Oct 06, 2003, 07:49 PM
Thread OP

LED's for night flight

I am looking to hook up some LED's for night flight. I have found a few red, white and blue rated at 3000 mcd. at my fathers shop. the LED has 2 long (about 1") leads from them. unfortunately i didnt grab one to test - but does anyone know if these are like light bulbs where you simply need to hook each lead to a + and - side of the battery or even in a series - or do i need to add more to the mixture?

if anyone has built their own system - please let me know what you did

thanks (and yes i know about the curtek lights - but i am a builder not a buyer now)
Last edited by nose_first; Oct 06, 2003 at 08:05 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Oct 06, 2003, 08:51 PM
You'll need to check the specs before hooking them up to power. Some types (but only a few) have a built in resistor to protect them from overcurrent.

Most need to have their current and volt specs matched by calculating which value of resistor to add in series to the circuit.

Each type, color, size, etc. of LEDs have different requirments. For example if one is rated 30ma current and 2 vts, you'll figure your source volts (say 6) minus 2 (=4) divided by .03 (=133) which is the approximate value in ohms of the resistor to use. It's okay to fudge to the next available size. BTW, the small 1/4 watt type are fine considering the small current required.

Do a search for LEDs and you'll find much information on them.

Hope this helps,

Ken

Oh, and I forgot to mention that they are polorized so if you hook one up backwards, it just won't light.
Oct 06, 2003, 08:57 PM
Here's a link to more in-depth FAQ on LEDS:

http://members.misty.com/don/ledd.html
Oct 06, 2003, 09:03 PM
Checking the wind

Lights

A couple of years ago I setup my Mini Max with very simple lights that worked very well.