New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Jul 02, 2012, 07:06 PM
Kattinkc is offline
Find More Posts by Kattinkc
KittyKatt
Regarding DJI cables can someone help with this: the data link cable with the double ends, the one that you are instructed to plug into the laptops to get more juice for the Data link ground station TX. When I do as instructed it shuts down the computer and shorts out the USB ports. I have totaled two new laptops (one replaced by Best Buys) and tried it out on four different computers from three different manufacturers. Also two different DATA links.. Both 2.4 and900mhz. Something is really wrong! Please someone help. After my 550 flew off a week ago(as in bye bye) I have been trying to go thru my US dealer, Century Helicopters with no answers !! coming from anyone. Seems the S800 is not the only issue they are hiding from.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 02, 2012, 10:09 PM
Tahoe Ed is offline
Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
DJI Support
Tahoe Ed's Avatar
I am not sure how you shorted out the USB ports. The dual connectors are for older computers that cannot supply sufficient power for the Data Link. I use an HP netbook and tried to use both connections but the ports are on the opposite sides of the computer. Talked to DJI and was told if it works with one, just use it. Your's is the first post that I remember seeing with this problem. I do remember your issues with the SN number needed to get the Data Link running. I will have to go back and see if I missed something in-between.
Site Sponsor
Old Jul 02, 2012, 10:15 PM
Tahoe Ed is offline
Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
DJI Support
Tahoe Ed's Avatar
Kattinkc, This is what you posted before:

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...ostcount=13188

What happened? You said that you were up an running.
Site Sponsor
Old Jul 03, 2012, 06:05 PM
miza is offline
Find More Posts by miza
Registered User
Why you can't put other cameras on Zenmuse gimbal designed for the nex5?
Old Jul 03, 2012, 10:41 PM
Tahoe Ed is offline
Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
DJI Support
Tahoe Ed's Avatar
If you read this and other threads in RCG and MRF you would know. The balance is critical to the performance of this gimbal. That is why they lock not only the body of the camera to the mount but also run the lens through a mount that attaches to the gimbal.
Site Sponsor
Old Jul 03, 2012, 11:04 PM
Photoship One is offline
Find More Posts by Photoship One
by Alary Design
Photoship One's Avatar
Quote:
Why you can't put other cameras on Zenmuse gimbal designed for the nex5?
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...&postcount=125
Old Jul 04, 2012, 04:06 PM
miza is offline
Find More Posts by miza
Registered User
Thanks for the answer!
Old Jul 11, 2012, 02:45 PM
EndOfDays is offline
Find More Posts by EndOfDays
Registered User
EndOfDays's Avatar
Here a video from today, did some really fast forward flights, but does not really look that fast in the video ...

Z15 Videoblog 20120711 (5 min 3 sec)


best regards

Ferdinand
Old Jul 11, 2012, 07:17 PM
miza is offline
Find More Posts by miza
Registered User
EndOfDays, is that raw footage? Overall it looks very smooth! Shot on 16mm, right?
Old Jul 11, 2012, 07:24 PM
Hangerash is offline
Find More Posts by Hangerash
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by EndOfDays View Post
Here a video from today, did some really fast forward flights, but does not really look that fast in the video ...

https://vimeo.com/45590598

best regards

Ferdinand
Is this on the S800 after the ESC replacement?
Old Jul 12, 2012, 01:46 AM
skivvie is offline
Find More Posts by skivvie
Registered User
skivvie's Avatar
Question for you Z15 owners regarding the cables. The cables that go to G6 and G8 on the GCU from the gimbal... are there only plugs on the GCU side? Or can you unplug those cables from the gimbal itself? From the diagram it looks like you can removed the G6 cable but not the G8... is that correct? I ask because I'm mounting all my hardware between the S800 plates and I want to leave room for the GCU (FRIDAY!), but I need to know if you have to access the G6 and G8 ports on the GCU to remove the gimbal from the S800. Make sense?
Old Jul 12, 2012, 02:25 AM
EndOfDays is offline
Find More Posts by EndOfDays
Registered User
EndOfDays's Avatar
@miza
all raw data out of the cam (just jut and exported)

@Hangerash
no, it's another copter (carbon hex with 800mm m2m dist)

@skivvie
I would mount the Z15-IMU on the Z15 (there is enough space there), then you only need to disconnect the servo-cables (you can add an MPX-connector) and the WKM-bus cable. The G6-G8 are not made to be disconnected a lot of times.

best regards

Ferdnand
Old Jul 12, 2012, 02:44 AM
piccoloflyer is offline
Find More Posts by piccoloflyer
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by EndOfDays View Post
Here a video from today, did some really fast forward flights, but does not really look that fast in the video ...

https://vimeo.com/45590598

best regards

Ferdinand
Ferdinand

Tour of France will be in the Alps tomorrow, not far from you, can you take your Z15 shoot some video for us and give French TV run for their money, ha
Old Jul 12, 2012, 05:02 AM
Ab74 is offline
Find More Posts by Ab74
Registered User
Love it, Ferdinand! I can't wait to get one. Still waiting for order procedure from our local dealer here in Manila. (Is this still on pre-order basis?) I'm contemplating whether to install on an octo-kong, or our E-helicam with Ace One. Thanks for posting the vids. =)
Old Jul 12, 2012, 10:01 AM
skivvie is offline
Find More Posts by skivvie
Registered User
skivvie's Avatar
So the GCU doesn't have any mounting orientation requirements?... At least not that I see in the manual. Mounting on the support frame sounds like a good solution for easy removal. Where has everyone who has one mounted theirs? Thanks for the help I can't f'n wait.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion DJI F550 Hex Build, with 2-axis NEX-5N/GH2 Gimbal... GGoodrum Multirotor Talk 9560 May 28, 2014 12:06 AM
New Product CLD 2/3-Axis FPV Gimbal for mini cameras and GoPro crd FPV Talk 9 Jul 13, 2012 11:42 PM
Discussion DJI Spread Wings S800 and Zenmuse Z15 prices are out! tpnitro Multirotor Talk 120 Jun 19, 2012 02:27 AM
Wanted 3 axis gimbal on a budget =) Vyas FPV Equipment (FS/W) 3 Mar 20, 2012 11:57 AM
New Product CLD 2/3-Axis FPV Gimbal for mini cameras and GoPro crd Aerial Photography 2 Sep 12, 2011 07:44 PM