The ORIGINAL #16 HD keycam thread (read posts #1-#5 BEFORE posting questions) - Page 759 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Dec 05, 2012, 03:14 AM
cheapskate extroardinairé
figured it out, my lcd screen is not working. =P
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Dec 05, 2012, 08:03 AM
Dance the skies...
Tom Frank's Avatar

FW v0.58 (still with bugs) back in download page


Quote:
Originally Posted by goofa
Hi

My cam is upgraded to the only available Firmware version V.49, but GUI does not show Pal format my screen display, clips my OSD display so that some of the numbers are missing on mys screen, what is the fix. Regards Goofa
V0.49 FW did not have PAL output... it was added in v0.58 which showed some bugs in previously stable functions after it was released. I've had other requests to try the buggy V0.58FW, so to save me the time of emailing it to users, I've put the prior v0.58 MOV FW back on the download page. NOTHING HAS BEEN FIXED YET! I have labeled it as a BETA version due to known bugs! If you choose to try this firmware to get the new functions, turn OFF the Auto-shutoff function to minimize the bug problem. I'm leaving the prior officially released firmware (v0.49) with no know issues available for down load as well for now.

I wonder how many new posts we will see mentioning the bugs in v0.58 FW?
Last edited by Tom Frank; Dec 05, 2012 at 08:11 AM.
Dec 05, 2012, 08:03 AM
Registered Addict
Stigern's Avatar
Any ideas for making the camera lipo last longer when flying in wintertime? Isolating the casing?
Knitting a wool-sack for it? XD
Dec 05, 2012, 08:13 AM
Bombs away!!!
quitcherbitchen's Avatar
2mm Neoprene wet suit material oversized with velcro on the edges to make a blanket as you suggested.
Dec 05, 2012, 08:24 AM
Dance the skies...
Tom Frank's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stigern
Any ideas for making the camera lipo last longer when flying in wintertime? Isolating the casing?
Knitting a wool-sack for it? XD
I've not tried it, but I'd first put some tape over all the holes and gaps in the case where air can enter or exit, except over the lens opening of course, but even that can be covered with some very clear "sandwich wrap" plastic! I've done that successfully for splash proofing when mounted on a float plane, and could not tell the plastic was there. Then wrap or encase the entire camera in closed cell foam. You can make one from Styrofoam, or use something like the EPP foam sheet that sometimes is used to wrap objects for shipping... the thicker the better. That will insulate it better than anything and it's very light weight. And keep the camera in a warm place before flying.

If you try something like this and get good results, share the improvement I recording time and what you did here (a picture would help).
Dec 05, 2012, 09:06 AM
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Thanks Tom!

I'm going to download it before you remove it again.
Dec 05, 2012, 09:38 AM
ptg
ptg
#1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Frank
V0.49 FW did not have PAL output... it was added in v0.58 which showed some bugs in previously stable functions after it was released. I've had other requests to try the buggy V0.58FW, so to save me the time of emailing it to users, I've put the prior v0.58 MOV FW back on the download page. NOTHING HAS BEEN FIXED YET! I have labeled it as a BETA version due to known bugs! If you choose to try this firmware to get the new functions, turn OFF the Auto-shutoff function to minimize the bug problem. I'm leaving the prior officially released firmware (v0.49) with no know issues available for down load as well for now.

I wonder how many new posts we will see mentioning the bugs in v0.58 FW?:rolleyes:
Here is the first:
My two cameras works perfect with "buggy" FW.
Dec 05, 2012, 09:38 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Frank
PM me your email address and I'll send v0.58 FW.
I still have the v58 firmware and I've found a bug to notify. Here what I did.
  1. I switched on the camera and started to record some footage while driving to my office;
  2. As I arrived I tried to stop recording but pressing the shutter button did nothing. Status led never turned yellow;
  3. I had to switch off the camera with the power button;
  4. Movie was recorded and I've found a 1.5GB file.

The bug was that I had to turn off the whole camera to interrupt the recording. For shorter recording time everything is normal.

