Thread Tools
Old Mar 24, 2012, 05:39 PM
Yogi1 is offline
Find More Posts by Yogi1
Registered User
I just downloaded 1.18 version of John's program was using 1.16 on a Tarot ZYX unit without the firmware upgrade. Question is can I use 1.18 to do the firmware upgrade or do i have to download something else also.Thanks Yogi
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 24, 2012, 05:55 PM
VArchT is offline
Find More Posts by VArchT
SoCal
VArchT's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yogi1 View Post
I just downloaded 1.18 version of John's program was using 1.16 on a Tarot ZYX unit without the firmware upgrade. Question is can I use 1.18 to do the firmware upgrade or do i have to download something else also.Thanks Yogi
You'll need to download the firmware update file also.
Old Mar 24, 2012, 06:10 PM
mike00top is offline
Find More Posts by mike00top
Registered User
mike00top's Avatar
Sorry to sound stupid, but i dont understand after we go past version 1.16 does it mean we must have the firmware up grade too ?

or will the latest version v1.18 work with or without the firmware upgrades, zyx or cx3x1000?
Old Mar 24, 2012, 06:22 PM
John_NZ is offline
Find More Posts by John_NZ
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike00top View Post
Sorry to sound stupid, but i dont understand after we go past version 1.16 does it mean we must have the firmware up grade too ?

or will the latest version v1.18 work with or without the firmware upgrades, zyx or cx3x1000?
You don't have to upgrade the firmware to use the later versions of the FBL software.
Old Mar 24, 2012, 07:46 PM
keris is offline
Find More Posts by keris
Registered User
keris's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by beenflying View Post
The ZYX is $44 with a buddycode from HobbyKing.
that great price beenflying thank for the info
Old Mar 24, 2012, 09:03 PM
teamdavey is offline
Find More Posts by teamdavey
Registered User
OK - weirdness alert.

I have an ALZ unit that is "resting" pending RC711 fessing up to that fact that ALZ can't ship one that doesn't drift - not what this post is about.

I plugged into John's latest software to experiment with some other settings to check a theory. Done with that so I checked "switch condition" for fun and guess what......

Yep It will and I can turn it to and from condition and rate/HH mode using the software. In switch condition, I can indeed switch condition using the aux input.

Hmm.....wonder what else is hidden in there!
Old Mar 24, 2012, 10:26 PM
buzzme is offline
Find More Posts by buzzme
Registered User
buzzme's Avatar

Help me understand


My head has been spinning since this condition thing has been introduced.

1. What is the purpose of the different conditions?

2. Can you control BOTH the condition 1 or 2 state AND the head hold or rate mode from your transmitter using a 6 channel receiver?

Thanks
Old Mar 24, 2012, 10:47 PM
teamdavey is offline
Find More Posts by teamdavey
Registered User
No - you can either switch between two conditions (which will include two different tail settings - but both heading hold) OR you can have one condition and switch between HH and rate - but you will have two conditions stored in the gyro which you can select between using the hand programmer on the ground. Confusing isn't it?
Old Mar 24, 2012, 11:33 PM
v823515 is online now
Find More Posts by v823515
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by teamdavey View Post
No - you can either switch between two conditions (which will include two different tail settings - but both heading hold) OR you can have one condition and switch between HH and rate - but you will have two conditions stored in the gyro which you can select between using the hand programmer on the ground. Confusing isn't it?
Actually, I think this is a fantastic definition of the situation. Well put.
Old Mar 25, 2012, 01:10 AM
John_NZ is offline
Find More Posts by John_NZ
Registered User
Version 1.19 of FBL is up. Fixed a few small things, see the revision history on the FBL web site for details.
Old Mar 25, 2012, 06:34 AM
HolgiB is offline
Find More Posts by HolgiB
Registered User
I am facing connection issues with my ZYX FBL. I am using the original adapter and it worked quite well with John's Software (1.15). Sometimes I needed 2 or 3 attempts, but now I am unable to connect at all. The blue light on the adapter is flashing and the FBL unit is responding to stick input from the TX, but nothing with the software

What am I doing wrong? Is there any standard procedure to follow? Thats how I did it:

1) Connect usb adapter to PC and FBL unit
2) Launch software and click connect
3) Turn on transmitter
4) Plug in the LiPo on the heli

Could something be broken?
Old Mar 25, 2012, 06:55 AM
pitchp is offline
Find More Posts by pitchp
Retired
pitchp's Avatar
make sure it's the usb is in between com 1 - 4 and not 5 or higher
Old Mar 25, 2012, 07:19 AM
Yogi1 is offline
Find More Posts by Yogi1
Registered User
Hi HolgiB, Here is the procedure.
(1) Have USB dongle plugged into pc start pc.
(2) Turn on transmitter then reciever/heli.
(3) Open FBL John NZ's program.
(4) Plug dongle into ZYX unit
(5) Click on connect button three dots should go green.
(6) When finnished with program unplug ZYX before shutting down program.
Another good idea is to click force update just before disconnecting ZYX unit.
Good Luck Yogi
Old Mar 25, 2012, 07:43 AM
MikeHRC is online now
Find More Posts by MikeHRC
Team Mulikow 3D
Make sure that you have the cable the right way up in the dongle
Old Mar 25, 2012, 08:01 AM
HolgiB is offline
Find More Posts by HolgiB
Registered User
Thanks you guys, I am connected again. Changed to port to COM2 as well. But I think it was kind of a system hickup or something like that.

Updated John's Software to 1.18 and with the dongle on COM2, the Tarot software works as well.

How about the firmware update for the unit itself? Is this recommended? Or are the latest devices already with the latest FW?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Darthdrk Drone CX Body for coax helis like the Blade CX etc. Twmaster Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Oct 08, 2011 08:31 PM
Multiplex mc V2 servo programming PC software Thomas B Radios 3 Jul 23, 2006 10:49 AM