Spektrum DX18 - Page 145 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Jul 02, 2012, 05:02 PM
Registered User
Gordon's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz
You need the remote receivers. We make sailplane-specific receivers like the AR6255 that are intended for close quarters.

Andy
Hi Andy

By "close quarters" do you mean skinny-fuselage installations with no room for remotes, or close-in (ie short range) flying?

My normal understanding of what you wrote would be the latter, but of course I'm hoping that you meant the former, as I have two of these AR6255 Rx's in 2.5m slope soarers. I bought the 6255s because the spec on the Horizon UK website says that they're full range Rx's. http://www.horizonhobby.co.uk/aeroon...ceiversP2.html

And I really need them to be full range when flying the models from cliff-edge sites over the ocean!!

Sorry for the dumb question, but you know what George Bernard Shaw said about England and America - two countries divided by a common language!

Gordon
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jul 02, 2012, 05:13 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
The former, since in context the OP was complaining about lack of room (close quarters) in his model.

In a 2.5m sloper you aren't concerned for weight - why don't you use an AR9310? That's exactly the intended application.

Andy
Jul 02, 2012, 05:14 PM
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
Tight space, no extra room.
Jul 02, 2012, 07:01 PM
Detail Freak
target's Avatar
The AR7610/AR7600 or AR8000's fit well in F3F/B fuses as well, and I can speak from experience and in confidence recommending them.
They use a single satellite each and work well.
I normally put the main Rx antenna forward on the bottom of the fuse under the battery, and the satellite behind the fuse servos.
My blog has a LOT of build pics of installs.

R,
Target
Jul 02, 2012, 10:52 PM
Registered User
Westranm's Avatar

Screen Glitches


Quote:
Originally Posted by davidmc36
Checked mine and at 7.7 volts it is rock solid. When I first got the radio I played around with it until the battery went to warning. I was in and out of the servo setup screen and am sure I would have noticed anything dramatic like your video shows.
Thanks for the info. That gives me some hope that I can get my radio fixed through Horizon.

As it turns out, I think the technician that worked on my DX18 may be wrong about this issue being driven by battery voltage. The battery was low when I retrieved the UPS box, BUT the entire transmitter was warm from sitting outside in the summer heat (in desert shade)...that got me to thinking.

So, through some experimentation yesterday, I found that the temperature of the DX18 has a DRAMATIC impact on the screen glitching. At a voltage of 8.0, I left my DX18 in the shade outdoors to get to get to 100F per my infrared thermometer. This resulted in glitching that was worse than my posted video (servo screen was ridiculous). Then, I cooled it in the fridge to 65 degrees (not low enough for condensation here). The glitches 100% disappeared on the servo screen and showed very slightly on the main screen.

To anyone else who is inspecting a DX18 for this issue, please ensure you have your radio on for a few minutes to warm up. At room temperature, if the radio is on for less than a minute or two, you may not notice it.

Thanks!

-Randy
Jul 02, 2012, 11:01 PM
Registered User
Westranm's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by freechip
Anyway the video can be posted in a way that's easier for others to view.
I'm willing to do that...what would be easier?

-Randy
Jul 02, 2012, 11:13 PM
Registered User
Westranm's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mukenukem
I have them, too. Not too dramatic, but noticeable. No reason to send my radio in, unless there is a fix for it. Okay for a radio in this price segment ? Nope.
I can also notice some waves running through the screen when I dim the backlight. Also no big deal (since I use the backlight mostly on 100%), but annoying.
Maybe it is dependent on the region (mine is an European) ? And US do not have this problem ?
At least the RF link works better than the DX8 in the beginning.....
Mine is a US model purchased at a local hobby shop. I invested in the DX18 because I want a radio I can use for a long time without running into significant limitations like my previous two radios. I want to be finished with radio shopping and focus on flying!

-Randy
Jul 02, 2012, 11:46 PM
Electric Coolhunter
Thomas B's Avatar
I have had my DX18 out for many hours in 95-100 degree days with no evidence of flicker on the screen.
Latest blog entry: 2014 events and travel
Jul 02, 2012, 11:57 PM
Registered User
Westranm's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas B
I have had my DX18 out for many hours in 95-100 degree days with no evidence of flicker on the screen.
That is great to know given those are similar to my conditions for flying right now. Much appreciated!

-Randy
Jul 03, 2012, 12:06 AM
No bounce, No play.
davidmc36's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by freechip
Anyway the video can be posted in a way that's easier for others to view.
What was the problem with seeing the video?
Jul 03, 2012, 05:23 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas b
i have had my dx18 out for many hours in 95-100 degree days with no evidence of flicker on the screen.
+ 1
Jul 03, 2012, 05:57 AM
Registered User
Gordon's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz
The former, since in context the OP was complaining about lack of room (close quarters) in his model.

In a 2.5m sloper you aren't concerned for weight - why don't you use an AR9310? That's exactly the intended application.

Andy
Thanks Andy

The 9310 isn't listed on the Horizon UK website. The 6255 is the biggest Rx that'll fit in a RCRCM Tomcat along with battery, two servos and a ballast tube. The 6200 (I own two) antenna configuration won't fit, and it needs a remote for which there's no room even if it's pushed down the fuselage boom on an extension. The 9310 is probably rather bigger anyway. Also I needed two Rx's and the 6-chan is much cheaper than the 9-chan!

Sherman's 6-servo sailplane program for the DX18 is going to make my Tomcat and Dorado slopers rock!

Thanks for all your help in this thread Andy.

Gordon
Jul 03, 2012, 06:39 AM
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by davidmc36
What was the problem with seeing the video?
The problem is the ability to view it period on a mobile device and can't view .MOV at work.
Jul 03, 2012, 07:27 AM
No bounce, No play.
davidmc36's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by freechip
The problem is the ability to view it period on a mobile device and can't view .MOV at work.
Give this a shot.
Jul 03, 2012, 08:01 AM
Suspended Account
Much easier to see: that would bother me in a new, $800 product. Send it in for repair!


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Spektrum DSM2 and the Nats - Question for Spektrum/JR users aeajr Sailplane Talk 25 May 29, 2012 04:14 PM
Sold Spektrum DX6 6-channel System with Spektrum AR6000 Receiver $50 shooboy Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 6 Dec 20, 2011 06:12 PM
Sold Spektrum DX6 6-channel System with Spektrum AR6000 Receiver $50 shooboy Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 4 Dec 14, 2011 08:30 PM
For Sale Spektrum & JR 2.4 Ghz DSM2 receivers for sale I have a sailplane sized Spektrum AR93 zaptherio Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Nov 15, 2011 06:14 PM
Sold SPEKTRUM DX6i DSMX with Spektrum Ni-cads and charger- like new condition shooboy Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 6 Oct 19, 2011 05:59 AM