Thread Tools
Old Jul 28, 2012, 12:32 AM
Daddy. is offline
Find More Posts by Daddy.
Everyone is an idiot (or I am)
Daddy.'s Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.M View Post
I'm afraid not. I'm seriously considering getting rid of my two CX gyros and getting ZYX-S to replace them.
Curious, why don't you flash they to zyx and use the new firmware?

Ken
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 28, 2012, 12:44 AM
Black_heart is online now
Find More Posts by Black_heart
Texas NewB
Black_heart's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daddy. View Post
Curious, why don't you flash they to zyx and use the new firmware?

Ken
Not all well cross flash.
Old Jul 28, 2012, 02:14 AM
Dr.M is offline
Find More Posts by Dr.M
Registered User
Dr.M's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daddy. View Post
Curious, why don't you flash they to zyx and use the new firmware?

Ken
I have a silver edge and a blue edge CX gyro and I thought one of them could not be cross-flashed to ZYX firmware. But finally I got fed up with the CX bull**** and did them both. Surprisingly both took the ZYX 3.50 firmware without any issue. The down side is that now I have a useless CX programming box. And I really did like to have the ability to switch settings at the field...
Last edited by Dr.M; Jul 28, 2012 at 03:04 AM.
Old Jul 28, 2012, 07:43 AM
sp00fman is offline
Find More Posts by sp00fman
Looptastic!
sp00fman's Avatar
Im also liking my CX- program box. have three brids with the 3x1000 and would hate to run back and forth to my PC for adjustments.
I need two more FBL controllers, but am a bit hesitant to get more of the CX versions, lacking the updates. The ZYX-S looks better for future use.

Is there a way to flash the programmer to tarot? , perhaps by connecting a programmer cable directly to to Atmel chip?


By the way, is there any physical difference between the ZYX and ZYX-S? If there is none, does the new firmware include a bootloader for the Atmel chip, or would the loader be lost when you force flash directly to the chip?
Last edited by sp00fman; Jul 28, 2012 at 07:49 AM.
Old Jul 29, 2012, 03:43 AM
VArchT is offline
Find More Posts by VArchT
SoCal
VArchT's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.M View Post
I have a silver edge and a blue edge CX gyro and I thought one of them could not be cross-flashed to ZYX firmware. But finally I got fed up with the CX bull**** and did them both. Surprisingly both took the ZYX 3.50 firmware without any issue. The down side is that now I have a useless CX programming box. And I really did like to have the ability to switch settings at the field...
Good to hear, I have a couple of each.

There is a firmware for the zyx programmer http://www.0577mx.com/news_view.asp?clsid=15&id=267 if I can get all my cx's flashed to 3.5 tomorrow I'll try the programmer. Well if I can figure it out, instructions are in Chinese.
Old Jul 29, 2012, 12:33 PM
electrojolt is offline
Find More Posts by electrojolt
Registered User
Is there a way to flash the CX with zyx firmware using the computer software? I tried but fails, had to reflash with cx firmware.
Old Jul 29, 2012, 01:12 PM
Dr.M is offline
Find More Posts by Dr.M
Registered User
Dr.M's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by electrojolt View Post
Is there a way to flash the CX with zyx firmware using the computer software? I tried but fails, had to reflash with cx firmware.
I used John's PC app v1.22 to flash both my CXs. However, it's still possible that some of the later CXs cannot be flashed to ZYX. I just helped a guy on HF to flash his CX to ZYX v3.50 and it bricked it, he went back to CX v1...
Old Jul 29, 2012, 01:14 PM
electrojolt is offline
Find More Posts by electrojolt
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.M View Post
I used John's PC app v1.22 to flash both my CXs. However, it's still possible that some of the later CXs cannot be flashed to ZYX. I just helped a guy on HF to flash his CX to ZYX v3.50 and it bricked it, he went back to CX v1...
thanks, going to give that a try and report back.
Old Jul 29, 2012, 01:25 PM
kgd1 is online now
Find More Posts by kgd1
Registered User
kgd1's Avatar
Just crossed flahed my cx, Can't wiat to test it. Rainy day here!! Now only if the program box can be crossed flashed.... Well atleast I have a servo tester & Batt voltage reader.
Old Jul 29, 2012, 01:26 PM
sp00fman is offline
Find More Posts by sp00fman
Looptastic!
sp00fman's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgd1 View Post
Here you go I use this for my BeastX & CX-3X1000 FBL units, Just rename the file extension to: .eepe have fun

Thanks for the settings!

I found a bug in the gyro gain. It goes to full negative when you switch to rate mode.

I'm still learning the ER9x. i think i will use the gyro setup template for now.
It uses one of the pots to set gain and a switch to flip between HH and rate mode.
Old Jul 29, 2012, 01:37 PM
electrojolt is offline
Find More Posts by electrojolt
Registered User
Tried flashing my 3 CX gyros with Tarot firmware and none of them worked... had to re-flash it back with original CX firmaware
Old Jul 29, 2012, 02:18 PM
mhills51 is offline
Find More Posts by mhills51
Registered User
mhills51's Avatar
Just finished flashing my CX to tarot 3.50 mine was one of the first sold CX's
Old Jul 29, 2012, 02:23 PM
electrojolt is offline
Find More Posts by electrojolt
Registered User
I have several friends interested in getting into this hobby and I was going to recomend them to use the CX gyro but not sure anymore due to the lack of keeping up with the competition.
Old Jul 29, 2012, 02:34 PM
kgd1 is online now
Find More Posts by kgd1
Registered User
kgd1's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by sp00fman View Post
Thanks for the settings!

I found a bug in the gyro gain. It goes to full negative when you switch to rate mode.

I'm still learning the ER9x. i think i will use the gyro setup template for now.
It uses one of the pots to set gain and a switch to flip between HH and rate mode.
Your Welcome! ER9x is awesome!
Old Jul 29, 2012, 02:35 PM
Dr.M is offline
Find More Posts by Dr.M
Registered User
Dr.M's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by electrojolt View Post
I have several friends interested in getting into this hobby and I was going to recomend them to use the CX gyro but not sure anymore due to the lack of keeping up with the competition.
+1
ZYX leads the pack by a mile.

Too bad some of the CX gyros can't be cross flashed. I'm really hapy mine worked.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Darthdrk Drone CX Body for coax helis like the Blade CX etc. Twmaster Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Oct 08, 2011 08:31 PM
Multiplex mc V2 servo programming PC software Thomas B Radios 3 Jul 23, 2006 10:49 AM