New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by billpa, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Oct 24, 2012, 03:04 PM
Silverexpress is offline
Find More Posts by Silverexpress
Your customer
Silverexpress's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by chewytm View Post
Yes, but what is the "Master Gain?" Is it the P, I, or D or all of the above? Or rather, what exactly does the Master Gain affect?

chewy
Simple, let's look at a few examples based on one trim pot

Example 1:
Trim Pot set at 100%
Master Gain set at 50%
Your overall Gain is 50%

Example 2:
Trim Pot set at 100%
Master Gain set at 100%
Your overall Gain is 100%

Example 3:
Trim Pot set at 30%
Master Gain set at 25%
Your overall Gain is 7.5%

The last example is the same as saying 25% of 30% is equal to 7.5%. Note: if you type "25% of 30%" in google search it will give you the answer.

7.5% is what the Guardian will apply in regards to gain.

Think of it this way, you have a hose connected to an outdoor faucet (Master Gain), and at the end of the hose you have a nozzle (Trim Pot). The overall Gain is the amount of water that comes out the nozzle.

Like Everydayflyer has stated, the Master Gain gets applied to all trim pots. See Picture.
Last edited by Silverexpress; Oct 24, 2012 at 03:15 PM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 24, 2012, 03:35 PM
choochoo22 is offline
Find More Posts by choochoo22
Rick
Quote:
Originally Posted by gritty View Post
The 2D/3D unit works fine, but my problem is that I can't seem to get it set to level while on the bench. What I am doing is putting a bubble level on the stabilizer and raising the rear of the plane until the bubble level indicates that the stab is level. Then I reset the 2D/3D unit for level.
No matter how you go about it, setting the level is a trial and error process for each plane. I have suggested that a method be added to the firmware to tweak the level up or down from the existing setting incrementally to make this a little easier but that may never happen and it would still be trial and error. For me, it doesn't pay to be too precise on this. I just prop or hold the plane at what I think is the right angle and set it. Fly, and if needed, repeat. Using a leveling device may make this process a little more repeatable but more complicated and it's still fly and repeat. Don't over think it. Take your best guess, fly and repeat. And in most cases, the best setting will turn out to be nose up a few degrees. As has been said, probably more than you think. Once you find it, just leave it alone.

With my Formosa I had to adjust it 3-4 times, mostly up from where I started. Where it is works great! On landing I set 2D and cut the throttle. Guardian holds the glide straighter, slower, and smoother than I would have thought possible and the glide slope can be controlled with the throttle. With the nose up setting, why it doesn't stall baffles me but it works perfectly.
Old Oct 24, 2012, 04:59 PM
gritty is offline
Find More Posts by gritty
Registered User
Thanks guys. Got the level thing worked out: set my stab while on the bench to be a little up from what appears bubble level on the stab. Fly in any attitude and move the mode switch to 2D and plane flies level now.

Next thing, when I have the 2D active, the plane is fairly unresponsive to the transmitter control stick position: that is, I have to move the control stick all the way over and the plane responds lightly. With the 2D turned off, moving the control sticks has the plane acting quickly.

My 2D/3D unit has all its trim pots set at 30% and the transmitter master gain pot is set at mid point. Would this be the reason that the transmitter control sticks have little effect on causing the plane to change its direction?

Also, the Center Stick Box setting is disabled. Should I enable this control and set it to position 4 of 10? Disabled means what? Stick has to move full throw to move the plane (like having expo)?

What do you think?

Thank you,

gritty
Old Oct 24, 2012, 05:10 PM
DavidN is offline
Find More Posts by DavidN
Electric baptism 1975
DavidN's Avatar
Gritty enable center Stick Box. Leave at default or larger size for a few flights before adjusting.

My 2c
Old Oct 24, 2012, 06:27 PM
choochoo22 is offline
Find More Posts by choochoo22
Rick
Quote:
Originally Posted by gritty View Post
Next thing, when I have the 2D active, the plane is fairly unresponsive to the transmitter control stick position: that is, I have to move the control stick all the way over and the plane responds lightly. With the 2D turned off, moving the control sticks has the plane acting quickly.?
I think it depends on how you want the plane to behave. If you want Guardian to fly the plane while you guide it around, as you may want for a trainer or camera plane, then increasing the gains should make it more responsive. If you want to fly aerobatics or other aggressive maneuvers in 2D and just use stick center to return the plane to level, then enable center-stick. You will probably still want increased gain so I would try that first, also this can be done at the field.

Another possibility is the bank angle limits set in the software. If you are using the defaults increasing them won't likely help, but if you have set lower limits you might try setting them higher.

