Spektrum DX18 - Page 298 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Jan 19, 2013, 09:56 PM
Happy Habu Hustler
Quote:
Originally Posted by freechip
Rolling the selector is very easy and won't cause a crash. You looking at the monitor screen now thats another thing.
+1

I do this very rarely.

When I do the airplane is straight and level passing in front of me, and I hold my transmitter up and follow the airplane with it, so i can "just glance" at the transmitter then back to the airplane.

When I do this, which is rarely, I'm looking for one specific piece of information off the screen, and I know where to look on the screen to get it. I'm not scanning the screen.

Did I mention I do this only rarely?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jan 19, 2013, 10:13 PM
Always trying to learn
mejmea's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinrc
+1

I do this very rarely.

When I do the airplane is straight and level passing in front of me, and I hold my transmitter up and follow the airplane with it, so i can "just glance" at the transmitter then back to the airplane.

When I do this, which is rarely, I'm looking for one specific piece of information off the screen, and I know where to look on the screen to get it. I'm not scanning the screen.

Did I mention I do this only rarely?
I hope you only do this rarely, it sounds risky.......
Jan 20, 2013, 02:40 PM
Registered User
Helicopter is easier. Put it into hover, have a look, continue. Or ask your wingman to check the telemetry
Jan 21, 2013, 11:24 AM
Registered User
or a Multicopter (Quad, Hexa, Octo) with GPS Put it into Hover and have a look or get some cool beer on Summer
Jan 23, 2013, 12:10 AM
Registered User
RC_Feen's Avatar

DX8 & DX18 Model transfer


SO just to be clear...I'm looking to upgrade from a DX7 to a DX8 or DX18. In the event that I went DX8, when/if the time came I upgraded to a DX18 I could NOT transfer my models from the DX8 (via SD card to the DX18) because the format that the information is flashed/saved to the SD card is different between the DX8 & the DX18? Is this true?
Jan 23, 2013, 12:23 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC_Feen
SO just to be clear...I'm looking to upgrade from a DX7 to a DX8 or DX18. In the event that I went DX8, when/if the time came I upgraded to a DX18 I could NOT transfer my models from the DX8 (via SD card to the DX18) because the format that the information is flashed/saved to the SD card is different between the DX8 & the DX18? Is this true?
As a direct file swap from DX8 to DX18 that would be true.Once you have the hang of how the DX8 menus and programming work its not a huge monumental task to run through the menus and punch the settings in from one to the other.They both basically operate very similar.Possibly slight trim differences but very close if not the same.
Jan 23, 2013, 02:42 AM
Registered User
topgearuk's Avatar
I heard a rumour yesterday(from a pretty reliable source) that there is a new 18 coming out!! Maybe just a hardware upgrade... With-in the next few weeks... I'm guessing it will be announced in Nuremberg.
Jan 23, 2013, 05:00 AM
Registered User
struggleforlife's Avatar
... that would be a bummer for all those poor guys investing in the QQ.
But other than that, it would be logical (ref the discussion about the telemetry, usb etc).

EDIT: oh, wait, that will be the DX18SFL that Andy was talking about!
Jan 23, 2013, 06:35 AM
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
Your source probably ment to say new DX18 update, hasn't one been released for the DX10t?

Could be the new DX18FC
Jan 23, 2013, 08:29 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by struggleforlife
... that would be a bummer for all those poor guys investing in the QQ.
But other than that, it would be logical (ref the discussion about the telemetry, usb etc).

EDIT: oh, wait, that will be the DX18SFL that Andy was talking about!
No, not that, because then I'd have to work on that telemetry app you wanted and I promised as soon as the DX18SFL ships.

Andy
Jan 23, 2013, 08:52 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC_Feen
SO just to be clear...I'm looking to upgrade from a DX7 to a DX8 or DX18. In the event that I went DX8, when/if the time came I upgraded to a DX18 I could NOT transfer my models from the DX8 (via SD card to the DX18) because the format that the information is flashed/saved to the SD card is different between the DX8 & the DX18? Is this true?
That is true. We do not have a tool to transfer them. Fortunately most of the numbers come directly across, so you can copy from one to the other pretty easily.

Andy
Jan 23, 2013, 08:55 AM
jrb
jrb
Member
jrb's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz

No, not that, because then I'd have to work on that telemetry app you wanted and I promised as soon as the DX18SFL ships.

Andy

Andy

Ugh -- I thought I was reading a bunch of joking around a few days ago; is this something for real?
Jan 23, 2013, 09:22 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Not true, just kidding amongst ourselves. topgearuk started it, we're just running it in circles

Andy
Jan 23, 2013, 09:53 AM
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrb
Ugh -- I thought I was reading a bunch of joking around a few days ago; is this something for real?
DX18FC stands for DX18 FreeChip - it comes with buit in programmer.
Jan 23, 2013, 09:59 AM
Registered User
struggleforlife's Avatar
topgear! we need more info! hahahaha.
Call your source, meet in some shady parking lot, and let him spill his guts!


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Spektrum DSM2 and the Nats - Question for Spektrum/JR users aeajr Sailplane Talk 25 May 29, 2012 04:14 PM
Sold Spektrum DX6 6-channel System with Spektrum AR6000 Receiver $50 shooboy Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 6 Dec 20, 2011 06:12 PM
Sold Spektrum DX6 6-channel System with Spektrum AR6000 Receiver $50 shooboy Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 4 Dec 14, 2011 08:30 PM
For Sale Spektrum & JR 2.4 Ghz DSM2 receivers for sale I have a sailplane sized Spektrum AR93 zaptherio Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Nov 15, 2011 06:14 PM
Sold SPEKTRUM DX6i DSMX with Spektrum Ni-cads and charger- like new condition shooboy Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 6 Oct 19, 2011 05:59 AM