Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Oct 01, 2012, 02:08 PM
I Fly!
jrtubb's Avatar
I assume the LVC warning pulsing motors?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Oct 01, 2012, 02:15 PM
Bye Bye VP Aug 2010 - Aug 2012
Gerry__'s Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtubb View Post
I assume the LVC warning pulsing motors?
Yep and not good to run the pack down that low.
Oct 01, 2012, 02:30 PM
I Fly!
jrtubb's Avatar
Thanks, I'm use to keeping track of flight time on my DX6i for our other planes / helis. One of the bummers with this red transmitter. I've been checking my watch and telling him to land after 10-12 min just to be safe.

Funny thing is my son (8 yr old) likes the red controler, even though he has a DX6i for all his micros. He thinks the red color is cool and makes the plane faster!
Oct 01, 2012, 02:36 PM
Bye Bye VP Aug 2010 - Aug 2012
Gerry__'s Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtubb View Post
Thanks, I'm use to keeping track of flight time on my DX6i for our other planes / helis. One of the bummers with this red transmitter. I've been checking my watch and telling him to land after 10-12 min just to be safe.

Funny thing is my son (8 yr old) likes the red controler, even though he has a DX6i for all his micros. He thinks the red color is cool and makes the plane faster!

You could get a settable lipo alarm: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2in1-Lipo-...item45fb5f44cb
Oct 01, 2012, 03:07 PM
Registered User
The red controller is the ONLY TX that will handle the FB Stratos. It will NOT bind to any other Spektrum Rx. It is intended to be that way since the VI is programmed to work with that TX only.

I got my low voltage alarms from HobbyKing for about 3 bucks each. Two of those and an Orange Rx were $13.00 shipped.
Oct 02, 2012, 06:02 PM
Closed Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by SLK Count View Post
I ordered my Stratos last hour
Think it will deliver quickly and next weekend I can go out.

I want to use my Turnigy 2S/1000mAh packs (same dimension and weight like the stock one) - how long is approx the motor runtime with the 1300er pack ?
Congrats on your purchase, I'm sure you're gonna be pleased.

Here's a link to an entertaining video review of the Stratos if you're interested:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fBRShTlFpGA"]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fBRShTlFpGA

(copy and paste into your browser)


... Lennie
Oct 02, 2012, 06:50 PM
Registered User
The CG listed on the SPECS page of the HZ website says 20mm or .8 inches. This is approximately 3/4 of an inch back from where the wheel wire goes in, towards the battery hatch right?
Oct 02, 2012, 10:22 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qualo Kabrigne View Post
The CG listed on the SPECS page of the HZ website says 20mm or .8 inches. This is approximately 3/4 of an inch back from where the wheel wire goes in, towards the battery hatch right?
That's right. As I figure it, the CG is about where the two notches are on the battery hatch plate. When I've had cause to check the CG, I put a large rubber band through those notches, install the cover to hold it in, and hang it upside down to check the balance.

Tom
Oct 03, 2012, 08:37 PM
Registered User
Is there a difference in CA glues? If so what should I get? Don't need it now, but I figure if I pick some up on EBay or somewhere I won't ever need it.
Oct 03, 2012, 08:51 PM
I Fly!
jrtubb's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iplumb View Post
Is there a difference in CA glues? If so what should I get? Don't need it now, but I figure if I pick some up on EBay or somewhere I won't ever need it.
You need to get foam safe CA glue. However I recommend you get gorilla glue - Dries White.

http://www.gorillatough.com/index.php?page=dries-white

It works very good with the foam and seems to hold up better then CA. I bought mine at Home Depot.
Oct 03, 2012, 08:59 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrtubb View Post
You need to get foam safe CA glue. However I recommend you get gorilla glue - Dries White.

http://www.gorillatough.com/index.php?page=dries-white

It works very good with the foam and seems to hold up better then CA. I bought mine at Home Depot.
Thanks! Never seen the white.
Oct 04, 2012, 03:12 PM
I Fly!
jrtubb's Avatar
What is the biggest battery people are running? I have the stock 1300 and two 1350s.
Oct 04, 2012, 03:19 PM
Registered User
The only other battery I have seen that is about that size (Parkzone/E-Flight) is the 1000 mah battery that came with my Ares Gamma 370 (rotten Tamiya connectors though). I think the FB Stratos is designed around that 1300 mah battery as I haven't seen any other HZ/PZ planes that use it. What brand of battery are the 1350s?
Oct 04, 2012, 09:25 PM
I Fly!
jrtubb's Avatar
I have 2 Pulse 1350 / 45c that were on sale for $9 each at the LHS. I've seen the same size in Thunder Power and Turnigy.
Oct 04, 2012, 11:16 PM
Beast 60E Maniac
SLK Count's Avatar
Hi all,

my Stratos arrived yesterday- seems to be good- all peaces looks good and fit perfect.
Weather has to be better and I will try my maiden with this beginner plane.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion HobbyZone Firebird Commander 2 jakob98 Electric Sailplanes 0 Sep 09, 2011 05:48 PM
Sold Hobbyzone Firebird Phantom parts - $30 take all PACubFlyer103 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Sep 07, 2011 05:34 AM
Sold Hobbyzone Firebird Outlaw RTF - Great for kids and/or beginners baddb1 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 May 08, 2011 07:36 PM
Discussion Why was HobbyZone Firebird Freedom RTF dicontinued? cschrein Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 2 Apr 19, 2011 07:15 AM
Sold Hobbyzone Firebird Commander 2 Plus Extras banjo_nc Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Apr 01, 2011 07:49 PM