You haven't mentioned 3D. I think most people are using 3D for most flying as it gives a much more natural feel and allows full maneuverability, using 2D only for special situations. Have you tried it?
Old Oct 24, 2012, 06:37 PM
vs0587 is offline
Find More Posts by vs0587
Registered User
No more software/firmware update?
Old Oct 24, 2012, 07:24 PM
choochoo22 is offline
Find More Posts by choochoo22
Rick
Quote:
Originally Posted by gritty View Post
What do you think?
One more thought; Don't be afraid to try things. The most dangerous mistakes are having the plugs in wrong or the axis pots turned the wrong way, especially if you don't have an off switch these can be fatal. It sounds like you are past this. You have an off switch, you have remote gain. Don't be afraid to tweak the gains, the angle set, the trim set, etc. You won't break anything and it's fun to experiment. If you are nervous about it, take off with Guardian off, climb 3 mistakes high before activating and be ready to switch off immediately if things go sideways. Or activate with a low gain and slowly increase the gain while you monitor the behavior.
Old Oct 25, 2012, 01:56 PM
Barry2020 is offline
Find More Posts by Barry2020
Registered User

Optional Data Cable


Why the super high price for the data cable? $9.95 plus taxes and shipping is too high. The cable should be included with the device, even if not everone will use it.

A new data cable can be bought at newegg.com for under $2 with shipping.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...l%20RCAB-11016

I bought one and it works great.
Old Oct 25, 2012, 02:09 PM
Prof100 is offline
Find More Posts by Prof100
Registered User
Prof100's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry2020 View Post
Why the super high price for the data cable? $9.95 plus taxes and shipping is too high. The cable should be included with the device, even if not everone will use it.

A new data cable can be bought at newegg.com for under $2 with shipping.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...l%20RCAB-11016

I bought one and it works great.
That size cable is very, very common in the marketplace. If you have smart phone you most like have one or more. .

Why so much? It's probably because Eagletree doesn't want to be selling USB cables. It wants to sell Guardians, not computer peripherals.
Old Oct 25, 2012, 07:45 PM
Berkie is offline
Find More Posts by Berkie
Great Southern Land
Berkie's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry2020 View Post
Why the super high price for the data cable? $9.95 plus taxes and shipping is too high. The cable should be included with the device, even if not everone will use it.

A new data cable can be bought at newegg.com for under $2 with shipping.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...l%20RCAB-11016

I bought one and it works great.
This is common gouging. Its priced that way for
1. people that don't know it can be bought a lot cheaper elsewhere
2. people that are ordering a stabilizer, & need the cable but don't care about paying 5 times the price.

Kev
Old Oct 25, 2012, 07:51 PM
Berkie is offline
Find More Posts by Berkie
Great Southern Land
Berkie's Avatar

Guardian Service


Boy, their service is just about non existent

It took 2 weeks to get a tech. query answered and my reply to that is now three weeks old!
Old Oct 25, 2012, 08:08 PM
Prof100 is offline
Find More Posts by Prof100
Registered User
Prof100's Avatar
I have had no problems with 6 Guardians I have bought but two club members I fly with had problems and getting service was protracted and slow. Let's just say Eagletree is not on par with Horizon customer support (the gold standard).
Last edited by Prof100; Oct 26, 2012 at 06:34 AM.
Old Oct 25, 2012, 08:47 PM
Pigworthy is offline
Find More Posts by Pigworthy
Registered User
Just got my 1st Gaurdian in my Parkzone F4F Wildcat and flew today with about 15-20mph winds. What a difference. I would not have, or enjoyed, flying on a day like today, ecspecially on take off (hand launch) and landings. But that 2d mode works brilliantly, just throw it up and it just levels out and flies.

3d mode just makes it fly like it's a calm day (except for the model sliding in wind direction some). Line it up for a landing and switch it to 2d mode and just flare it out when needed. I even started to land it in a cross wind, it just kept it level right down to the ground.

Worth every penny.
Old Oct 26, 2012, 05:28 AM
Berkie is offline
Find More Posts by Berkie
Great Southern Land
Berkie's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof100 View Post
I have had no problems with 6 Guardians I have bought but two club members I fly with had problems and getting service was protracted and slow. Let's just sayd the Eagletree is not on par with Horizon customer support (the gold standard).

I would say waaaaaaaaaaay below par!

Kev
Old Oct 26, 2012, 05:30 AM
Berkie is offline
Find More Posts by Berkie
Great Southern Land
Berkie's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pigworthy View Post
Just got my 1st Gaurdian in my Parkzone F4F Wildcat and flew today with about 15-20mph winds. What a difference. I would not have, or enjoyed, flying on a day like today, ecspecially on take off (hand launch) and landings. But that 2d mode works brilliantly, just throw it up and it just levels out and flies.

3d mode just makes it fly like it's a calm day (except for the model sliding in wind direction some). Line it up for a landing and switch it to 2d mode and just flare it out when needed. I even started to land it in a cross wind, it just kept it level right down to the ground.

Worth every penny.
Great to hear.
Thanks for sharing

Kev


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Can I control Guardian stabilizer with DX6i? njwxyz Eagle Tree Systems 9 Jun 02, 2014 01:17 PM
Discussion GPS 2D Plots incomplete, 3D OK jackerbes Eagle Tree Systems 1 Oct 23, 2011 10:42 PM
Discussion Premier 1st generation, Gen 2 Vector unit, 2D or 3D motor unit lanternfly RC Paragliders and Kites 0 Oct 05, 2011 10:42 PM
Data 2d or 3d wing ribs? Marty7n Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 56 Sep 22, 2011 05:06 PM
Discussion 3View to 3D to 2d techasist CAD/CAM 0 Mar 27, 2011 01:19 AM