Is it really a bug or the camera need some minutes to shut down long recording sessions?
Dec 05, 2012, 10:44 AM
Registered User
Just stopping by to thank you guys for all the hard work. I've been using your tool to adjust all my settings, it's so much easier than on my previous cameras. I'm using mine on my electric bike, works great:
Africa's fastest bicycle (20 min 1 sec)


Tried the time lapse, but with the camera on my head there's far too much movement. I'll mount it on the handlebars next time to see if that helps.
Dec 05, 2012, 11:09 AM
Dance the skies...
Tom Frank's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by l.aluffi
I still have the v58 firmware and I've found a bug to notify. Here what I did.
  1. I switched on the camera and started to record some footage while driving to my office;
  2. As I arrived I tried to stop recording but pressing the shutter button did nothing. Status led never turned yellow;
  3. I had to switch off the camera with the power button;
  4. Movie was recorded and I've found a 1.5GB file.
The bug was that I had to turn off the whole camera to interrupt the recording. For shorter recording time everything is normal.

Is it really a bug or the camera need some minutes to shut down long recording sessions?
What are the other settings? Some functions will begin recording as soon as the power is turned on, and won't stop until the cameras is powered off. Post your camera's config file here... I'd rather not guess.
Dec 05, 2012, 11:12 AM
Dance the skies...
Tom Frank's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrickza
Just stopping by to thank you guys for all the hard work. I've been using your tool to adjust all my settings, it's so much easier than on my previous cameras. I'm using mine on my electric bike, works great:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nu0IHH8EAvQ

Tried the time lapse, but with the camera on my head there's far too much movement. I'll mount it on the handlebars next time to see if that helps.
Try the 5 fps Frame Rate mode instead. It will play back at 30 fps with no editing required, and give slightly less speed-up than the slowest that can be created by converting time lapse images into a movie.
Dec 05, 2012, 01:02 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by patrickza
Just stopping by to thank you guys for all the hard work. I've been using your tool to adjust all my settings, it's so much easier than on my previous cameras. I'm using mine on my electric bike, works great:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nu0IHH8EAvQ

Tried the time lapse, but with the camera on my head there's far too much movement. I'll mount it on the handlebars next time to see if that helps.
Woah!
How fast your internet is?
I mean uploading 20 minutes of video- luckey you.
Dec 05, 2012, 01:09 PM
Registered User
deleted
Last edited by therau2000; Dec 19, 2015 at 08:29 PM.
Dec 05, 2012, 04:54 PM
Registered User
signguy's Avatar
Hi all

I have a small problem. I have 2 #16 v2 cameras, both on the 49 firmware. They work fine except for the colors. They display colors VERY badly. Yellows are turning blue, blues turn orange, red turns blue. It looks like they have some kind of filter missing. Tried it as a web cam and the colors are fine.
Would love to know if anyone has seen this before. I did search, but found nothing

Thanks
BobD
Dec 05, 2012, 05:17 PM
Dance the skies...
Tom Frank's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by signguy
Hi all

I have a small problem. I have 2 #16 v2 cameras, both on the 49 firmware. They work fine except for the colors. They display colors VERY badly. Yellows are turning blue, blues turn orange, red turns blue. It looks like they have some kind of filter missing. Tried it as a web cam and the colors are fine.
Would love to know if anyone has seen this before. I did search, but found nothing

Thanks
BobD
This is strange. A short sample video clip would be helpful, but since two cameras are doing this, it must be something in the config. file color settings. Did you play with any of the color settings on them?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Looking to buy #11 HD Key Cam within US Abolfazl Aerial Photography 4 Mar 20, 2016 01:14 AM
Discussion The REAL (#11) HD Key Cam Thread (PLEASE! READ POSTS #1-#3 BEFORE POSTING QUESTIONS!) Tom Frank Aerial Photography 9936 Feb 11, 2014 10:56 AM
Poll Poll For Current and Future #11 HD Key Cam Users Tom Frank Aerial Photography 0 Sep 26, 2011 12:55 AM
Discussion New HD Key Cam CHAMP? 1080x720p 3 HOUR RECORD TIME! Jaybee Aerial Photography 4 Jun 02, 2011 12:39 PM