Thread Tools
Old Mar 30, 2012, 05:36 PM
eckace1 is offline
Find More Posts by eckace1
OFF TOPIC POSTER
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin. View Post
Brookfreeman71, I guess you're using a 2s lipo, so how much amps does it draw at full throttle?

I have two new Hyperion 3900kv inrunner motors (HP-X22L-3900) waiting on the shelf for some crazy project. I may try one of these in my EZ* someday, but I obviously need a stronger ESC, the question is how strong? Since I have two of these motors I could try a pair of big EDF's on the wings; the EZJet haha .

Thanks for sharing your video. Nice flying and also nice park btw.

Martin
It depends on what you are using as far as props and bat.
I run a 2800kv motor on 3s with a 6x4 prop on one of my wings and produces about 35 to 40 amps.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 30, 2012, 05:38 PM
eckace1 is offline
Find More Posts by eckace1
OFF TOPIC POSTER
Quote:
Originally Posted by eckace1 View Post
I think he is really chicken
Hay any one need some eggs?

These girls work hard and my fridge is full
Old Mar 30, 2012, 07:22 PM
mnegrete is offline
Find More Posts by mnegrete
Registered User
mnegrete's Avatar
Thx Scott

Gene, my radio does have expo on it and that's something I've been thinking about tinkering with. As far as the music goes, I downloaded it from freemusicarchive.org.
Old Mar 30, 2012, 09:15 PM
2500GENE is offline
Find More Posts by 2500GENE
Why so serious?
2500GENE's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin. View Post
Brookfreeman71, I guess you're using a 2s lipo, so how much amps does it draw at full throttle?

I have two new Hyperion 3900kv inrunner motors (HP-X22L-3900) waiting on the shelf for some crazy project. I may try one of these in my EZ* someday, but I obviously need a stronger ESC, the question is how strong? Since I have two of these motors I could try a pair of big EDF's on the wings; the EZJet haha .

Thanks for sharing your video. Nice flying and also nice park btw.

Martin
Hey Marty,
Max continuous current on that motor is 14 amps on 2 cell. It'll fry very quickly with a 5 or 6 inch prop I would imagine. The twin edf sounds interesting though.
Old Mar 30, 2012, 09:50 PM
brookfreeman71 is offline
Find More Posts by brookfreeman71
Flyin' the TW!
brookfreeman71's Avatar
It might be a little hard to get the motor out, cause it's attached with double sided tape. I'm going to fly her the way she is for now, my RC budget for the month is all spent! I think I'll be okay as long as I keep the motor runs short
Old Mar 30, 2012, 10:13 PM
pdiddyg40 is offline
Find More Posts by pdiddyg40
Flying low is expensive.
pdiddyg40's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by brookfreeman71 View Post
The motor is only attached with double sided tape. So it should be easy to remove once I can get a new motor.
Quote:
Originally Posted by brookfreeman71 View Post
It might be a little hard to get the motor out, cause it's attached with double sided tape. I'm going to fly her the way she is for now, my RC budget for the month is all spent! I think I'll be okay as long as I keep the motor runs short
The good news is, the new month is only 2 days away! I totally understand the whole 'blowing the monthly budget' thing. No worries. But the next time you're holding a $20 bill that the significant other OKs as RC-funding, stop making excuses and buy the new motor.

You're really going to be doing yourself a favor. The motor you now have just isn't suited for the job and you will *probably* burn it up sometime anyway. The commonly suggested 100gram HK inrunner will do the job just fine for you. And instead of drawing 30 amps to do it, it'll do it on 15. AND everything will run cooler.

Convinced yet?
Old Mar 30, 2012, 10:15 PM
pdiddyg40 is offline
Find More Posts by pdiddyg40
Flying low is expensive.
pdiddyg40's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by mnegrete View Post
Just wanted to say thanks to all who contribute to this thread. Finally got an Easystar built so I could get my GoPro in the air. Here's a vid with the build and a few of the first flights (successful and unsuccessful)

EasyStar Build
That is AWESOME! Great build and paint job! You've surpassed any construction that I've ever done with an EasyStar. I hope that you get many uneventful flights with that plane, it'd be such a shame to mess up that paint.
Old Mar 31, 2012, 03:20 AM
AshtonFlyer is offline
Find More Posts by AshtonFlyer
Registered User
AshtonFlyer's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdiddyg40 View Post
That is AWESOME! Great build and paint job! You've surpassed any construction that I've ever done with an EasyStar. I hope that you get many uneventful flights with that plane, it'd be such a shame to mess up that paint.
That was a very cool build log! What paint where you using there?!
Old Mar 31, 2012, 03:20 AM
Jurgen Heilig is offline
Find More Posts by Jurgen Heilig
Registered User
Jurgen Heilig's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin. View Post
...
I have two new Hyperion 3900kv inrunner motors (HP-X22L-3900) waiting on the shelf for some crazy project. ...
Hi Martin,

these motors don't have the torque to spin a decent sized prop. They were meant for ducted fans or geared applications.

