Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Jan 02, 2012, 02:13 AM
Registered User
Discussion

Can Brushless motors run on 2 wires? Can they work without an ESC?


Can brushless motors work with only 2 wires?

Eg; not connecting the third to an ESC?

Will it still run?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jan 02, 2012, 02:35 AM
Registered User
scirocco's Avatar
The answer is no, and you can't run a brushless motor off a brushed ESC.

I highly recommend you visit this forum: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=739069 as there are masses of resources for learning about the ins and outs of electric flight that will help you focus your questions.

Another fantastic resource is here: http://homepage.mac.com/kmyersefo/sitetoc.html

And one more: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/member.php?u=106813
Jan 02, 2012, 03:51 AM
Wake up, feel pulse, be happy!
Piece's Avatar
Simple answer: No.

More detailed answer: No.
Jan 02, 2012, 08:20 AM
Registered User
Oh I don't know . If you want a detailed but fairly useless answer :
- no ESC, nothing will happen
- ESC and two wires only connected it will never start
....BUT
- if you start a motor with all 3 wires connected to the ESC and then cut one of the wires it will carry on working after a fashion.

So what was it you really wanted to know ?

Steve
Jan 02, 2012, 08:47 AM
Registered User
Gary_Canada's Avatar
Many folks ask this type of question to avoid spending money.
Take a look take a look at some of these very inexpensive controllers (ESC) from
China:
\http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...yKing_ESC.html

or one shipped from US, here is a 25 amp one for less than $11:

http://www.hobbypartz.com/60p-dye-1002-25a-esc.html

Gary
Jan 02, 2012, 08:53 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nelatonin View Post
Can brushless motors work with only 2 wires?

Eg; not connecting the third to an ESC?

Will it still run?


Hmmm. Brushless because the motor has no brushes and relies on a alternating current provided from the ESC (the ESC converts the battery current from DC to AC) to provide the opposing electro magnet fields in the windings, in the casing. Opposing to the neodymium magnets on the rotor (inrunner in this case) which causes the motion.

All you'll get is a brief jolt in the motor but no spin.
Jan 02, 2012, 10:59 AM
Registered User
pilotpete2's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Masterpiece View Post
All you'll get is a brief jolt in the motor but no spin.
As opposed to the 50 or 60Hz Hmmm you'll get with an AC input to a BLDC motor
The ESC provides electronic commutation of the DC input, based on the feedback the ESC gets from the motors back EMF.
Pete
Jan 02, 2012, 12:41 PM
homo ludens modellisticus
Ron van Sommeren's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by slipstick View Post
...
- ESC and two wires only connected it will never start ...
Controller may even burn.

Quote:
Originally Posted by slipstick View Post
...
- no ESC, nothing will happen ...
- connect two of the three wires directly to battery and you will cause a minor conflagration: motor and/or battery will go up in flames. A brushless motor is a massive short for DC voltage/current!

Quote:
Originally Posted by pilotpete2 View Post
As opposed to the 50 or 60Hz Hmmm you'll get with an AC input to a BLDC motor
The ESC provides electronic commutation of the DC input, based on the feedback the ESC gets from the motors back EMF.
Pete
More pictures and explanation:
http://www.aerodesign.de/peter/2001/...DY-BL_eng.html (English version)


Full throttle, no PWM chopping






Partial throttle, PWM chopping for lower RPM

Last edited by Ron van Sommeren; Jan 02, 2012 at 01:01 PM.
Jan 02, 2012, 12:50 PM
homo ludens modellisticus
Ron van Sommeren's Avatar
Several animations. It's obvious that the three motorwires (phases) are equivalent, but not the same.

http://www.aerodesign.de/peter/2001/...index_eng.html (English)
-> Animation 14-magnetpole outrunner

Two magnetpole inrunner
http://townbiz.com/animations/2-pole_bldc_motor.swf

Four magnetpole inrunner
http://townbiz.com/animations/4-pole_bldc_motor.swf

More
http://townbiz.com/animations/animations.html
Last edited by Ron van Sommeren; Jan 03, 2012 at 06:19 AM.
Jan 03, 2012, 12:30 AM
Registered User
thank you
Jan 03, 2012, 11:11 AM
characters welcome!
Mark Wood's Avatar
It's also obvious that there is NO ac current but pulsed dc.

mw
Jan 03, 2012, 11:59 AM
homo ludens modellisticus
Ron van Sommeren's Avatar
Thanks Mark for opening that can of worms

Gelukkig Nieuw Jaar Ron
diy motor tipsDrive Calculator
diy motor groupCumulus MFC
Jan 03, 2012, 12:25 PM
Senile Member
Lnagel's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Wood View Post
It's also obvious that there is NO ac current but pulsed dc.

mw
Actually, the pulsed DC does create an AC current through the motor windings. The scope traces that Ron posted display represent the voltage applied from the ESC to the motor, not the current flowing through the motor windings. I have attached a photo of a scope trace that does represent the current through one pair of windings on a brushless motor. The center horizontal line with the hash marks represents zero amps. You can clearly see that the current flow is maximum in one direction (trace is above the zero reference) for 2/3 of the commutation cycle and the current is zero for 1/3 of the commutation cycle. During the next commutation cycle the maximum current trace is below the zero reference indication that the current is flowing through the coils in the opposite direction, i.e. AC current.

Larry
Jan 03, 2012, 02:14 PM
Registered User
pilotpete2's Avatar
Isn't this pretty much the same thing that we'd see if we looked at the current flow in the coils of a brushed motor running on DC?
Pete
Jan 03, 2012, 03:59 PM
Senile Member
Lnagel's Avatar
Exactly the same, Pete. Very perceptive of you.

Larry


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion can you use a single esc to run 2 motors? captaingeek DIY Electronics 4 Apr 30, 2011 04:50 PM
Help! Can I run 2 brushless motors on one esc? foxsavage Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 3 Aug 28, 2008 11:49 PM
Discussion Can you run 2 brushless motors from 1 ESC??? SGTalon Power Systems 1 Jun 30, 2006 09:20 AM
can you run 2 brushless motors off of one esc? jeff262 Power Systems 4 May 30, 2004 11:39 PM
Can you run 2 brushless motors off of one ESC nikolaus_c Power Systems 1 Jul 05, 2003 11:44 AM