Feb 09, 2012, 06:57 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Possible Semi-Kit??

First my Bona Fides!
I'm a semi-retired USAF Tech Sergeant with a background in digital electronics and computer systems. I built my first U-control model around '65 or so, and my first RC system was a Kraft 4 channel single-stick in a Sterling Mambo Special with a Veco .19. I have been there.
I've always had a soft spot between my ears for the early X-Planes. I'm planning a Douglas D558-1 for a 70mm fan. It'll be about four feet long & less than three feet span. Material will be pink foam, and the outlines will be from NASA-Dryden drawings.
What I'd like to know is this: Does anybody out there think there would be a market for a semi-kit of this bird? It would contain foam wings, fuselage, and tail, but no hardware. (Everybody has their own favorite hinges, horns, wheels, retracts, etc...)
I'm asking the question because I've got to decide on tooling materials for cutting the foam.

What does anyone think?
to remove ads between posts
Feb 09, 2012, 08:07 PM
It wasn't me...
There's only one way to find out. Build one.

As they say, the proof of the pudding is in the tasting...
Feb 09, 2012, 10:38 PM
I have a couple different set of plans for the 558 and plan on building one some day. Foam is not my thing but a good set of cores might sway me.
Feb 11, 2012, 12:27 PM
Need 4 Speed!
Rutaba,
I always liked this airframe!.
Last edited by pdawg; Feb 11, 2012 at 12:43 PM.
Feb 13, 2012, 07:27 AM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rutabaga
First my Bona Fides!
I'm a semi-retired USAF Tech Sergeant with a background in digital electronics and computer systems. I built my first U-control model around '65 or so, and my first RC system was a Kraft 4 channel single-stick in a Sterling Mambo Special with a Veco .19. I have been there.