Thread Tools
Jan 20, 2013, 11:01 PM
AMA 965811, FAA FA3MTYYYCK
I hit bottom, bought the phantom, and two gopros...beautiful flying machine BTW!
Then I see ladybirdQR v2 Fpv and Devo f4.... How oh how do I explaine the new ladybird?
If I'm lucky, I'm now at the point they all look the same and she won't notice....
Will the DevoF4 have vid out for goggles?

Quick look, looks like my goggles will work from Vtx to my AIO's
Last edited by boxhead530; Jan 20, 2013 at 11:05 PM. Reason: Found foreign specs, looking for some I can maybe read he he
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jan 20, 2013, 11:40 PM
Live to learn. . .
Rafa's CB100's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by boxhead530
Will the DevoF4 have vid out for goggles?

Quick look, looks like my goggles will work from Vtx to my AIO's
According to this, both the F7 and F4 have video out:
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...01&postcount=9

Rafa
Jan 21, 2013, 12:04 AM
AMA 965811, FAA FA3MTYYYCK
I hit walkera site, didn't see that, but I have been hitting the gopro books so I a little fuzzy.
I'll wait until wow hobby has it, hobbywow takes too long, and it will let me space out the wallet hit from dji phantom.
I can't belive how much these little quads have helped me fly. Ladybird, hotenX, and the others.
I have two vRx boards, giving me a lot of freqs to match Vtx from this new ladybird.
Jan 21, 2013, 10:58 PM
yud
yud
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by BD Murdock
@ Yud,

Just to give you an idea to calm the LB down a bit, try adding 20-40% expo to the elevator & aileron. This will take away some of the 'twitchiness' of the LB. Add travel adjustment, anywhere between 100 - 150% to the rudder and decrease expo for the rudder, -20 to -40% as an example. You'll be surprised at the difference. Then as you're skills improve you can put some of the 'twitchiness' back in if you want. Travel adjustment procedure is on page 28, Dual Rates and Expo start on the bottom of page 28.

The 7E is my first programmable radio, I was hesitant at first to take the step but it really does make a huge difference. Also programmable radios with their own receivers are the only way to get farther and deeper into the hobby...not sure if that's good or bad...
@ BD Murdock

Thanks heaps. I made the changes you suggested (even though it was done without much understanding...) and I found the bird much easier to control.
Used 4 batteries on the weekend and really enjoyed it...

Yestarday I changed blades to a new set and now the bird does not take off. Maybe I pushed the new blades too far down? They all spin ok but the bird does not take off. Tried a fresh battery as well with no luck. Might have to change motors.
Jan 21, 2013, 11:00 PM
Registered User
natscape's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by yud
@ BD Murdock

Thanks heaps. I made the changes you suggested (even though it was done without much understanding...) and I found the bird much easier to control.
Used 4 batteries on the weekend and really enjoyed it...

Yestarday I changed blades to a new set and now the bird does not take off. Maybe I pushed the new blades too far down? They all spin ok but the bird does not take off. Tried a fresh battery as well with no luck. Might have to change motors.
You must have put the blades on incorrectly. Each color has 1 CW and 1 CCW blade.
Jan 21, 2013, 11:02 PM
yud
yud
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by natscape
You must have put the blades on incorrectly. Each color has 1 CW and 1 CCW blade.
Thanks but I don't think so.
I replaced the blades one at a time in order to avoid exactly this.
Jan 21, 2013, 11:12 PM
Registered User
natscape's Avatar
That is weird.
Try to spin each of the props by hand and check if 1 or more does not spin freely.

You can also check each motor by leaving 1 motor attached and throttling up. If it's a motor issue, 1 or more motors will seem weak.

good luck!
Jan 21, 2013, 11:17 PM
yud
yud
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by natscape
That is weird.
Try to spin each of the props by hand and check if 1 or more does not spin freely.

You can also check each motor by leaving 1 motor attached and throttling up. If it's a motor issue, 1 or more motors will seem weak.

good luck!
Thanks @ natscape.

Do you mean I should disconnect 3 motors from the FCB and test 1 motor at a time?
Jan 21, 2013, 11:27 PM
Registered User
natscape's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by yud
Thanks @ natscape.

Do you mean I should disconnect 3 motors from the FCB and test 1 motor at a time?
Yes.
Also make sure the rotation direction is correct and remember which motor goes into which FCB plug.

What I did was to use a fine permanent marker to label the FCB sockets (FR, FL, RR, RL).
Jan 22, 2013, 01:23 AM
2 NECKS ARE BETTER THAN 1
Lard4Hire's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by yud
Thanks but I don't think so.
I replaced the blades one at a time in order to avoid exactly this.

If all 4 motors/blades spin, put on some throttle and see if you feel wind above the quad. If you do, it's because the blades are in the wrong positions (cw and ccw) and it's forcing air up instead of down to create lift.


Lard4Hire
Jan 22, 2013, 05:11 AM
yud
yud
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lard4Hire
If all 4 motors/blades spin, put on some throttle and see if you feel wind above the quad. If you do, it's because the blades are in the wrong positions (cw and ccw) and it's forcing air up instead of down to create lift.


Lard4Hire
Thank you all!
Problem solved. Very emberassing to admit but the blades were swapped...

Now for the next question: when she takes off she immediately goes backwards and I have to correct by forward stick. I'm guessing at least one motor needs replacing but is there an easy way to tell which without trial and error? Can I assume it's one of the front motors?

(same behavior with old and new blades)
Jan 22, 2013, 05:54 AM
Registered User
That would be a rear motor, or calibration/trimming somewhere. I've noticed my v2 sets the gyros whenever the throttle is zero, so if you take off from a slope it won't hover.

And if you accidentally drop the throttle too low and it tumbles from height...
Jan 22, 2013, 08:00 AM
Registered User
jlcamp7's Avatar
Also if you don't quickly get it out of ground effect it will slide as well. Make sure you are popping it up a few feet off the ground. Having to adjust some from ground effect is normal. The question is once you adjust it to be level does it still want to go backwards after that?
Jan 22, 2013, 08:02 AM
Registered User
muck76's Avatar
do you have a bent blade or bent arm? If the CF rod is cracked and he motor sits a little off center it may drift.
You keep mentioning motor, did you crash hard that made you want to call it that?
Jan 22, 2013, 08:15 AM
Registered User
natscape's Avatar
Yeah those motors are very tough. Had my V1 since August 2012 and I've only replace 1 motor when I landed upside down and popped the motor cover off.

This was right after trying to do a double flip.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Project QR-1 - Rutan Quickie Racer Geode Slope 110 May 04, 2010 11:25 AM
Discussion Ladybird Special imp.bob Vintage & Old-Timer Designs 4 Feb 03, 2008 10:08 PM
ladybird beetle/gws easybug nebuchadnezzar Foamies (Kits) 1 Aug 14, 2004 08:48 AM