New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Jan 13, 2013, 06:14 PM
jh2rc97 is offline
Find More Posts by jh2rc97
Registered User
I have made a little more progress. Here are the wing templates for a Supra. This was the second attempt as the first helped me find out that my table was not level from corner to corner and I ended up breaking an engraving bit.

Alan
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 13, 2013, 06:37 PM
geostomp is offline
Find More Posts by geostomp
ReVolt- Proprietary Insanity
geostomp's Avatar
Sweet
Old Jan 18, 2013, 02:50 PM
Taget is offline
Find More Posts by Taget
Registered User
Taget's Avatar
First 3D project, 2 halves for and engine nacelle on my BN-Defender. Looks like i have some tweaking to do.
Old Jan 18, 2013, 07:09 PM
Roto Rob is offline
Find More Posts by Roto Rob
Registered User
Small stepovers take lots of time, so sometimes I just sand it. On some models I have done a slice planar tool path like you did, then added another type to get areas the first tool path missed.
Old Feb 08, 2013, 07:48 PM
IIIBonesAirForce is offline
Find More Posts by IIIBonesAirForce
Grounded Pilot
IIIBonesAirForce's Avatar
Hey folks . Great thread. I bought a bluumax kit over two years ago and finally as I was reading this thread started to put it together. I will post pictures soon of my set up and see what you all think. I hope you would feel free to provide whatever input on wiring and on the set up. I am planning to use a laptop running XP but will have to use a PCMCIA to DB25M serial port adopter to connect to my C-10
Old Feb 09, 2013, 08:47 AM
IIIBonesAirForce is offline
Find More Posts by IIIBonesAirForce
Grounded Pilot
IIIBonesAirForce's Avatar

Bluumax CNC kit


here are some pictures of my Bluumax set up. Again feel free to check out the wiring connections and platform set up and let me know what your thoughts are. I have an older motor drive for the XYZ and a C-10 Board.
Old Feb 09, 2013, 08:56 AM
IIIBonesAirForce is offline
Find More Posts by IIIBonesAirForce
Grounded Pilot
IIIBonesAirForce's Avatar
to be able to connect serial printer port I will be using this adopter which plugs into PCMCIA slot on my laptop running windows XP.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/PCMCIA-Card-...item2a15e47c9d
Old Feb 09, 2013, 11:14 AM
geostomp is offline
Find More Posts by geostomp
ReVolt- Proprietary Insanity
geostomp's Avatar
I have heard people have trouble using laptops only for CNC control. The Smoothstepper is often used with a laptop to keep the motor pulses timed properly. Hope your setup works though, I'd love to be wrong.

Your machine looks different than the Bluumax that I have/had/modified.....is it from the Bluumax website?" Looks like a milling machine style rather than gantry router style.
Old Feb 09, 2013, 03:43 PM
IIIBonesAirForce is offline
Find More Posts by IIIBonesAirForce
Grounded Pilot
IIIBonesAirForce's Avatar
Yes it is I bought it from Shawn at Bluumax about two and a half years ago. After reading your thread I decided to put it together. It is a very light duty machine for my RC planes and quadcopter builds.

I think you are right that the laptop may not work with CNC. I might be better off just buying a PC desktop box, hopefully one of them old ones with parallel port output.

Thanks for your input.
Old Jan 05, 2014, 01:55 PM
jh2rc97 is offline
Find More Posts by jh2rc97
Registered User
I have received a spindle motor and PWM speed controller for it. This is the one I ordered:

http://www.amazon.com/Spindle-Contro.../dp/B00CLL84A4

Is there any particular output on the C-10 board that is meant for PWM out or can any open outputs be used?

Also I have connected and configured a Warp9 USB smooth stepper which is a noticeable improvement one the X, Y, and Z axis control.

Alan
Old Jan 05, 2014, 02:18 PM
geostomp is offline
Find More Posts by geostomp
ReVolt- Proprietary Insanity
geostomp's Avatar
I believe you assign the PWM a pin in the MAch3 config. "Ports and Pins" menu.

On a side note, If I got to do a bluumax over again I would order some cheap 10mm pillow blocks and take all but a thou' out of the back lash. I did this on my most recent bluumax induced homebuild by adding two layers of coke can aluminum to the .375" leadscrew to make it .395". I then shoe horned it into the 10mm (.393") pillow block and mounted it in place. Worked great and I have two that fight each other on each axis which has made my most recent work much more accurate. The bluumax could use just one on the x and y that would help a bunch.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jh2rc97 View Post
I have received a spindle motor and PWM speed controller for it. This is the one I ordered:

http://www.amazon.com/Spindle-Contro.../dp/B00CLL84A4

Is there any particular output on the C-10 board that is meant for PWM out or can any open outputs be used?

Also I have connected and configured a Warp9 USB smooth stepper which is a noticeable improvement one the X, Y, and Z axis control.

Alan
Old Jan 06, 2014, 03:27 PM View Post
3dideaforum
A moderator felt this post violated the following rule: Excessive Advertising (Spam). Show it to me anyway.
Old May 26, 2014, 12:02 PM
crazyhorse21 is offline
Find More Posts by crazyhorse21
Registered User
hi geostomp,

i have finally got the machine built and working in mach3 ...

but i need to keep booting in XP to get mach3 to work ... i have installed a VMware workstation and LinuxCNC ...

but getting the setpconf in the metric (mm) is really very confusing .... or based on your experience can i convert the inch to mm and will it work ??

do you have a bluumac stepconf (metric) ... it would greatly help

thanks for this wonderful thread ...

hope your cnc is "cutting along" fine

thanks in advance

chX
Old May 26, 2014, 04:57 PM
RCWorks is offline
Find More Posts by RCWorks
Happy days are here again!
RCWorks's Avatar
It looks like a toy, will it cut aluminum?
Old May 27, 2014, 07:31 AM
jh2rc97 is offline
Find More Posts by jh2rc97
Registered User
It is not very rigid and is only good for soft materials at slow speeds. I had trouble cutting the same parts out twice. So I looked around and ended up building a KRMx02. It is a much better machine. It does cost more but will cut a lot faster. Rapids of 1000 ipm are a little scary but so cool to watch work. I built the 50x27.

Alan

http://www.kronosrobotics.com/krmx02


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log "done by ourself" cnc router and hotwire cutter.now with video. clausxpf CAD/CAM 23 Jan 05, 2013 06:58 PM
Question CNC router Kit ? marcel76 The Builders Workshop 6 Feb 21, 2009 05:50 PM
Found Allegro UCN5804b stepper controller chips for cnc router or foam cutting stealthy Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 0 Feb 05, 2006 09:46 PM
CNC router kit choice? Coder The Builders Workshop 3 Oct 15, 2002 09:45 PM