Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Old Jun 07, 2012, 10:46 AM
TK421 is offline
Find More Posts by TK421
Registered User
http://www.falconsekido.com/products/rpm-sensor

I just ordered two. I got my 160HV back from castle last night so I'm gonna give it one last shot before I jump ship to a Hobbywing or Hawk...

Lou
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 07, 2012, 12:19 PM
rceccleston is offline
Find More Posts by rceccleston
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by TK421 View Post
http://www.falconsekido.com/products/rpm-sensor

I just ordered two. I got my 160HV back from castle last night so I'm gonna give it one last shot before I jump ship to a Hobbywing or Hawk...

Lou
I don't blame you.

While CC have brought a true auto-rotation recovery (no timed windows), easy to setup governor (set RPM), easy motor setup (timing & frequency), telemetry (ESC inputs & outputs) they're failing to stay current with internal and external governor technology.
Old Jun 14, 2012, 11:54 AM
Alan Hahn is offline
Find More Posts by Alan Hahn
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by rceccleston View Post
I don't blame you.

While CC have brought a true auto-rotation recovery (no timed windows), easy to setup governor (set RPM), easy motor setup (timing & frequency), telemetry (ESC inputs & outputs) they're failing to stay current with internal and external governor technology.
I think you are wrong about the internal governor technology.
Old Jun 17, 2012, 04:43 PM
rceccleston is offline
Find More Posts by rceccleston
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alan Hahn View Post
I think you are wrong about the internal governor technology.
How so??

To date, most are running V3.27 released over 13 months ago (05/2011) because Castle have failed to release support for proactive governors from in our flybarless systems, while other well known manufactures supported external governors last summer.

Few that have risked upgrading to V4.01 have experienced startup and loss of power issues.
Old Jun 17, 2012, 06:18 PM
gww528 is offline
Find More Posts by gww528
Registered User
gww528's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by rceccleston View Post
How so??

To date, most are running V3.27 released over 13 months ago (05/2011) because Castle have failed to release support for proactive governors from in our flybarless systems, while other well known manufactures supported external governors last summer.

Few that have risked upgrading to V4.01 have experienced startup and loss of power issues.
I have v4.01 running on a Phoenix 80, HV-85, HV-110, HV Ice-80, HV Ice-120. They are running good.
Old Jun 17, 2012, 07:14 PM
TK421 is offline
Find More Posts by TK421
Registered User
Well, I'm about to solder up my replacement HV160 with a hobbywing sensor... We'll see how it goes. From my understanding 4.01 works fairly well minus the soft start...

Lou
Old Jun 18, 2012, 06:04 AM
RC Man is offline
Find More Posts by RC Man
A man with too many toys
If you crank up the Start Power 4.01 is excellent for most setups but there are exceptions. CC definitely needs to do a little more work on 4.01 for all the throttle modes. Last time it took them over a year to get an update out so I don’t expect anything anytime soon. They really need to get some better (and faster) firmware developers before all their customers die of old age – LOL.

.
Old Jun 18, 2012, 08:41 AM
3Dmuse is offline
Find More Posts by 3Dmuse
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC Man View Post
If you crank up the Start Power 4.01 is excellent for most setups but there are exceptions. CC definitely needs to do a little more work on 4.01 for all the throttle modes. Last time it took them over a year to get an update out so I donít expect anything anytime soon. They really need to get some better (and faster) firmware developers before all their customers die of old age Ė LOL.

.
In software development most bugs and delays are introduced during the requirements and design stages, not during implementation.
Old Jun 18, 2012, 11:52 AM
RC Man is offline
Find More Posts by RC Man
A man with too many toys
Quote:
Originally Posted by barzaun View Post
In software development most bugs and delays are introduced during the requirements and design stages, not during implementation.

The problem that is frustrating to users is that the start power logic was perfect on 3.x versions but is totally screwed up in V4.01. I donít think that the requirements have changed for all the flight modes. In this case I really think that itís an implementation bug and that makes you wonder if they ever tested it in the real world. Why did the change something that was perfect.

Old Jun 19, 2012, 09:11 AM
vadim is offline
Find More Posts by vadim
Registered User
I was naive thinking that the firmware which fully supports vBar would be released by now. It's been months since I've read that MrMel tested his pre-release beta and gave it two thumbs up. It's been weeks since a Castle employee posted in here with an update. I think we should all set our expectations correctly next time. If this update comes out before IRCHA I'll be SHOCKED! Pretty much I'm convinced now that we won't be seeing this, this flying season.
Old Jun 19, 2012, 10:03 AM
RC Man is offline
Find More Posts by RC Man
A man with too many toys
Quote:
Originally Posted by vadim View Post
I was naive thinking that the firmware which fully supports vBar would be released by now. It's been months since I've read that MrMel tested his pre-release beta and gave it two thumbs up. It's been weeks since a Castle employee posted in here with an update. I think we should all set our expectations correctly next time. If this update comes out before IRCHA I'll be SHOCKED! Pretty much I'm convinced now that we won't be seeing this, this flying season.
If you look at the history they have been working on this problem since February 2011 Ė a very long time if you ask me (500 days).
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1384189


Old Jun 22, 2012, 01:23 PM
WestColoFlyer is offline
Find More Posts by WestColoFlyer
Registered User
Putting together an 600EFL with minivbar and was toying i with the idea of running the vbar gov with CC ICE2 HV80. I have a Hobbywing sensor coming and looking at the specs it says working voltage 3.5 to 8.4 V, then in how to use area it says 3.3-5v to power the sensor? I run a direct LiFe to power electronics anyone using the HW sensor know the voltage it will handle?

Jack
Old Jun 22, 2012, 10:42 PM
TK421 is offline
Find More Posts by TK421
Registered User
So what are the recommended settings on the 160 with the hobbywing sensor?

Lou
Old Jun 23, 2012, 05:59 AM
RC Man is offline
Find More Posts by RC Man
A man with too many toys
Quote:
Originally Posted by TK421 View Post
So what are the recommended settings on the 160 with the hobbywing sensor?

Lou
What firmware are you using?


.
Old Jun 23, 2012, 09:04 AM
TK421 is offline
Find More Posts by TK421
Registered User
I was planning on using the 4.01...

Lou


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Cant use update client or firmware update jaysbay Hoverfly Technologies 6 Nov 07, 2011 11:19 PM
Sold SOLD-F/S Blue Mini V-Bar V 5.0 ---Like New-SOLD ptflyer Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 1 Nov 06, 2011 05:22 PM
Sold BNF T-Rex 500 ESP Mikado V-Bar dawhale Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 2 Apr 11, 2011 05:16 PM
Help! Where can I get\download a firmware update for schulze isl 6-330 v 8.50? eitanro High Performance 1 Oct 04, 2010 05:12 AM