Thread Tools
Nov 18, 2012, 07:39 PM
Registered User
rayonnair's Avatar
I believe I have corona 939s in the ailerons, and a HK servo of some sort for the rudder/elevator. I need to check later when I get back home. I think I've posted them up before but for the life of me I can't find them on this thread. They're all digital MG servos. I also have a separate SBEC from HK.

I only got ~40ish flights on it before the motor crapped out so I don't know how they will hold up over time. That said I suspect I will total my plane before the servos reach their end of life.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Nov 18, 2012, 07:47 PM
Registered User
rayonnair's Avatar
Found it:

D26012MG servos. http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=10969.

+ point: servo horns that come with the SBach fit directly on these. Size of the servo is also identical.
Nov 18, 2012, 07:51 PM
Registered User
ryanbe15's Avatar
the HK Servo's in the rudder/elevator work just fine?
Nov 18, 2012, 08:07 PM
Registered User
rayonnair's Avatar
They work fine for me. Ymmv ofc!
Nov 18, 2012, 08:15 PM
Registered User
how would you change the aileron servo with that long wire inside the wings?
Nov 18, 2012, 10:03 PM
Closed Account
i think i'll stick to the stock motor. 14x7
upgrade esc.
2650 4c 40c
and i'm thinking twice about them servos. your right. i'm not doubting the towerpro's or Hd's. maybe i'll get the hd's for rudder?

ohh important, i'm not adding a bec. i'm supplying through a LiFe pack (1000mah) yeaa a bec is lighter but this will be fine for my type of flying. no super 3d. i actually would be interested in a bit more speed and mild aerobatics. this foamie has great potential i believe.
Last edited by out of stock; Nov 18, 2012 at 10:15 PM.
Nov 18, 2012, 10:23 PM
Registered User

Spinner for 14 -7?


What spinner to use if you change a 14-7 prop? Can you use the stock spinner?
Nov 18, 2012, 10:52 PM
Closed Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by pasantia View Post
What spinner to use if you change a 14-7 prop? Can you use the stock spinner?
very good question. i'm picky about spinners. the could make or break the looks of sbach. The sbach (in my opinion) need that somewhat lengthy spinner.

i think just trimming the stock spinner would work.
Nov 18, 2012, 11:14 PM
Registered User
rayonnair's Avatar
Spinner: trim it with a dremel and file. The bigger problem is if your motor bites it because the spinner is a specific fit for the motor.

Aileron servos: cut the wires on the old servos. Cut wires on new servos. Splice them together and solder. Electrical tape to cover. Entire process happens with the long aileron servo wire still in.
Nov 18, 2012, 11:29 PM
An Aussie in Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by rayonnair View Post
Spinner: trim it with a dremel and file. The bigger problem is if your motor bites it because the spinner is a specific fit for the motor.

Aileron servos: cut the wires on the old servos. Cut wires on new servos. Splice them together and solder. Electrical tape to cover. Entire process happens with the long aileron servo wire still in.
That's what I did, but I used heat shrink instead of tape.
Nov 18, 2012, 11:31 PM
Closed Account
haha my buddy is doing that cutting/splicing/soldering job on a pusher glider hes got. theres no issue doing that. its fine.

wait a sec, is this what everyone is doing when upgrading the aileron servos? is it like a "no other option" type of deal?
Last edited by out of stock; Nov 18, 2012 at 11:37 PM.
Nov 19, 2012, 12:24 AM
HellBentPuppet
pullup!'s Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by out of stock View Post
haha my buddy is doing that cutting/splicing/soldering job on a pusher glider hes got. theres no issue doing that. its fine.

wait a sec, is this what everyone is doing when upgrading the aileron servos? is it like a "no other option" type of deal?
You can use servo extensions if you don't want to solder, that is the route I'm going.
Nov 19, 2012, 03:46 AM
Scott
Quote:
Originally Posted by pullup! View Post
You can use servo extensions if you don't want to solder, that is the route I'm going.
Yeah servo extension is the easiest way to go. Just tape the extension to the end plug of the stock servo to pull it though the wing otherwise you'll have a very hard task getting it through without damaging the wing.
Nov 19, 2012, 08:40 AM
Closed Account
Good deal. Extensions it is.
Nov 19, 2012, 09:28 AM
Registered User
how long extension cord? thanks


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product NEW Sbach 342 1400mm Balsa (ARF) HK Jaybee 3D Flying 199 Dec 22, 2014 02:36 PM
Discussion HobbyKing Sbach 342 1000mm ARF helivsFMX 3D Flying 3 May 11, 2014 11:33 AM
New Product Hobbyking Sbach 342 Trapviper 3D Flying 343 Sep 30, 2013 12:42 PM
Wanted Sbach 342 1400mm Balsa (ARF) shepster Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 11 Dec 19, 2011 06:59 PM
New Product NEW!!!! Hobbyking 1000mm SBach 342 BALSA ARF Jaybee 3D Flying 7 Jun 04, 2011 01:02 AM