Feb 07, 2012, 02:55 AM
Thread OP
Question

Should I convert this to a surface drive or start on a new hull?

Hi, newbie here. Been lurking for the last month. Over the NY break I lashed out and bought the small Seaking 20mm 4800kV motor and 60A ESC to 'upgrade' an old catermaran I designed and built over 20 years ago (I was about 16!). I didn't copy any design at the time but I guess it looks more like a ferry. I only ever used it twice with an old brushed motor at the time.

Over the last 6 weeks I've made a stack of modifications including several to the bow profile. I've been amazed at how much difference small changes have made and reasonably impressed that it performs as well as it does - it's stable and turns well. Anyway, I've now got the speed bug - at a guess it's probably only managing 25kmph. So lot's of reading on this forum and it would appear that I'm running surface piercing prop 'fully submerged' and a little too large for the motor (Octura Y534). Currently only running 1500mAh Ni-cads.

Attached are some photos, my question to the experts here (before I go buy some Li-Po's) should I convert it to a surface drive or start building a new hull? Do you think this design would handle say 50kmph or become very unstable (roll over) in corners? All up the boat is about 45cm in length. I'll try and get some video of the boat in action.
to remove ads between posts
Feb 07, 2012, 07:09 AM
Boaters are nice people.
Hi Rhizome,

My first impression was that your boat looks like a baitboat, designed to cut through the water instead of a planing hull.

In order to reach 50 km/h, you'll need a completely different type of hull.
If you do a search, you'll find a number of designs / plans, on which you can base your fast electric.
The MaxCat is a good design, which existst in several versions:
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1279885

Changing the existing boat to reach 50 km/h would require major surgery...

Regards, Jan.
Feb 07, 2012, 07:46 AM
Thread OP