Thread Tools
Old Jan 11, 2013, 06:16 PM
grimbeaver is offline
Find More Posts by grimbeaver
Registered User
Simon have you given any thought to an S.Bus output option yet? Be curious to know how well it's protected by patents. Though OrangeRx seems to be getting away with using it if it is.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 12, 2013, 05:38 PM
jtaylor996 is offline
Find More Posts by jtaylor996
Registered Crasher
Simon, I just got a my laptop back up and running with Realflight. I put the 1k resistor as advised on my little adapter, and it works great! I'll be doing a little write up (likely on the A9 thread) shortly.

Thanks a lot!
Old Jan 12, 2013, 07:25 PM
SimonChambers is offline
Find More Posts by SimonChambers
Radio? Screwdriver!
Quote:
Originally Posted by grimbeaver View Post
Simon have you given any thought to an S.Bus output option yet? Be curious to know how well it's protected by patents. Though OrangeRx seems to be getting away with using it if it is.
SBus something I've been thinking about. I reckon the hardware could possibly do it, but need to check. SBus uses a standard serial data stream but at a unusual baud (data) rate. I also need to get some SBus kit to test with! The only problem I'm running close to is storage space, as quite a lot is going on in that chip.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jtaylor996 View Post
Simon, I just got a my laptop back up and running with Realflight. I put the 1k resistor as advised on my little adapter, and it works great! I'll be doing a little write up (likely on the A9 thread) shortly.

Thanks a lot!
Great to hear. Have fun!

Si.
Old Jan 16, 2013, 10:52 AM
renatoa is online now
Find More Posts by renatoa
Registered User
How can someone match S-Bus with Hitec...

I had this discussion with Eva, to evaluate replacement of CPPM with S-Bus on D8R receivers, and seems not possible due to hardware limitations.
The new future coming S-Bus Frsky ACCST receivers will have a different processor for this task.
Old Jan 16, 2013, 11:13 AM
Rotozuk is offline
Find More Posts by Rotozuk
Rotozuk's Avatar
How different is S.Bus from CPPM?

Playing with some of the new S.Bus items from FrSky. Will be on the site later today. (decoder and channel changer)

-Wayne
Site Sponsor
Old Jan 16, 2013, 11:26 AM
renatoa is online now
Find More Posts by renatoa
Registered User
CPPM is an analog signal, even if it looks digital, the information is in a pulse width, which is an analog information. It is produced using a timer and an I/O line.
S-Bus is digital, on that wire travel numbers, 12 bit every channel/servo info, and those numbers tells the channel value to any device is listening on that wire and decode that stream. It is produced using an UART, a chunk of hardware that some processor have inside only one, others have 2-3 such UARTs. Because D8R possible only UART is already busy with telemetry, this could be a reason why S-Bus is not possible with that platform.
Old Jan 16, 2013, 11:42 AM
Rotozuk is offline
Find More Posts by Rotozuk
Rotozuk's Avatar
Thank you sir!
Site Sponsor
Old Jan 16, 2013, 01:13 PM
SimonChambers is offline
Find More Posts by SimonChambers
Radio? Screwdriver!
Quote:
Originally Posted by renatoa View Post
How can someone match S-Bus with Hitec...
Why not?
Old Jan 20, 2013, 04:27 AM
renatoa is online now
Find More Posts by renatoa
Registered User
Sure, why not... mind too screwed around S-Bus = Futaba equation, which is not exclusive, actually.

Still the question, does the current Frsky receivers have the required outputs to issue S-Bus ? Probably not with telemetry...
Old Jan 20, 2013, 03:06 PM
SimonChambers is offline
Find More Posts by SimonChambers
Radio? Screwdriver!
Quote:
Originally Posted by renatoa View Post
Sure, why not... mind too screwed around S-Bus = Futaba equation, which is not exclusive, actually.

Still the question, does the current Frsky receivers have the required outputs to issue S-Bus ? Probably not with telemetry...
AFAIK, S-Bus is 100'000baud with 2 stop bits and even parity.

