Thread Tools
Old Feb 26, 2012, 02:46 AM
heli-insane is offline
Find More Posts by heli-insane
Registered User
Discussion

AEROFLY 5.7 feedback!


I already own a copy of phoenix updated to version 4 and a copy of realflight g4.5.

Both sims are great and i have no real complaints im just looking to possibly add another sim to my collection.

I thought about upgrading to rf6 as well, several hours of searching and checkin out youtube videos i stumbled across aerofly 5.7.

Would really appreciate some feedback from some other people that own phoenix rc as well as the real flight series.

The videos of aerofly 5.7 look amazing! Niteflyer swears it the most realistic!

Just how realistic is it? And is it any better then the other 2 sims i already own?

Thxs
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 26, 2012, 07:45 AM
jeffpn is offline
Find More Posts by jeffpn
Registered User
If you own RF G4.5, it costs you only $50 to buy RF6. That's a variable you need to consider.
Old Feb 26, 2012, 12:12 PM
heli-insane is offline
Find More Posts by heli-insane
Registered User
Im running a MSI gx660 laptop for my simming i will post the specs here as well. I find i can run phoenix rc at 100% full graphics and it runs extreamely smooth!
Realflight g4.5 i have to turn the graphics down quite a bit!

Im looking for the most realalistic heli simulation i can buy and money will not be a deciding factor!

cheers
Old Feb 26, 2012, 02:08 PM
jeffpn is offline
Find More Posts by jeffpn
Registered User
Good luck with your quest.
Old Feb 26, 2012, 05:12 PM
Puzom is offline
Find More Posts by Puzom
Registered User
Puzom's Avatar
Hi,

How well does your videocard handle OpenGL? Aerofly 5.* is OpenGL based and really needs a good card.

PhoenixRC is more heli focused and physics are good.

Aerofly 5.* has superb plane physics.

RF 6 seems to have some improved heli physics, never tested as I own G4.5.

For planes I use Aerofly and PhoenixRC for helis. But what is best is really a personal taste

Cheers.
Last edited by Puzom; Feb 26, 2012 at 05:21 PM.
Old Feb 26, 2012, 05:49 PM
jeffpn is offline
Find More Posts by jeffpn
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Puzom View Post
what is best is really a personal taste
I think that's worth repeating!
Old Feb 27, 2012, 07:00 AM
brentg is offline
Find More Posts by brentg
Registered User
brentg's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by heli-insane View Post
Im running a MSI gx660 laptop for my simming i will post the specs here as well. I find i can run phoenix rc at 100% full graphics and it runs extreamely smooth!
Realflight g4.5 i have to turn the graphics down quite a bit!

Im looking for the most realalistic heli simulation i can buy and money will not be a deciding factor!

cheers

Your gaming index looks good,RF should run better than that on your system.. but aerofly 5.7 needs a hefty video system and most laptops have internal graphics which is a big maybe for it working, It would not work on my laptop but works on my desktop well, but it has a 2gig video card that is up to specs on the requirements. Go to the Aerofly site and see the min specs to see if your laptop can support the video.



http://www.aerofly.com/requirements_en.html
Old Mar 23, 2012, 09:17 AM
Benzorz is offline
Find More Posts by Benzorz
Registered User

Get aerofly


I fly a trex 450se and can do moderate 3d. In aerofly 5 you can use the t Rex. I had just flown my t Rex 5 minutes before using this sim for the first time and I was pretty amazed at how real it is..even the power of the heli is pretty much the same as a 450. Also some of these sims gravity seems unrealistic, in this one though, it is. I've been flying helis for about a year and got into 3d flying 3 months ago. You can improve really fast in 3d if you fly a lot but attempting new tricks it's annoying to have to get way up in the air and do it for safety of not crashing. Get on the sim do the trick over and over. It helps a lot.
Old Apr 08, 2012, 08:00 AM
centaur1126 is offline
Find More Posts by centaur1126
Registered User
centaur1126's Avatar
I can't seem to find any info if my Spektrum DX6i will work with aerofly. I have a mac and am not interested in bootcamp or anything else on my mac to run a windows program.
Any suggestions?
Thanks
Old Apr 09, 2012, 08:19 PM
cheyenne is offline
Find More Posts by cheyenne
Registered User
cheyenne's Avatar
I bought my aerofly from this site. He has the adapter for the DX6i. also they sell a wireless
2.4 adapter that any 2.4 transmitter will work. Drop them a email, they great to work with and fast shipping.
http://www.iflytailies.com/store/simulators/
Old Apr 17, 2012, 03:46 AM
MonsterBFC is offline
Find More Posts by MonsterBFC
Still a mile high when I land
MonsterBFC's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by centaur1126 View Post
I can't seem to find any info if my Spektrum DX6i will work with aerofly. I have a mac and am not interested in bootcamp or anything else on my mac to run a windows program.
Any suggestions?
Thanks
I used to use my DX8 on my sim until it developed a gimbal problem. I never use any of my transmiters on sims because of the wear it causes. I have Phonex and RF. When I buy Aerofly, I'll pop for the extra $50 to save wear on my good equipment.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Ikarus AeroFly 5.7 Simulator iflytailies Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 7 Feb 02, 2012 05:55 AM
Discussion Aerofly 5.7.1.1 - raising the bar (for graphics) nemo_uk Simulators 1 Nov 27, 2011 01:28 PM
Sold Aerofly Pro Deluxe with Aerofly 5 Upgrade donho1 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 2 Nov 26, 2011 03:05 PM
Wanted WTB used AeroFly 5 (5.5) simulator for Mac phranticness Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 0 Oct 17, 2011 10:08 PM
Discussion Simstick & Mac OS 10.6.6: Aerofly 5/5.5 with Game Commander using JR DSX7 (DX7) 8thelephant Simulators 0 Mar 14, 2011 09:17 PM