My first scratch built foamie (S.E.5.a) - RC Groups
Jan 26, 2012, 01:50 AM
Build Log

My first scratch built foamie (S.E.5.a)

I've been building stick built micro planes for a few months now. I've been building balsa FF models for quite a few years and I'm quite comfortable with their constriction.

For my next project I've decided to step out of my comfort zone and try my hand at foam. The only foam that I have ready access to is Midwest Products 3mm 88 cell foam. I'm not sure how it compares to other foams, but for $6 its a pretty cheap way to start.

I went with the SE5a because its a pretty simple design, the only curves are its turtle deck which seem pretty strait forward to build. I pulled up a 3 view and started cutting. It seems that you can make pretty quick progress, after only a few hours I have most of the major structures complete.

I'll be using an AR6400, Sukhoi motor/gearbox, 1.7g linear servo for ailerons, and a Turnigy 160mAh. The wingspan will be 18 in.

I'm not sure what glues most people use, but so far I have been using Gorilla glue and a bit of foam safe CA. I've not used Gorilla glue before and it does not sand quite as well as I hoped.
to remove ads between posts
Jan 26, 2012, 04:00 AM
Pilot, Co-pilot, Navagator
tachy glues works well. wood glue is very good, but heavy.

6 dollars! i get a 20X 30 sheet at dollar tree, for, you guessed it, a dollar.

i personally dont use depron much, as the dollar tree foam is real easy to peel the paper off.
its heaver than depron, and a little weaker (ive bee told.)
it sands more liek wood.

my finger are cold and dont want to work right. ugh.
Jan 26, 2012, 06:49 AM
GymDandy Flyer
Hi, Eclipse_7
Looking great! Keep up the good work.
Just keep in mind for indoor, the Lighter it is, the Better it will Fly.
Keep Them Flying ! , Ken
Jan 26, 2012, 03:40 PM
P. Seitz