Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Apr 15, 2012, 11:41 AM
Registered Taranis User
Miami Mike's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by simonseize
The lipo wisdom I've always followed fr my RC models is to store cells around 3.8V. 3.8v. How would that apply here I wonder?
That's a good point. My guess is that if you don't expect to use your camera for a very long period and you want to store it, you might extend the battery life by discharging it for about half the time it usually runs before it shuts off.

But if you use the camera regularly, or prefer to have it ready at a moment's notice (in case you see a UFO ), I see no harm in restoring it to full charge any time it's partially discharged and you have the opportunity. I don't like waiting until the battery goes dead because (1) that might happen at an inconvenient time, and (2) I have no reason to think there's a benefit. I'm open to evidence though.
Latest blog entry: Taranis: Aileron-To-Rudder Mix.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Apr 15, 2012, 12:28 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Miami Mike
.....

But if you use the camera regularly, or prefer to have it ready at a moment's notice (in case you see a UFO ), I see no harm in restoring it to full charge any time it's partially discharged and you have the opportunity. I don't like waiting until the battery goes dead because (1) that might happen at an inconvenient time, and (2) I have no reason to think there's a benefit. I'm open to evidence though.
I entirely agree. Like I originally said "the not so perfect world"
Apr 15, 2012, 01:32 PM
Fidler & twidler
empeabee's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparky Paul
I never leave any battery connected to anything when I'm not there to watch it.
And I disconnect the 808s from the computer when I turn the computer off if they're connected.
The green light goes off when the computer is off.
Would the battery discharge in a camera connected to the computer in this case?
I don't know.
As has been mentioned several times, The camera Real Time Clock Chip takes a few microAmps from the battery, which eventually drops below 3volts, and the Low Voltage protection chip in the Lipo switches the battery off. Recharge will sort that out, but the clock will be wrong/
Mike
Apr 15, 2012, 04:17 PM
Mtz
Mtz
Registered User
Mtz's Avatar

Photo aspect ratio AR


Photo mode have wrong aspect ratio in V0.25 firmware? I read all pages since V0.25 release and I don't remember this bug, sorry.
Apr 15, 2012, 04:26 PM
Dance the skies...
Tom Frank's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mtz
Photo mode have wrong aspect ratio in V0.25 firmware? I read all pages since V0.25 release and I don't remember this bug, sorry.
It was mentioned a while back. I used the "search this thread" function for a thread containing all these key words: "0.25 aspect ratio"...
... and up pops:
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...postcount=3977
Last edited by Tom Frank; Apr 15, 2012 at 04:36 PM.
Apr 15, 2012, 05:07 PM
Mtz
Mtz
Registered User
Mtz's Avatar
I already said sorry in my previous post, because I was almost sure somewhere you wrote this. But first time I searched in the first 1-5 posts, where you write a lot of things but also I expected the bugs. And if you made that photos with something circular in the picture could be more easy to detect the wrong AR. I read that post but forgot.

enjoy,
Mtz
Apr 15, 2012, 05:22 PM
Dance the skies...
Tom Frank's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mtz
I already said sorry in my previous post, because I was almost sure somewhere you wrote this. But first time I searched in the first 1-5 posts, where you write a lot of things but also I expected the bugs. And if you made that photos with something circular in the picture could be more easy to detect the wrong AR. I read that post but forgot.

enjoy,
Mtz
No apology necessary! I was trying to demonstrate how the "search this thread" function searches all the posts, not just the first 5. This can save you a lot of time finding things if you learn to use it, especially the "advanced search" accessed by the button in the search tab. That advanced function can help filter out search listings discussing things you DON'T want to be see, making it easier to find things you are looking for.

I don't post bugs in the first several posts because those are for more permanent information. Bug fixes often quickly follow their discovery, and would make bug reports in the first 5 permanent information posts obsolete, meaning I would then need to go back and revise or delete the information. Too much extra work.

