New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Mar 01, 2012, 10:52 AM
surf1punk is offline
Find More Posts by surf1punk
RC FPVer
surf1punk's Avatar
Discussion

Lawmate receiver 1280 on channel A? B does not work


I have been testing my video setup getting ready for my FPV build, and everything I've read so far seems to be different than my results for the switches on the lawmate.

I have a lawmate 1000mW 1.2 transmitter and the 1.2 8 channel lawmate receiver.

The Tx is set to channel 8 (1280) and the instructions show that channel 8 (1280) on the receiver is 1-7 dip switch up and 8 in the down position with the slide on channel B.

I tried this and got only fuzz. Eventually after trying many combinations I found it all works fine if I'm on channel A on the slider instead of B. But the instructions specifically say I need to be on B for 1280? How is this possible? is the switch backwards in the receiver?

I get perfect clear video on A with channel 8 switch down. But switch to B and nothing... just doesn't make sense to me. Am I misunderstanding something?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 02, 2012, 12:09 AM
surf1punk is offline
Find More Posts by surf1punk
RC FPVer
surf1punk's Avatar
Update: The issue was fixed and due to incorrect positions of the 3 switches on the transmitter. I misread the graphic and thought that they needed to all be up, but was the opposite for 1280. Works as instructed now!
Last edited by surf1punk; Mar 04, 2012 at 03:26 PM.
Old Mar 02, 2012, 12:16 AM
ashdec87 is offline
Find More Posts by ashdec87
Registered User
ashdec87's Avatar
I get confused by the dip switch settings. But if you found a combo that works, stick with it. You might actually be on channel 1
Old Mar 02, 2012, 01:17 AM
Macattaka is offline
Find More Posts by Macattaka
Beyond the BlackStump
Macattaka's Avatar
I have the LM 500mW 1.2 and had a similar issue, the channels don't appear to align. It's not near me to check at the moment but from memory the Tx is on Ch4 and the Rx is on Ch5. Ch4 on the Tx says 1100 but it actually tested as 1140'ish. I had to do the same as you and try random combo's until I got a clear picture.

Name: photo.jpg
Views: 88
Size: 218.1 KB
Description:
Last edited by Macattaka; Mar 02, 2012 at 01:24 AM.
Old Mar 02, 2012, 08:21 AM
surf1punk is offline
Find More Posts by surf1punk
RC FPVer
surf1punk's Avatar
I just want to be sure I'm broadcasting at 1280mhz and not something lower since those other channels are illegal here in the US, and I don't have the tools to test it.
Old Mar 02, 2012, 09:17 AM
HF_ATL is online now
Find More Posts by HF_ATL
Registered User
If you get a hand in a scanner or contact any local ham, you'll have the confirmation you need
Old Mar 02, 2012, 10:55 AM
Roel-CP is offline
Find More Posts by Roel-CP
Registered User
Roel-CP's Avatar
i get worried now
Old Mar 02, 2012, 11:19 AM
NDw is offline
NDw
Find More Posts by NDw
NDw
Registered User
Is it the standard or portable reciever?
Old Mar 02, 2012, 11:59 AM
surf1punk is offline
Find More Posts by surf1punk
RC FPVer
surf1punk's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by NDw View Post
Is it the standard or portable reciever?
It's this one from dronesvision

LawMate 1.2GHz Wireless AV Receiver VRx For FPV

http://www.dronesvision.com/lawmate-...-cctv-cameras/
Old Mar 02, 2012, 12:14 PM
NDw is offline
NDw
Find More Posts by NDw
NDw
Registered User
I have what looks to be the same one from rmrc and channel 8 is as described in the instuctions.

How do you know the tx is on 1280?
Old Mar 02, 2012, 01:11 PM
surf1punk is offline
Find More Posts by surf1punk
RC FPVer
surf1punk's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by NDw View Post
I have what looks to be the same one from rmrc and channel 8 is as described in the instuctions.

How do you know the tx is on 1280?
Based off this image.



Mine is the same as what it says channel 8 is.
Old Mar 02, 2012, 01:29 PM
NDw is offline
NDw
Find More Posts by NDw
NDw
Registered User
I don't suppose you have any other 1.2 vrx?

You could buy one of these if you want to be sure.
Old Mar 02, 2012, 01:33 PM
surf1punk is offline
Find More Posts by surf1punk
RC FPVer
surf1punk's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by NDw View Post
I don't suppose you have any other 1.2 vrx?

You could buy one of these if you want to be sure.
No, I don't, this is my first FPV build.

I found that same one earlier, just not sure I wanted to spend the $ on something I'll use once. I was just hoping someone else had the same thing happen etc. The feed works great, just not sure it is at 1280 on channel B like it is.

http://www.bestofferbuy.com/Handheld...aign=gbase_usa
Old Mar 02, 2012, 03:23 PM
Mr.RC-CAM is offline
Find More Posts by Mr.RC-CAM
Registered User
Mr.RC-CAM's Avatar
You didn't say which Lawmate Rx you have, which will affect the A/B switch usage. For 1280MHz, set the Rx's DIP SW-8 down (all others up), and then select the A/B switch position depending on the Lawmate Rx model, as follows:
RX-1260 (12V model): A/B Sw = B
RX-1280 (5V Portable model): A/B Sw = A

Regarding the Tx DIP switches, the dpcav.com drawing is correct. But maybe you are interpreting the positions in reverse? For example, on the drawing the *raised* tit portion of the DIP switch is shown as the black area of the switch figure. Please see below for a photo of that shows the TM121800's CH-8 settings.

BTW, if you reverse all the switches on the Tx, and are using a RX-1260 Rx, then your reported A/B switch issue will occur exactly as you have observed. If this is the case then you are on CH-1 (1080MHz).

- Thomas
Old Mar 02, 2012, 03:51 PM
surf1punk is offline
Find More Posts by surf1punk
RC FPVer
surf1punk's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.RC-CAM View Post
You didn't say which Lawmate Rx you have, which will affect the A/B switch usage. For 1280MHz, set the Rx's DIP SW-8 down (all others up), and then select the A/B switch position depending on the Lawmate Rx model, as follows:
RX-1260 (12V model): A/B Sw = B
RX-1280 (5V Portable model): A/B Sw = A

Regarding the Tx DIP switches, the dpcav.com drawing is correct. But maybe you are interpreting the positions in reverse? For example, on the drawing the *raised* tit portion of the DIP switch is shown as the black area of the switch figure. Please see below for a photo of that shows the TM121800's CH-8 settings.

BTW, if you reverse all the switches on the Tx, and are using a RX-1260 Rx, then your reported A/B switch issue will occur exactly as you have observed. If this is the case then you are on CH-1 (1080MHz).

- Thomas
You know Thomas you may be correct about your last point. As I read the diagram that I linked for the Tx I thought the "white" was the switch, so all the switches are up instead of down. I will double check this when I get home.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Isolating motors does work SeismicCWave Aerial Photography 34 Mar 15, 2012 09:36 PM
Discussion NGHobbies 1.3ghz 800mw locked on channel 9 (1280) unlock ? bakchos FPV Talk 2 Sep 27, 2011 05:35 PM
Electronic Mixer Does not work with Receiver richas GWS (Grand Wing Servo) 2 Nov 14, 2005 11:00 PM
Rudder channel does not work zm22 GWS (Grand Wing Servo) 3 Dec 04, 2003 09:24 AM
Why does Channel 60 not work on my plane? RPatrick Power Systems 8 Jun 17, 2002 02:03 AM