Thread Tools
Oct 12, 2012, 08:29 AM
Happy when flying!
kjrell's Avatar
Little test of 0.49 on all cameras, same setup on all cameras (all auto)

0.49 test (0 min 42 sec)


left v2 has slightly richer colors and right v2 has slightly lighter exposure

Only got 2 micro sd cards so V1 is not synchronised
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Oct 12, 2012, 08:30 AM
Registered User
Tom/Isoprop

Have you guys ever thought about migrating this thread (and the other similar cam threads for other models) to a dedicated forum? That way you could have subforums for each topic, and a more historical and useful record of all this great info?

643 pages of linear info is a bi**h to sort through.

I volunteer to set it up and take care of the hosting if you guys want to do it. I'll register it in your name so you have complete control over it...I'll just do the legwork.
Oct 12, 2012, 09:23 AM
Just thumbing through...
victapilot's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Frank
Yes, manual editing of the config file still works and has been kept as a back-up and for those who may have no other way to use a GUI. But stay aware of the function key conflicts I mentioned in my v0.49 introduction post. Some combinations do not work with each other. The GUI sets these correctly. I think, but am not positive, that the FW also ignores keys that are in conflict, or may set to their defaults. You can test this... I have not.
I'll do a few more tests, very carefully!

I'm curious to see if reducing contrast has any effect on vignetting with the B lens.
Oct 12, 2012, 09:42 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishycomics
Thought I get yelled at by isoprop again

Enjoy time lapse of o e of the 808 just time lapse enjoy

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Toh8_jUjys8

A quick video at 1 second.
Thanks to Nerys. I have a vase power source/external USB supply.

With time lapse running :

How many stills can be taken before the bat needs recharging?

Average bat time 40 minutes with camera snapping away the time will differ?

1 minute time lapse up to 40 shots. Interesting to see some results on that? How long will it go?

30 sec 80 minutes, etc....
I won't yell at you this time Fishy, because you have posted a video, and most people can understand your videos which are usually very good.

During the testing phase, Tom also made some very impressive test videos of moving clouds with different time-lapse settings, so, for me, your video is nothing new - sorry
Like I said, the videos were test videos and were partially used to find firmware bugs.

All the same, your video shows others the potential of this remarkable $40 camera.
Oct 12, 2012, 10:10 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by nagyger
I have a v2, everything is fine. But it seems you must push the power button for a bit longer. For a bit more than 2 secs.
i experienced the same thing.
Oct 12, 2012, 10:12 AM
Registered User
Ulrik_A's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezeeetm
i experienced the same thing.
+1

But i think its better this way
Like it even more now

Thanks for the great updates to the program and the firmware guys
Oct 12, 2012, 10:19 AM
Registered User
is there a way to turn off the led when in time lapse mode (set Recording Indicator = No?)
Oct 12, 2012, 10:33 AM
Just thumbing through...
victapilot's Avatar
...
Last edited by victapilot; Oct 12, 2012 at 11:25 AM. Reason: duplicate post
Oct 12, 2012, 10:51 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by victapilot
Duplicate
who me?
Oct 12, 2012, 10:54 AM
Just thumbing through...
victapilot's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezeeetm
who me?
No, me

I duplicated my previous post. Sorry, maybe Tom can delete.
Oct 12, 2012, 11:02 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezeeetm
is there a way to turn off the led when in time lapse mode (set Recording Indicator = No?)
No!

The developer modified the original routine so it's clearly visible when a picture is taken, and this is a good thing.

Of course, we anticipated this question would come up sooner or later.... more like later than sooner.....

I don't know if the developer will implement an invisible time-lapse LED or not, but be assured he reads this thread!

@victapilot, just put in a couple of dots to avoid confusion. I also understood you were in favor of the invisible time-lapse LED!
Oct 12, 2012, 11:07 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Isoprop
No!
...so it's clearly visible when a picture is taken, and this is a good thing...
!
what I'm observing on my end is:

- put it in photo standby mode (which takes a little more of a press than a tap compared to before)

- snap first photo with shutter button. normally this would blink yellow a few times then go back to red in the previous single image mode. now it flashes one time yellow, then back to red

BUT

I do not see any subsequent yellow blinks for subsequent pictures. They are taken to be sure, but light just stays red solid after first image.

This is just FYI, makes no diff to me...thing works great. I only mention turning off the LED to save power (every mAH counts for me lol)
Oct 12, 2012, 11:30 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezeeetm
what I'm observing on my end is:

- put it in photo standby mode (which takes a little more of a press than a tap compared to before)

- snap first photo with shutter button. normally this would blink yellow a few times then go back to red in the previous single image mode. now it flashes one time yellow, then back to red

BUT

I do not see any subsequent yellow blinks for subsequent pictures. They are taken to be sure, but light just stays red solid after first image.

This is just FYI, makes no diff to me...thing works great. I only mention turning off the LED to save power (every mAH counts for me lol)
I'm unclear. Previously, the yellow LED flashed when taking a picture but you could barely see it because the red LED remained on.
As of v0.49 the red LED turns off so you can see the yellow LED and then turns back on. I find this much better.

Are you talking about time-lapse or normal picture taking? I have tested both, and both work for me, so I need more information. Can you also confirm you are running firmware v0.49?

What I have found is that if you press the shutter button before the picture is saved to the card the LED will remain yellow. However, this turns off the next time you take a picture.
Oct 12, 2012, 11:43 AM
Graham Dyer
pardus's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTiDonavan
Can anybody confirm this ebay sellers items are good?

digitaleleonline-yuanbin

The two listed on page 1 do not ship to my country
Contact them via the ebay website and ask if they will send you a paypal invoice. They didn't send to my country either but sent me one when I did that.
Oct 12, 2012, 11:50 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Isoprop
I'm unclear. ...However, this turns off the next time you take a picture.
There's no problem here, don't waste your time with it. I was just pointing out that in time lapse mode the yellow light only blinks for the first image (not subsequent images) and it blinks a little differently than it did previously for a single image.

It was more of an FYI for others who are just now experimenting with the time lapse. No problem to be solved...freakin thing works FANTASTIC.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Looking to buy #11 HD Key Cam within US Abolfazl Aerial Photography 4 Mar 20, 2016 12:14 AM
Discussion The REAL (#11) HD Key Cam Thread (PLEASE! READ POSTS #1-#3 BEFORE POSTING QUESTIONS!) Tom Frank Aerial Photography 9936 Feb 11, 2014 09:56 AM
Poll Poll For Current and Future #11 HD Key Cam Users Tom Frank Aerial Photography 0 Sep 25, 2011 11:55 PM
Discussion New HD Key Cam CHAMP? 1080x720p 3 HOUR RECORD TIME! Jaybee Aerial Photography 4 Jun 02, 2011 11:39 AM