New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Jan 23, 2012, 11:00 PM
chatch15117 is offline
Find More Posts by chatch15117
Suspended Account
Discussion

Hobbyking v2.1 owners


what firmware do you use?

do you have problems with hovering? my throttle pulses and i have to keep moving it up and down to try to hover. if i am just flying away and back it acts normal but as soon as it is level it will drop rpm like i put the throttle down at 10%
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 23, 2012, 11:17 PM
Erknie is offline
Find More Posts by Erknie
Registered User
Have you calibrated the throttle range for each ESC?
Old Jan 23, 2012, 11:55 PM
chatch15117 is offline
Find More Posts by chatch15117
Suspended Account
yes i do that every time i flash a firmware. i also "center stick" to make sure it knows where the center is
Old Jan 24, 2012, 06:42 PM
soulreaper is offline
Find More Posts by soulreaper
Registered User
How do you "center sticks" on kk boards?
Old Jan 24, 2012, 06:49 PM
randall1959 is offline
Find More Posts by randall1959
Suspended Account
I'm using X4.7 on mine with no issues. I'm not seeing any pulsing. Have you tried changing your motor timing?
Old Jan 24, 2012, 08:10 PM
chatch15117 is offline
Find More Posts by chatch15117
Suspended Account
i've got the stock settings on simonk esc firmware

soulreapear to center sticks you put one of the pots to 0 then hold elevator down, then release and it will blink twice
Old Jan 24, 2012, 08:14 PM
chatch15117 is offline
Find More Posts by chatch15117
Suspended Account
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...v=eBwyaCqydGk#!

here is another example. see how the motors are pulsing? it will go high rpm, then lessen, then jump back up(once i start to move throttle up some more)! and if i just leave the stick at 75% throttle or whatever it will just lessen until the quad hits the ground
Old Jan 24, 2012, 08:52 PM
Ed Couch is online now
Find More Posts by Ed Couch
Registered User
Ed Couch's Avatar
What ESCs are you using? I have a couple of the boards on 4.7 and have had no problems flying or the surging you are seeing. I have seen some of the lower end ESCs cause problems similar to what you are experiencing although not quite as bad.

ed
Old Jan 24, 2012, 09:01 PM
chatch15117 is offline
Find More Posts by chatch15117
Suspended Account
RCTimer 18A flashed with simonk 400Hz firmware

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1513678
Old Jan 24, 2012, 09:29 PM
BlackCat_ is offline
Find More Posts by BlackCat_
Registered User
BlackCat_'s Avatar
It's not the firmware on the board or the firmware on the ESCs. Stick to this thread and you'll have a better chance of getting things sorted.
You mentioned vibration in some other thread. What kind of props and are they WELL balanced?

Is it just me or does his quad sound a little funny? (hard to tell on cheap laptop speakers.)
Old Jan 24, 2012, 09:35 PM
chatch15117 is offline
Find More Posts by chatch15117
Suspended Account
something was vibrating today but normally i have everything pretty well balanced. new props will be here tomorrow or thursday and those are gaui 8 inch.

right now i have GWS 8x4x3 and they come super unbalanced. i put lots of tape to balance them on my magnetic balancer.

In another thread another dude suggested that it could be my cheap 2.4ghz receiver that i'm using from a RTF plane. i decided to use this 2.4ghz because it has 0 glitches. I've used the setup with flying wings and such since April. 0 crahses on it(other than pilot error )

So tomorrow I will take the 72MHz Corona rx out of my cessna and see if it works with the quad. I resisted using 72mhz because this cheap corona rx glitches sometimes (see here) so i thought that would make it hard to learn. but now that i can fly a quad it will be easy to recover from a sudden aileron input or something like that.
Old Jan 24, 2012, 10:16 PM
BlackCat_ is offline
Find More Posts by BlackCat_
Registered User
BlackCat_'s Avatar
Hm... ok. Get rid of the vibration and report back here. I'm kinda back to thinking it's a glitching problem, or just vibration messing with the gyros. Is your radio isolated too? Loose connectors?
I was amazed how much better my quad flies with "good" props instead of the cheap, un-balanceable props.
Old Jan 24, 2012, 10:19 PM
randall1959 is offline
Find More Posts by randall1959
Suspended Account
If that camera is cmos, you aren't having vibration issues. Check your battery connections.
Old Jan 25, 2012, 03:41 AM
chatch15117 is offline
Find More Posts by chatch15117
Suspended Account
no i got a ccd camera to remove "gopro jello syndrome". but if i had vibrations it would just get fuzzy/blurred instead of jello.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ZyO3Oo92iE

there's the same location but the camera is on the ground.
Old Jan 25, 2012, 09:33 AM
BlackCat_ is offline
Find More Posts by BlackCat_
Registered User
BlackCat_'s Avatar
It still "sounds" funny. What is that buzz?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Hobbyking Quadcopter control board V2.1 for $12.34 hallstudio Multirotor Talk 12 Feb 08, 2012 08:57 PM
For Sale HobbyKing Quadcopter Control Board V2.1 (Atmega168PA) Chad2323 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 0 Jan 13, 2012 09:52 PM
Discussion Hobbyking FC V2.1 ??? Dave8888 Multirotor Talk 2 Dec 24, 2011 11:54 AM
Discussion Which motor/Prop for HobbyKing FPV-UAV Composite 1.66m V2 Florida Mike UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 2 Dec 07, 2011 10:37 PM
Discussion http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/uh_viewItem.asp?idProduct=7443&pb=1 TipStalled Batteries and Chargers 5 Mar 11, 2010 07:11 PM