Dec 20, 2011, 09:30 PM
Question

900mhz legal in usa?

Hi I'm new to RcGroups and FPV, i was thinking of puting a 900mhz FPV system because of its penetrating power on a rc car, so is 900mhz legal in usa and how many mw can you use it at with out a HAM license, and if not what other mhz/ghz can i use at what mw ?????? THANKS
to remove ads between posts
Dec 20, 2011, 09:34 PM
you have to have a tech class or greater license at any mw on 900

its legal on ch 1

it is not hard to get the license if you go through it your experience w be 10x better

you study one or two websites with flashcard type material, instant feedback, for a few weekends and take the test in a couple weeks when one comes around to most cities.

the whole test can be taken and passed in under 3 minutes, for sure. not hard, the study material takes some work but the websites feed it right to you, free
Last edited by branflakes; Dec 20, 2011 at 09:39 PM.
Dec 20, 2011, 09:38 PM
if you want to be able to use non restricted ground based fpv its possible. Hobbytron.com sells a cheap $100 setup, correct mw on 2.4 that does not require a license.

the receiver station even if maximized with better antennas etc doesn't require a license, its the transmitter and in this case the weak ~8mw 2.4 security cams are legal off the shelf. the antenna connection on the receivers for these cheap units is not often connectable to fpv quality items like patch antennas etc they have fixed, short range pig tails (most of them)

if you will take and pass the ham test you will be really happy about having legal access to the good equipment. Its an excellent step, benefits you in many ways. out of the box, the $100 set will transmit across the street from your house and thats about it on the ground. instantly you will want the full ham gear, after the first run. what you are asking about is how I cut my teeth on rc/fpv

The math is 4th grade division and multiplication on the tech class