Thread Tools
Old Mar 01, 2012, 09:14 PM
quadracer is offline
Find More Posts by quadracer
No, I won't ship it. Don't ask
quadracer's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by pvogel View Post
Quite simply, increasing voltage and keeping the same basic power means that you decrease amp draw. Since increasing current increases resistance decreasing current decreases resistance and so you wind up with a more efficient power system. Yes, it'll be heavier, but you'll also decrease your current draw by 25% or so -- sticking with 2200 mAh you'll extend your flight time by about 25%, you could also drop to a smaller pack (say, 1800mAh) and perhaps come in at nearly the same weight as the 3S 2200 pack resulting in the same or slightly longer flight times as you were getting with the 3S setup.

Peter+
Resistance is constant in a DC circuit, no? I think I understand what you mean though. I'm kinda embarassed I don't know this stuff. (I'm an electrician, but we very rarely deal with batteries and their ratings.)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bigster View Post
What plane, and what type of flying? If you're into 3D, you may benefit more from a bigger prop (more prop wash) than you would with 4S.

A rule of thumb I heard was that when you hit about 5x the voltage in amps, it's time to add a cell.

Edit: I see it's probably the 48" Edge
Yeah, it's a $1.5.

I plan to do 3D with it, and I do a bit already, if 15-20 second hovers and harriers count. The wind hasn't been cooperative for any flatspins or the like, so I haven't been doing too much in that category.

I see myself possibly getting something in the 60" range in the near future, thus my curiosity about the 4S swap. It would be nice to have everything running on the same pack.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 01, 2012, 09:22 PM
FireyFate is offline
Find More Posts by FireyFate
Registered User
FireyFate's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by quadracer View Post
Resistance is constant in a DC circuit, no? I think I understand what you mean though. I'm kinda embarassed I don't know this stuff. (I'm an electrician, but we very rarely deal with batteries and their ratings.)

Yeah, it's a $1.5.

I plan to do 3D with it, and I do a bit already, if 15-20 second hovers and harriers count. The wind hasn't been cooperative for any flatspins or the like, so I haven't been doing too much in that category.

I see myself possibly getting something in the 60" range in the near future, thus my curiosity about the 4S swap. It would be nice to have everything running on the same pack.
60" range is generally a 4s 3300mah at minimum... that would be pretty heavy packs for a 48" Edge. I guess you could run two smaller packs in parallel on the bigger bird. Too much trouble VS savings IMO.
Old Mar 01, 2012, 09:28 PM
quadracer is offline
Find More Posts by quadracer
No, I won't ship it. Don't ask
quadracer's Avatar
Yeah, I just looked at a 58 Edge, and the bottom is a 3700 mAh 4S. I thought it was a little lower than that. Guess I'd just as well go 70+ and run two 4S series....
Old Mar 01, 2012, 10:46 PM
FireyFate is offline
Find More Posts by FireyFate
Registered User
FireyFate's Avatar
Now THAT is more like it! 74" Edge is one of the baddest ass looking planes ever... it was gonna be my next had I not scored an 87.
Old Mar 01, 2012, 10:48 PM
keninvic is offline
Find More Posts by keninvic
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ace4 View Post
Any of those connectors will work just fine. EC5 will be overkill in terms of size. Deans Ultra can be annoying to solder if you haven't used them before. Personally I use XT60 for that size, however that is because I had a lot of packs that came with those. If you don't want to solder, look into Anderson Powerpoles, I would go that route if I was starting out now. A lot of folks (including me) have had good luck with Gens Ace batteries from hobbypartz.com, you could also look into Haiyin batteries.
What kind and size of connectors will I need for the Hacker A30-12XL to ESC.
(thanks)
Old Mar 01, 2012, 10:52 PM
quadracer is offline
Find More Posts by quadracer
No, I won't ship it. Don't ask
quadracer's Avatar
Just swapped in an E-flite servo from my heli. Not the greatest, I'm sure, but it feels alot better already. The Hextronik servo felt like a ratchet when I moved it by hand....

