What Transmitter should I get? - RC Groups
Feb 18, 2012, 07:46 AM
Discussion

What Transmitter should I get?

For most people,seeing someone else flying is what drew them to the hobby. Now it may just be the geek in me, but for me it was the first time I saw a Transmitter, or as I called it back then the remote control. When I first saw something like the Spektrum Dx6i with all the switches, nobs, and shiny buttons, I was sold!!! I just knew that any hobby that involved knowing how to work such a complex looking piece of equipment was sooo going to be worth it. So what Tx/Rx should I get is the question????...read more on www.rcslyfly.blogspot.com

Leave question, comments, concern, or just add to the discussion..
to remove ads between posts
Feb 18, 2012, 08:03 AM
I am completely new to RC planes, totally hooked, so I wanted to learn how to use the radio And learn to fly so I have bought a DX6i and Phoenix sim. software.
It is enabling me to get to know the radio, develope some instincts and feel for what to do.
Spent my first two hours with them yesterday, crashed my sim. Cub Many times - saved Alot of money right there, not being a real plane !
So far a VERY good investment.
AND ALOT OF FUN !
Feb 18, 2012, 08:17 AM
Fly it low.. and fly it fast!
For the "economically impaired".. the best buy is the Turnigy 9X. You get 9 channels to play with and it's packed with plenty of features. If you don't mind sinking several hundred into the hobby, and you plan to stay with it for many years to come, you can consider the JR X9503 also 9 channels, but it's more "pro class" than the Turnigy or even a DX6i for that matter. It all depends on how much your budget will allow.