Thread Tools
Old Feb 15, 2012, 12:37 AM
Micheal81 is offline
Find More Posts by Micheal81
Registered User
Question

Slowing Down a Servo


I'm adding flaps to my Parkzone T-28. I'm going to use the Ch 5 switch on my DX5e. I know something like a DX6 would probably be better.

I saw a video where someone used some kind of servo rate reducer to slow down the flap servos. Does anyone here have experience with these? Which would be a good one to get? Will it work fine with the DX5?

Thank you for the help.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 15, 2012, 01:30 AM
Herman Munster is offline
Find More Posts by Herman Munster
Registered User
Herman Munster's Avatar
Here ya go, last item on the page, the servo go slow. It also can reverse one servo so it might suit both your needs in one unit. I am using this on an aircraft to control the flaps. It's a nice unit, you can control both the deploy speedc and the retract speed independently.

http://www.emsjomar.com/SearchResult.aspx?CategoryID=6

Just noticed, you have to go to page 2, then the item at the bottom
Old Feb 15, 2012, 04:08 AM
H2SO4 is online now
Find More Posts by H2SO4
christian theme park operator
H2SO4's Avatar
Here's a similar unit to consider:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...Regulator.html

Just by the way, a DX6i can't do "servo slow".

DX8 does have that functionality. I don't know about the DX7s.
Old Feb 15, 2012, 04:27 AM
npowell28 is offline
Find More Posts by npowell28
Registered User
So do you have to have a certain type of transmitter before you can use a servo slow down unit???? I only ask because i wanted to get one for retracts.
Old Feb 15, 2012, 04:32 AM
H2SO4 is online now
Find More Posts by H2SO4
christian theme park operator
H2SO4's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by npowell28 View Post
So do you have to have a certain type of transmitter before you can use a servo slow down unit???? I only ask because i wanted to get one for retracts.
You only need the external gizmo if your Tx doesn't have "servo slow" functionality built in.

To get back to the DX6i example, the flaps and gear channels are instant on/off. There's nothing that can be done within the Tx's programming to delay the deployment time to say 3 seconds, and use of those external units - placed in the plane, between the Rx and the relevant servo(s) - is one way to compensate for the Tx's lack of functionality in this area.

A DX8 can delay servo travel according to configured parameters. The Tx itself will slow flaps/gear/whatever deployment by any value up to 15 or 30 seconds (I forget which). The external unit is not needed at all.
Old Feb 15, 2012, 05:12 AM
eflightray is offline
Find More Posts by eflightray
An itch?. Scratch build.
eflightray's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by npowell28 View Post
So do you have to have a certain type of transmitter before you can use a servo slow down unit???? I only ask because i wanted to get one for retracts.
No, you can use any Tx with a separate servo slow device. BUT, servo slow devices only work with standard servos not retract servos.

On my Spit I have used a standard heavy duty servo, (not a retract one), and a Turnigy servo slow.

Here's a link to one - Turnigy 3 Channel Servo Speed/Direction Regulator

If you already have a retract servo, sorry they cannot be slowed.
Old Feb 15, 2012, 12:47 PM
Micheal81 is offline
Find More Posts by Micheal81
Registered User
Thanks for the responses. I believe I'll be getting one for the T-28 flaps. What type of plug do I need. Is it the Futaba J, or JR/Hitec/Z? I think I need the JR/Hitec/Z plug.
Old Feb 15, 2012, 01:26 PM
Glacier Girl is offline
Find More Posts by Glacier Girl
Kamikaze Ace
Glacier Girl's Avatar
Only difference in the plug ends is the Futaba has a locator tab on it, so you can only plug it in one way. If you have a JR/Spektrum rx, you just trim off the tab with a razor blade.

Note: if you go with the Hobby King one, you will need one lead with female plugs on both ends, to connect it to your rx.
Old Feb 15, 2012, 01:41 PM
jasmine2501 is offline
Find More Posts by jasmine2501
Rocket Programmer
jasmine2501's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike81 View Post
Thanks for the responses. I believe I'll be getting one for the T-28 flaps. What type of plug do I need. Is it the Futaba J, or JR/Hitec/Z? I think I need the JR/Hitec/Z plug.
Is this for a Parkzone T-28? It doesn't need flaps... dropping the flaps on it will really screw it up. I would suggest getting a better radio anyway if you want to do this kind of thing... I don't even think you can actually do flaps on a T-28 with your radio... how are you going to make both servos go the same way? They are programmed to go in opposite directions and you can't change that.

The DX8 and JR9503 support slow servo movement... if you are wanting to do things like flaps on your planes, you need a radio like that. To sum up... flaps won't do anything worthwhile on your plane, you can't do it with your radio anyway, and a servo-slowdown device mounted to your aileron servo would ALWAYS slow it down, and that would be bad. If you are planning to add two new surfaces and use that for flaps, you still have a problem... you will have to do it with one servo. You need a better radio - there isn't really much of a way around that.
Old Feb 15, 2012, 01:48 PM
Mikey 68 is offline
Find More Posts by Mikey 68
Registered User
Yes you can use 2 servos. Theres 3 ways to use 2 servos. 1 is you can buy a reversing servo or 2 you can flip the servo so its facing the same direction like the other one or 3 use a reversing Y connector. That dx 5 has a switch for flaps.

This would be the thing to get because it reverses the servo and slows it down
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...Regulator.html
Old Feb 15, 2012, 01:50 PM
Mikey 68 is offline
Find More Posts by Mikey 68
Registered User
The DX7s also has servo slow down. Flaps are fun on any airplane
Old Feb 15, 2012, 01:55 PM
eflightray is offline
Find More Posts by eflightray
An itch?. Scratch build.
eflightray's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by twiztidbowler View Post
The DX7s also has servo slow down. Flaps are fun on any airplane
Are you sure ?, my Dx7 doesn't.
Old Feb 15, 2012, 01:58 PM
Mikey 68 is offline
Find More Posts by Mikey 68
Registered User
Or you can take a normal servo and reverse it your self
http://web.archive.org/web/200708300...oReversing.pdf
Old Feb 15, 2012, 02:22 PM
jasmine2501 is offline
Find More Posts by jasmine2501
Rocket Programmer
jasmine2501's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by eflightray View Post
Are you sure ?, my Dx7 doesn't.
The DX7S is a new radio. The old DX7 didn't have this feature. I believe the DX5 "gear" channel is non-adjustable... so, if you use it for flaps, you're going to have to use it with a separate servo and surface than the ailerons, and you're not going to be able to fine-tune the travel, so your mechanical setup might be more tricky. With a DX6i or better, your ailerons can be the flaps and you can adjust everything so it works exactly like you want.
Old Feb 15, 2012, 02:44 PM
Mikey 68 is offline
Find More Posts by Mikey 68
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by eflightray View Post
Are you sure ?, my Dx7 doesn't.
DX7s not DX7


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Slowing Down Electric Retracts jptonks Radios 1 Jan 07, 2012 05:11 PM
Discussion Problem with P40- Engine slowing down at full throttle thercguru Power Systems 21 Sep 18, 2011 05:21 PM
Discussion Slowing down servo's? primer Electric Heli Talk 9 Dec 24, 2009 08:01 AM