New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Oct 13, 2012, 04:13 PM
gektor is offline
Find More Posts by gektor
http://walkera-fans.de
We had the same Issue with Deviation on two different transmitters: when you run low on battery power, the settings will not be saved correctly and the system will corrupt some files. Fix: try to find the battery level where the file system goes bad and add an alarm one Volt before this barrier.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 13, 2012, 04:22 PM
magic_marty is offline
Find More Posts by magic_marty
<Marty>
i suggest doing as i do and make a backup folder on your pc of the whole file system in the tx..that way if anything goes wrong you can simply plug the tx into your pc and restore the working file system...very simple to do..
Old Oct 13, 2012, 04:29 PM
gektor is offline
Find More Posts by gektor
http://walkera-fans.de
Quote:
Originally Posted by magic_marty View Post
i suggest doing as i do and make a backup folder on your pc of the whole file system in the tx..that way if anything goes wrong you can simply plug the tx into your pc and restore the working file system...very simple to do..
I agree that a Backup is always a good Idea and of course you can restore your Filesystem easyly

But if the described Issue happens to you out in the Field, you won't be able to turn on your corrupted Transmitter and fly your RC even if you have new Batteries.

I believe, that this is an Issue which can be solved by adding an early alarm and by programming the Firmware not to save anything when the Battery runs below a certain Voltage.
Old Oct 13, 2012, 04:35 PM
PhracturedBlue is offline
Find More Posts by PhracturedBlue
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by gektor View Post
I agree that a Backup is always a good Idea and of course you can restore your Filesystem easyly

But if the described Issue happens to you out in the Field, you won't be able to turn on your corrupted Transmitter and fly your RC even if you have new Batteries.

I believe, that this is an Issue which can be solved by adding an early alarm and by programming the Firmware not to save anything when the Battery runs below a certain Voltage.
That is a good suggestion. Because we use a filesystem, we can't incrementally update the file in a safe way. this means that if the voltage is not enough for programming the flash, you get the behavior you are seeing now.

I am not sure what an appropriate voltage is. Maybe around 4V for the Devo8?
Old Oct 13, 2012, 04:40 PM
gektor is offline
Find More Posts by gektor
http://walkera-fans.de
@PB: Should we try to reproduce this?
Old Oct 13, 2012, 04:43 PM
PhracturedBlue is offline
Find More Posts by PhracturedBlue
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by gektor View Post
@PB: Should we try to reproduce this?
The best way to reproduce will likely be to hook up a variable power supply, and find a voltage at which itwill not successfully write. Then we can add ~0.25-0.5V, and call that the safe voltage.

I can't do that right now, so if someone wants to experiment to find a voltage that corrupts the filesystem and another that doesn't, I can code in the rules
Old Oct 13, 2012, 04:44 PM
magic_marty is offline
Find More Posts by magic_marty
<Marty>
Quote:
Originally Posted by gektor View Post
I agree that a Backup is always a good Idea and of course you can restore your Filesystem easyly

But if the described Issue happens to you out in the Field, you won't be able to turn on your corrupted Transmitter and fly your RC even if you have new Batteries.

I believe, that this is an Issue which can be solved by adding an early alarm and by programming the Firmware not to save anything when the Battery runs below a certain Voltage.
good point...i didn't think of it that way cause i fly at home due to haveing plenty of room, and if i do go to the nearist flying field its just 5 minutes away up the hill behind my house...guess i am lucky i don't have to drive long distances to fly..
Old Oct 13, 2012, 08:09 PM
kcornels is offline
Find More Posts by kcornels
Registered User
I had this problem and the voltage was definitely below 4 V... . More around 3.5... .

Tomorrow I can test, at which voltage the write process fails... .
Last edited by kcornels; Oct 13, 2012 at 08:28 PM.
Old Oct 14, 2012, 05:17 PM
clearprop88 is offline
Find More Posts by clearprop88
Registered User
I have been testing my Devo 6.

I tried it on a 4 ch heli using the 4ch template, using a 2401 TX setting. Everything works great.

I'm now testing it on a 6 ch FBL heli. I'm using the 6 ch template, with a 2801TX setting. Everything works except the tail gyro.
The rudder stick works fine, but when I swing the nose around, by hand, I only get about a 1mm throw on the tail servo.
When I do the same thing with the heli bound to my 2801 TX I get about 5 mm throws, and the gyro holds the tail as it should.
I'm using the default setting for the tail with the 6 ch template, but I also tried increasing some of the settings. It didn't help.
Old Oct 14, 2012, 06:08 PM
magic_marty is offline
Find More Posts by magic_marty
<Marty>
i think i had a similiar problem when setting up my HM1A and i think i had to adjust the gyro gain....but i can't remember exactly how i did it...have you tried going to the Deviation site and looking for a model file to download and try? might have one already set up that will work...i remember i posted a file for the hm1a which might work for your needs...just have to change the stick mode cause i fly the retarded way...lol throttle and rudder on the right stick..
Old Oct 14, 2012, 06:40 PM
clearprop88 is offline
Find More Posts by clearprop88
Registered User
I'm assuming that the Gyro is controlled from the "4-RUD Expo & DR " screen.
I don't see anywhere else where there is a Gyro control.
Old Oct 14, 2012, 07:53 PM
flint723 is offline
Find More Posts by flint723
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by clearprop88 View Post
I'm now testing it on a 6 ch FBL heli. I'm using the 6 ch template, with a 2801TX setting. Everything works except the tail gyro.
The rudder stick works fine, but when I swing the nose around, by hand, I only get about a 1mm throw on the tail servo.
When I do the same thing with the heli bound to my 2801 TX I get about 5 mm throws, and the gyro holds the tail as it should.
I'm using the default setting for the tail with the 6 ch template, but I also tried increasing some of the settings. It didn't help.
I believe you have to create an output for gyro, the template doesn't include one. It should be on channel 5. Just set up either a fixed value or a min/max. Although I don't know how your helicopter is set up. What helicopter is it?
Old Oct 14, 2012, 08:08 PM
magic_marty is offline
Find More Posts by magic_marty
<Marty>
yes you have to create it ...i used min/max and selected the mix switch to change between the gyro % values...i believe your rite its on ch5 on most but i think it was on ch7 for some of my newer devo walkera models...
Old Oct 14, 2012, 08:18 PM
flint723 is offline
Find More Posts by flint723
Registered User
ya on 6ch it is on channel 5 and on 8ch it is on channel 7.
Old Oct 14, 2012, 08:28 PM
clearprop88 is offline
Find More Posts by clearprop88
Registered User
I'm using it on a walkera 4F200 with a 2618V RX.I normally use a 2801 TX to control it.

I'm looking at the 5-GEAR page now.
At the top do I select "Simple"?
Src=GEAR?
Curve=Min/Max?
Scale=(Gyro level)?

If I use source = GEAR, how does that connect with my tail servo?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted Broken Walkera Devo and Spektrum tx itsmillertime Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Mar 20, 2012 05:37 AM
For Sale Walkera Devo 7 TX/Devo RX2625H Combo for sale Tom Z Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Oct 06, 2011 01:33 PM
For Sale Walkera Devo 7 TX/Devo RX2625H Combo for sale Tom Z Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Oct 05, 2011 12:38 PM
Discussion New Walkera Devention Devo 12 TX w/ Touch-Screen hobbypartz Radios 2 May 09, 2011 12:38 AM
Discussion New Walkera Devention Devo 12 TX w/ Touch-Screen hobbypartz XHeli 0 May 06, 2011 12:19 AM