Offered now at $8.-, you may want to get some more for "crazy projects".

http://www.aircraft-world.com/shopexd.asp?id=6076

Jürgen
Old Mar 31, 2012, 08:03 AM
RC Novice is offline
Find More Posts by RC Novice
Registered User

tail flexing


hi ,im having the problem of fuse tail flexing to right ,which make my plane to make right roll ,as i was checking the alignment it flex 0.5cm to right ,to fly staright i need to give opposite rudder ,but you can see in the air like it side slipping ,,

any idea how to fix it ?????????,

in general the fuse tail become soft ,it bend up and down and twist and side ways ,still have the carbon rod 2.5mm running under the fuselage
Last edited by RC Novice; Mar 31, 2012 at 08:12 AM.
Old Mar 31, 2012, 08:13 AM
AshtonFlyer is offline
Find More Posts by AshtonFlyer
Registered User
AshtonFlyer's Avatar
Do you know what's causing the flex, or is it just bending 5mm both ways naturally? Or just 'soft' to the right? (or permanently off?)

Hazarding a guess that the rudder/elevator snake (can't remember which side) is pulling too much - either a 'tight' hinge, or the pull on the servo is too much?

2.5mm CF is pretty thin - I use 4-5mm tube internally. Check servos/hinges first though. If nothing there, maybe strap a CF tube down each side, in a cut groove, or bind along the tail with fibre tape, then a few straps around the tail.
Last edited by AshtonFlyer; Mar 31, 2012 at 08:18 AM.
Old Mar 31, 2012, 08:16 AM
RC Novice is offline
Find More Posts by RC Novice
Registered User
rudder snake run through the right side of the fuse ,it bends 0.5cm to right , but the fuse tail in general not stiff anymoreand it does bend right and left by the rudder input and up and down by elevator input

pitty i didnt run the carbon tube inside the whole lenght of fuse tail , just a short piece
Old Mar 31, 2012, 08:20 AM
scottdearinger is offline
Find More Posts by scottdearinger
Gravity? No, the Earth sucks
scottdearinger's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by eckace1 View Post
Hay any one need some eggs?

These girls work hard and my fridge is full
actually I will take some more eggs- they were good-

Looking forward to our RC truck jumping over a Slowstick in flight tomorrow- I hope they collide-

On topic- we are filming it from an easystar..


Gunna be a fun video to make.....
Old Mar 31, 2012, 08:34 AM
RC Novice is offline
Find More Posts by RC Novice
Registered User
............
Last edited by RC Novice; Mar 31, 2012 at 08:47 AM.
Old Mar 31, 2012, 08:47 AM
RC Novice is offline
Find More Posts by RC Novice
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by AshtonFlyer View Post
Do you know what's causing the flex, or is it just bending 5mm both ways naturally? Or just 'soft' to the right? (or permanently off?)

Hazarding a guess that the rudder/elevator snake (can't remember which side) is pulling too much - either a 'tight' hinge, or the pull on the servo is too much?

2.5mm CF is pretty thin - I use 4-5mm tube internally. Check servos/hinges first though. If nothing there, maybe strap a CF tube down each side, in a cut groove, or bind along the tail with fibre tape, then a few straps around the tail.
its permanently off , good idea , let know how it went


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale NIP proline tires with foams and ultra foams 48chebbie Cars - Trucks and Parts (FS/W) 0 Dec 09, 2011 04:47 PM
For Sale 1.9 Dark Soul wheels with Cobra tires and memory foams ATCH Cars - Trucks and Parts (FS/W) 0 Nov 14, 2011 06:14 PM
Discussion Different foams south.tx.dead.I Foamies (Scratchbuilt) 2 Sep 27, 2011 03:40 PM
Discussion Foams Guz Composites Fabrication 10 Apr 09, 2011 08:25 AM
Discussion Depron/Wall Foams highdesert Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 21 Mar 19, 2011 10:57 PM