum Tx or an Android device and he or she will be able to try it without buying a new Tx! Very cool!


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted Broken Walkera Devo and Spektrum tx itsmillertime Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Mar 20, 2012 05:37 AM
For Sale Walkera Devo 7 TX/Devo RX2625H Combo for sale Tom Z Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Oct 06, 2011 01:33 PM
For Sale Walkera Devo 7 TX/Devo RX2625H Combo for sale Tom Z Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Oct 05, 2011 12:38 PM
Discussion New Walkera Devention Devo 12 TX w/ Touch-Screen hobbypartz Radios 2 May 09, 2011 12:38 AM
Discussion New Walkera Devention Devo 12 TX w/ Touch-Screen hobbypartz XHeli 0 May 06, 2011 12:19 AM