Much Much Much smoother control, and I also made the arm a tad longer, so it will now throw a full 45 degrees. Waiting for the epoxy to dry, then I'll trim it up and hope for some decent weather tomorrow.
Old Mar 02, 2012, 01:23 AM
lammbn is offline
Find More Posts by lammbn
Hooked on 3DHS
lammbn's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by quadracer View Post
Yeah, I just looked at a 58 Edge, and the bottom is a 3700 mAh 4S. I thought it was a little lower than that. Guess I'd just as well go 70+ and run two 4S series....
or you can get more 3s 2200's and run two of them in series for the 58 like me and a few others do. its a great way to go. i have 12 of these packs to keep the 48, 57, and 58 in the air. 7X planes get 6s 5000 packs so one day i can double them up for an 50cc bird. i would avoid going up a cell and dropping the prop size unless you are running a 15" or 16" prop. my 48 loves the 14x7 on 3s. running a motrolfly though.
Old Mar 02, 2012, 02:21 AM
quadracer is offline
Find More Posts by quadracer
No, I won't ship it. Don't ask
quadracer's Avatar
I run the 14 x 7 as well, and I guess my Edge loves it too, but I don't have anything to compare it to. I may end up going the series route when/if I go bigger.

Thanks again for the input guys.
Old Mar 02, 2012, 05:40 AM
rimaarts is offline
Find More Posts by rimaarts
Registered User
woooh... finally made a decision to migrate to power poles... (hate soldering, cant do anything about it! ) now im scratching my head, will 30A powerpoles be enough for 4000 25c 4s batteries? (for extra 57...) since i read that 30 and 45 uses just different housing... or i'd be better emailing them and swapping out to bigger powerpoles? and what about paraboard? is the only way to get 6 adapters?
Old Mar 02, 2012, 06:30 AM
dataylor57 is offline
Find More Posts by dataylor57
♫ Learning to fly ♫
dataylor57's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimaarts View Post
and what about paraboard? is the only way to get 6 adapters?
I set one of these up with powerpoles to use with a paraboard
Old Mar 02, 2012, 06:55 AM
aronph is offline
Find More Posts by aronph
TEAM HILLBILLY
aronph's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimaarts View Post
woooh... finally made a decision to migrate to power poles... (hate soldering, cant do anything about it! ) now im scratching my head, will 30A powerpoles be enough for 4000 25c 4s batteries? (for extra 57...) since i read that 30 and 45 uses just different housing... or i'd be better emailing them and swapping out to bigger powerpoles? and what about paraboard? is the only way to get 6 adapters?
Quote:
Originally Posted by dataylor57 View Post
I set one of these up with powerpoles to use with a paraboard
progressive rc has the six ended squid cables with the 45A PP's allready on them
http://www.progressiverc.com/paralle...rge-cable.html
Old Mar 02, 2012, 06:59 AM
rimaarts is offline
Find More Posts by rimaarts
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by aronph View Post
progressive rc has the six ended squid cables with the 45A PP's allready on them
http://www.progressiverc.com/paralle...rge-cable.html
that cable looks nice.. but how about balancing?

oh, nvm, i watched video... but does it really makes no difference wich balancing plug goes into wich balance cable?? i was all the time thinking that has meaning...
Old Mar 02, 2012, 08:19 AM
cmala is offline
Find More Posts by cmala
customstandoffs
cmala's Avatar
45Amp power poles for everything. If the wire is too big to fit then go to 75Amp or direct solder (or remove some wire strands depending on application), if the wire is too small to get a good crimp double it back on itself.

That's what I do anyway
Old Mar 02, 2012, 09:00 AM
rimaarts is offline
Find More Posts by rimaarts
Registered User
he...thanks! i already sent them email to add 10 45a powerpoles...
Old Mar 02, 2012, 09:03 AM
aronph is offline
Find More Posts by aronph
TEAM HILLBILLY
aronph's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimaarts View Post
that cable looks nice.. but how about balancing?

oh, nvm, i watched video... but does it really makes no difference wich balancing plug goes into wich balance cable?? i was all the time thinking that has meaning...
use the paraboard for balancing....the parallel balance cables that progressive has are junk....they will fall apart in your hand but the discharge balance harnesses are sweet....i use the PP squid then plug the balance leads into the paraboard


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Unofficial NQD Tear Into Jet Boat Mod Thread Energy Racing Boats - Electric 15188 Dec 02, 2016 08:15 PM
Discussion Banana Hobby Customer Support Request/Q and A Thread! banana hobby Banana Hobby 1168 Nov 30, 2016 01:46 PM
Discussion The Official AirWare Q&A Thread AndyKunz Radios 95 Feb 14, 2013 09:36 AM
Discussion THE FIRST UNOFFICIAL Parkzone Sukhoi mods thread!!!! bluemeane Micro Ready-to-Fly 27 Aug 18, 2009 12:23 AM
Megatech H2O unofficial thread and first rewiew. grk65 Racing Boats - Electric 7 Mar 05, 2007 01:09 AM