When I shot the photos, I didn't know what to expect. It wasn't until after I looked at them that it was obvious (to me) that one of the images has a flattened appearance and has the wrong aspect ratio. I mention that both in the text and in the notes with the photos that circles will not appear as circles. Do I need to retake pictures showing a flattened circle, too, after all the description?
Last edited by Tom Frank; Apr 15, 2012 at 05:57 PM.
Apr 15, 2012, 05:47 PM
Mtz
Mtz
Registered User
Mtz's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Frank
Do I need to retake pictures showing a flattened circle, too, after all the description?
No, I was trying to say that if in that pictures was a circle I am sure not to forgot that picture and remember the bad AR. Is something like a visual remembering.
You know in that pictures the wrong AR from the first view because you know your room. Some people say something like "a picture is more than 1000 words sometimes".

enjoy,
Mtz
Apr 15, 2012, 07:50 PM
Suspended Account
...
Last edited by fishycomics; Oct 04, 2012 at 05:42 AM.
Apr 15, 2012, 07:58 PM
Dance the skies...
Tom Frank's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishycomics
rarely I would use a photo mode on th 808 for reasons grabbing a hd720P frame is good enough for me on this economy cam
... and in most cases, it's as good as or BETTER than the still picture!
Apr 15, 2012, 08:05 PM
Registered User
Has anyone tried ebay seller 'bestdvr'? Item number 300641589871 has a 720p keychain and the title 4GB 8GB 16GB SPY KEYCHAIN CAM 720P HD 808 DVR CAMERA VIDEO Recorder 11.16.18.19N. They are $26 dollars shipped.
Apr 15, 2012, 08:08 PM
Ascended Master
Sparky Paul's Avatar
With all the versions out there being sold, without a specific version number listed, you're taking a chance on getting crap. Like a #14.
Use the first two sellers in message 2 to be certain you're getting a useable camera.
Apr 15, 2012, 08:36 PM
Team WarpSquad
Yep - if he doesn't call it a #16 then it's probably not a #16 and the chances of you getting lucky and finding something better that the #16 for half the price are kinda slim. If you decide to get one and get something better then buy a lottery ticket as well.
Apr 16, 2012, 12:04 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Frank
It is actually NORMAL power consumption. The camera has a graphics processor IC in it that is accepting the raw video stream, compressing it with a very complex encoding algorithm, then mixing the video with sound, which is also being encoded, and finally writing it to the memory card, all at 30 frames per second. This is a lot of work given the higher data rate of an HD video, so heat is a normal result. What makes it seem abnormal with this camera is the case is so small and the processor chip is very close to the wall of the case, so the heat has no where to go but into the case to be dissipated. So don't worry about it... is is normal.

Get a replacement battery. Unless it's very cold when you are recording with the internal battery alone, a new battery should solve the short recording time if your camera is otherwise in good condition.
Hello Tom,
thanks for your answer.
The cam is in good condition. Only records are slightly grey. That means, they aren't very colorful. Comparabel with my poor #3 (I got 2 of them). Can it be changed due to a config setting?
I'll order a replacement battery to improve the record time.
What is an approximately normal recording time of this cam?

regards
Apr 16, 2012, 01:15 AM
Dance the skies...
Tom Frank's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by HenrySt
Hello Tom,
thanks for your answer.
The cam is in good condition. Only records are slightly grey. That means, they aren't very colorful. Comparabel with my poor #3 (I got 2 of them). Can it be changed due to a config setting?
I'll order a replacement battery to improve the record time.
What is an approximately normal recording time of this cam?

regards
Recording time is about 40-43 min. with a healthy battery.

The color is not user adjustable, but make sure you have v0.25 firmware in your camera. It should give pretty natural colors in bright sun outdoors. It may not look vivid compared to other cameras, TV, etc., that often have artificial over-saturated colors. So compare with the colors in the actual scene. Also, there is still a bug in the firmware that can be triggered by pointing the camera at the sky, so try to avoid that. It can trigger a color shift from blue to gray in the sky with warm (yellow tint) colors at first back in ground scenes. The camera will normally recover proper white balance when ground scenes are restored.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Looking to buy #11 HD Key Cam within US Abolfazl Aerial Photography 4 Mar 20, 2016 12:14 AM
Discussion The REAL (#11) HD Key Cam Thread (PLEASE! READ POSTS #1-#3 BEFORE POSTING QUESTIONS!) Tom Frank Aerial Photography 9936 Feb 11, 2014 09:56 AM
Poll Poll For Current and Future #11 HD Key Cam Users Tom Frank Aerial Photography 0 Sep 25, 2011 11:55 PM
Discussion New HD Key Cam CHAMP? 1080x720p 3 HOUR RECORD TIME! Jaybee Aerial Photography 4 Jun 02, 2011 11:39 AM