Looking through the cc2510 datasheet (as used on the V8R-II), it can be setup to do:
- With the registers BAUD_M set to 248 and BAUD_E to 11, it'll spit out at 99976baud - giving a 0.024% error rate (pretty near enough). (p151-p152)
- even parity (p155)
- 2 stop bits (p155)

Pins wise, the UART is exposed on Servo connector 4 and 5 (UART0 and UART1 respectively) - so providing the RC filter doesn't cause problems (I'd have to check the values), it should be possible to output. Alternatively a separate connector could be added by FrSky to a spare UART pin to expose it through that.

The only other limiting factor is having enough clock cycles spare to fill the RAM and set off the DMA to output it.

So yes, it looks like it could be possible, just requires a bit of work and thinking!

Si.
Old Jan 26, 2013, 05:52 PM
FoamAddict4Life is offline
Find More Posts by FoamAddict4Life
Registered User
I'm having trouble getting my 5 channel minima compatible rx to bind to my Aurora 9. I am keeping the rx and tx about 3 feet apart when binding.
The process I am doing is

1. Jumper on rx connected to channels 1 and 5

2. Tx module at version 3.01 according to the hpp-22. Blue light is flashing on module

3. When power is connected to rx in channel 4 the light flashes green so fast it appears solid.

4. power is disconnected to rx and tx and jumper removed from rx

5. power reconnected tx module has solid red light (I think this is my problem but I can't get it solid blue??)

6. Power connected to rx and it has a solid red light and servos do not respond properly (they move very slow, and do not centre)

Any Ideas?

Thanks in Advance :-)
Old Jan 26, 2013, 07:43 PM
stevo0476 is offline
Find More Posts by stevo0476
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by FoamAddict4Life View Post
3. When power is connected to rx in channel 4 the light flashes green so fast it appears solid.

4. power is disconnected to rx and tx and jumper removed from rx

5. power reconnected tx module has solid red light (I think this is my problem but I can't get it solid blue??)

6. Power connected to rx and it has a solid red light and servos do not respond properly (they move very slow, and do not centre)
3 . That is normal (the Rx is binded to the TX module)

5. In a Hitec kind of way that is normal too (It's ment to be solid red, even if, in bind mode, the blue LED on the module is flashing, It's a bit confusing.....)

6. Seems like the Rx binds properly and also works acordingly, could be a faulty battery or a BEC that is not up to the task.

Steve
Last edited by stevo0476; Jan 26, 2013 at 07:48 PM.
Old Jan 26, 2013, 08:41 PM
Justapoke is offline
Find More Posts by Justapoke
aRCee Moron [YT]
Justapoke's Avatar
Move transmitter away from the reciever, run the motor for a few seconds (unmount the prop) and it should be ok.
Old Feb 07, 2013, 09:55 PM
Bigster is offline
Find More Posts by Bigster
Well, now that you know ...
Bigster's Avatar
I purchased both a 5 channel and 8 channel receiver from Altitude. I had no problem binding and using the 5 channel, but I'll be darned if I can get the 8 channel version to bind. I followed the instructions, and what foamaddict4life listed above with similar results, but in my case a servo on channel 1 or motor/esc on 3 don't respond at all. When bound, I get no beep from the Aurora (don't recall if the 5 channel made it beep when it connected like Hitec receivers), solid red light on the Spectra module and solid red (and green?) LED on the receiver.

Any ideas? I've tried different ESCs and batteries to power the receiver, and tried it with the transmitter across the room. No luck.
Old Feb 07, 2013, 10:20 PM
karl k is offline
Find More Posts by karl k
Yes, "that" Karl...
karl k's Avatar
Is the A9 module for sure in Minima mode when you try to bind?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Hitec 2.4GHz compatible receivers G_Wright Radios 1 May 09, 2011 07:02 PM
Sold OrangeRX Orange RX Spektrum 2.4GHz DSM2/X compatible receiver lrplin Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 2 Apr 18, 2011 01:07 PM
Discussion OrangeRx Futaba FASST Compatible 8Ch 2.4Ghz Receiver WSWitby Electric Plane Talk 2 Apr 05, 2011 08:30 AM
Sold OrangeRX Orange RX Spektrum 2.4GHz DSM2/X compatible receiver lrplin Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 5 Mar 30, 2011 06:35 PM
Sold OrangeRX Orange RX Spektrum 2.4GHz DSM2/X compatible receiver lrplin Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Mar 28, 2011 04:38 PM