New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Feb 20, 2012, 06:24 PM
DaMaDo is offline
Find More Posts by DaMaDo
Registered User
Discussion

Ardupilot mega V2.0 any good for multis?


I was originally planning to find a used OP CC but besides being very hard to source, I'd like something to tinker/experiment with and I need to know C++ anyway for some of my engineering classes.

I was wondering if anyone had any experience with the few new purple APMs that have been recently released in controlling a quad or hexa.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 20, 2012, 06:27 PM
timecop is offline
Find More Posts by timecop
Suspended Account
So what prevents you from tinkering with op code in C on a modern processor instead of wasting time with purple 8bit junk?
Old Feb 20, 2012, 06:30 PM
AP7d is offline
Find More Posts by AP7d
Registered User
If your not dumb and willing to work a bit, its the single most capable UAV system for the price. The new barometer on the APM2.0 has a 10cm resolution for incredible alt-hold, new advancements in the code are bringing on automated PID tuning, support for i2c esc's, inertial navigation, and a host of other things. Many people dont like it however because its rather difficult to setup for someone without a computer backround. I love mine.

Timecop, whats with the atmel hate? Its pretty capable for the simple stuff we're trying to do, given any of the 32bit chips would perform better they also require a refactoring of all the current code. the APM project plans to move in line with arduino to a 32 bit platform soon anyway.
Old Feb 20, 2012, 06:38 PM
timecop is offline
Find More Posts by timecop
Suspended Account
Arduino "32bit" platform (assuming you refer to 'due') is already obsolete and its not even out yet.
Sam3u has been around for years and every chip vendor besides Atmel has much more capable hardware by now. Funny you mention 32 bit switch soon, so everyone who paid 200 bones for this obsolete 8 bit stuff will need to rebuy it in a few months?
Old Feb 20, 2012, 10:45 PM
DaMaDo is offline
Find More Posts by DaMaDo
Registered User
Thanks for the responses. I guess I just haven't seen these talked about too much and AP7d I guess explains why. I don't mind taking the trouble to set it up...that's actually the best part to me.

I'm probably going to be using Arduino for several things in the future so might as well learn more about it and its coding while doing something fun like this...especially since arduino has such broad support for learning.

timecop, I understand your argument about chip advancement, but what would the newer chips allow me to do realistically that APM 2 can't? I sometimes get into tech specs too much and I have to pull myself out of it to properly consider real world results/effects.
Old Feb 21, 2012, 04:47 AM
zviratko is offline
Find More Posts by zviratko
let's brm together!
timecop: they still support APM1 with 1280 chip, so it's unlikely they will just stop supporting APM1/APM2 altogether when ARM version comes out. More likely there will be a common codebase with HAL layer around.
You are also always free to upload a different software to it - something unimaginable on CC, or UAVP-NG...
Old Feb 21, 2012, 04:55 AM
timecop is offline
Find More Posts by timecop
Suspended Account
unimaginable? ookay.
i've been running 'different software' on CC for a while, i don't really understand what you're saying here. if you mean "people with arduino ide who can barely edit config.h, press compile, upload, pray that it works" can't "uploada a different software" then yes, you're probably right.
Old Feb 24, 2012, 10:36 AM
RC Man is offline
Find More Posts by RC Man
A man with too many toys
Anyone have flight reports for the APM2? I just got one on an airplane and it’s great and was thinking of getting another for my Quad.

BTW I think that the mission planning software in incredable – at least for sirplanes.


.
Old Feb 24, 2012, 11:02 AM
ncaadodge is offline
Find More Posts by ncaadodge
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by timecop View Post
So what prevents you from tinkering with op code in C on a modern processor instead of wasting time with purple 8bit junk?
You are right. But how to tinker on a piece of hardware that is hardly available and where you already know that it will be replaced by "op revolution" sometime in the future.
And after the hard way that the initial op has gone... nobody knows when you will be able to tinker with "op revolution".
So... start playing with the old and available stuff right now
Old May 08, 2012, 10:26 PM
caotri is offline
Find More Posts by caotri
Registered User
Anyonce try multiwii code for APM 2.0?
Old May 08, 2012, 10:28 PM
timecop is offline
Find More Posts by timecop
Suspended Account
When you can get capable multiwii hardware from china for < $30 why would you run multiwii on something that costs $199?

Have DIYClones release the DMP/Sensor fusion code that they used to "advertise" their platform? Last I checked all they had was plain old raw gyro readings.
Old May 12, 2012, 11:24 AM
caotri is offline
Find More Posts by caotri
Registered User
How can you get Mega multiwii with all sensor, GPS under $30 ?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion ArduPilot Mega V2 Purple Kit DroneGeek UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 615 May 22, 2013 01:05 AM
Sold FS or Trade: iPad 1 Wifi 64GB for....Range Video OSD 5 or Ardupilot Mega crd FPV Equipment (FS/W) 0 Jan 28, 2012 01:17 PM
Wanted Trade: My Ardupilot Mega (APM) for a Hover Fly Pro Adidas4275 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 2 Nov 21, 2011 09:26 PM
Discussion ArduPilot Mega kit from DIY Drones any good? spacecase Multirotor Talk 11 Aug 11, 2011 02:07 PM
Cool Ardupilot V2.0 test flight movies - Now with onboard Video chancesAU UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 33 Jul 12, 2009 07:57 PM