New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Mar 02, 2012, 08:33 PM
6L6Amp is offline
Find More Posts by 6L6Amp
Registered User
6L6Amp's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by zmonster97 View Post
Because snowdog said he still needed nose weight with his. And I will be using 2x3s 2200mah batteries so they are pretty light.
Gotcha. Since both motors make the same amount of power, I'd get the lightened one and add nose weight if needed. My thinking is that you may want to put the motor in a different airframe some day and the extra weight may be unnecessary.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 02, 2012, 08:35 PM
zmonster97 is offline
Find More Posts by zmonster97
Team Aztech Aeromodels!
zmonster97's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6L6Amp View Post
Gotcha. Since both motors make the same amount of power, I'd get the lightened one and add nose weight if needed. My thinking is that you may want to put the motor in a different airframe some day and the extra weight may be unnecessary.
Yeah, that makes sense. Now I don't know what I should do.
Old Mar 02, 2012, 08:43 PM
6L6Amp is offline
Find More Posts by 6L6Amp
Registered User
6L6Amp's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by zmonster97 View Post
Yeah, that makes sense. Now I don't know what I should do.
Just get the lightened one and be done with it. You can make it work, no problem. It's capable of making way more power than the 58" needs, so no worries there either.
Old Mar 02, 2012, 08:47 PM
zmonster97 is offline
Find More Posts by zmonster97
Team Aztech Aeromodels!
zmonster97's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6L6Amp View Post
Just get the lightened one and be done with it. You can make it work, no problem. It's capable of making way more power than the 58" needs, so no worries there either.
What weights would you use with that? I've never had to add weight. Do you use ones with a sticky back? Could someone provide a link? Thanks.
Old Mar 02, 2012, 08:51 PM
SnowDog1974 is offline
Find More Posts by SnowDog1974
Registered User
SnowDog1974's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by zmonster97 View Post
What weights would you use with that? I've never had to add weight. Do you use ones with a sticky back? Could someone provide a link? Thanks.
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXK204&P=ML

6L6Amp has a good point - if you get the lightened motor, you have more flexibility down the road.
Adding weight is no big deal, especially since this motor does have more than enough power...but you have smaller (therefore lighter) batteries, so you may have to add a bit more nose weight, or get heavier batteries.
Old Mar 02, 2012, 09:17 PM
zmonster97 is offline
Find More Posts by zmonster97
Team Aztech Aeromodels!
zmonster97's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by SnowDog1974 View Post
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXK204&P=ML

6L6Amp has a good point - if you get the lightened motor, you have more flexibility down the road.
Adding weight is no big deal, especially since this motor does have more than enough power...but you have smaller (therefore lighter) batteries, so you may have to add a bit more nose weight, or get heavier batteries.
Thanks. I'll probably get the lightened motor mount. For the weights, would i put them at the front of the motor box?
Old Mar 02, 2012, 09:21 PM
SnowDog1974 is offline
Find More Posts by SnowDog1974
Registered User
SnowDog1974's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by zmonster97 View Post
Thanks. I'll probably get the lightened motor mount. For the weights, would i put them at the front of the motor box?
yes; I'm going to the workshop now to do that very thing; I'll take some pics.
As far forward as possible, so you only have to add a small amount.
Old Mar 02, 2012, 09:22 PM
zmonster97 is offline
Find More Posts by zmonster97
Team Aztech Aeromodels!
zmonster97's Avatar
K, thanks.
Old Mar 03, 2012, 11:56 AM
UDO999 is offline
Find More Posts by UDO999
Registered User
UDO999's Avatar

Battery tray


I had some free time last night and played around with making a removable battery tray. I'm new to this stuff so please tell me what you think, good or bad. I don't have a scale to weigh it, but it is pretty light. Do you guys think this would add too much weight?
Old Mar 03, 2012, 01:32 PM
diggity2424 is offline
Find More Posts by diggity2424
Wingman II
diggity2424's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by UDO999 View Post
I had some free time last night and played around with making a removable battery tray. I'm new to this stuff so please tell me what you think, good or bad. I don't have a scale to weigh it, but it is pretty light. Do you guys think this would add too much weight?
Not bad!! Looks like you have to screw the battery tray in every time or no?
Old Mar 03, 2012, 01:40 PM
UDO999 is offline
Find More Posts by UDO999
Registered User
UDO999's Avatar
Yeah, I put a piece of plywood on the fire wall that holds it down up front. I'm going to make some long aluminum thumbscrews to hold the back down.
Old Mar 03, 2012, 02:04 PM
SteveT. is online now
Find More Posts by SteveT.
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by UDO999 View Post
I had some free time last night and played around with making a removable battery tray. I'm new to this stuff so please tell me what you think, good or bad. I don't have a scale to weigh it, but it is pretty light. Do you guys think this would add too much weight?
Good job... That is "SOP" (standard operating procedure) for many planes. The Great Planes "Revolver" has a similar design from the factory...

SteveT
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Old Mar 03, 2012, 03:14 PM
UDO999 is offline
Find More Posts by UDO999
Registered User
UDO999's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveTtoooo View Post
Good job... That is "SOP" (standard operating procedure) for many planes. The Great Planes "Revolver" has a similar design from the factory...

SteveT
Yeah, I got the idea from an 89" Slick that had one.
Old Mar 03, 2012, 07:07 PM
zmonster97 is offline
Find More Posts by zmonster97
Team Aztech Aeromodels!
zmonster97's Avatar
What size wires should I be using on this with 6s? Will 14 gauge work?
Old Mar 03, 2012, 07:17 PM
keithy4129 is offline
Find More Posts by keithy4129
Registered User
alright guys, here are some numbers, gens ace 6s 2500 25c batteries, motrolfly 4315 500kv, 15x7 prop, hacker x-70 esc 1495 watts (fully charged and on the ground) at around 64-65amps, do you think this will be enough power? also whats the recommended CG? thanks!


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion 60 inch edge 540 vs 48 inch extreme flight extra 300 & edge 540 vs 3dhs slick 51 & 59 CRFan1 3D Flying 40 Mar 04, 2012 03:45 PM
Sold 3DHS Omega 130g NIB 58.00 Shipped boatdoc Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 9 Aug 28, 2011 10:16 AM
Discussion 3dhs edge 41" edge as second ish) plane? Mr Bloppy 3D Flying 19 Aug 25, 2010 10:43 AM
Wanted Wanted - 47" - 58" 3DHS, EF or Sebart plane paintball_kidz Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Jan 03, 2010 12:12 AM
Wanted 47"-58" size 3DHS, Sebart or Extreme Flight paintball_kidz Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 13 Jan 02, 2010 01:52 AM