Thread Tools
Feb 04, 2012, 06:11 PM
Dance the skies...
Tom Frank's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by flynfrfun
Maybe it's youtube, but I think you could benefit from adjusting the focus on your camera. I did mine by placing a printed sheet of paper about 3' away from the camera and then adjusted in webcam mode until I could see the finer print better. Now mine is pretty sharp. Took about a quarter of a turn to get it dialed in.
It's a bit hard to tell without seeing the original, but I think it's a combination of YouTube plus the wide angle lens.

BTW, has Youtube changed their player options? When selecting 720p option now, I can click on the "middle" frame size icon and get the full size 1280x720p frame! It wasn't like that several days ago. If this is new,.... 'bout time!
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Feb 04, 2012, 11:25 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Frank
BTW, has Youtube changed their player options? When selecting 720p option now, I can click on the "middle" frame size icon and get the full size 1280x720p frame! It wasn't like that several days ago. If this is new,.... 'bout time!
I've been able to do that for a couple of weeks now. Its nice not having the 720P stuff stretched out.
Feb 05, 2012, 12:56 AM
Registered User
mamba max1's Avatar
Here's a video I just made with the camera (v.18 software)

R/C Plane At 4,000 Feet!!!! (2 min 41 sec)
Feb 05, 2012, 02:00 AM
Registered User
to make the confusion complete: I have made some other tests with my two cards. In order to format I have used sdformatter. With the setting quick format has worked traxdata 16GB, class6 normally. The Samsung card 16GB, class6 remains defective. With xp-formatter of the PC both maps remain defective.
Name: sdformatter01.jpg
Views: 122
Size: 33.2 KB
Description:
Feb 05, 2012, 02:18 AM
Dance the skies...
Tom Frank's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by downhill
to make the confusion complete: I have made some other tests with my two cards. In order to format I have used sdformatter. With the setting quick format has worked traxdata 16GB, class6 normally. The Samsung card 16GB, class6 remains defective. With xp-formatter of the PC both maps remain defective.
With any of your tests, did you format the cards using the camera's internal formatting routine?
Feb 05, 2012, 04:34 AM
Registered User
Ok, this might be an isolated case but I discovered something strange with my #16. If I shoot an extremely dark scene, with just a little bit of light, I see recurring stripes in the video, like the ones from an old worn out VHS tape. They blink roughly every second. But if I have enough light source in the scene, even if the majority of the scene is pitch dark, they disappear. I assume this is some kind of exposure hunting artifact. Is it just me (or my #16) or is this a known bug?
Feb 05, 2012, 04:45 AM
CURIOSITY Has Landed!
Fugitive_Bill's Avatar
Might be idea to post a short clip of this phenomenon on Vimeo or You Tube?
So we can see what you are talking about.
Feb 05, 2012, 05:05 AM
Registered User
Will do ASAP

Here you go:

My #16 Low Light Bug :( (0 min 19 sec)


Sorry it still is converting (my first time on vimeo). All comments are welcome as always...
Last edited by CemAygun; Feb 05, 2012 at 06:10 AM.
Feb 05, 2012, 05:10 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by CemAygun
Ok, this might be an isolated case but I discovered something strange with my #16. If I shoot an extremely dark scene, with just a little bit of light, I see recurring stripes in the video, like the ones from an old worn out VHS tape. They blink roughly every second. But if I have enough light source in the scene, even if the majority of the scene is pitch dark, they disappear. I assume this is some kind of exposure hunting artifact. Is it just me (or my #16) or is this a known bug?
And whether or not this is caused by the flashing LED? She brightens a little.
Feb 05, 2012, 05:19 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom Frank
With any of your tests, did you format the cards using the camera's internal formatting routine?
I have it, however, feel tempted failed. I have gone forward thus: I connected the cam to the pc. Green LED shows loading battery. After I pressed the power button the red LED flashes and the pc recognised the cam. The red LED is on and the cam is in removable disc modus. Then I pressed the shutter button. The red LED is still burning. Still pressing the shutter button I disconnected the cam from the pc. Red LED is still burning and doesn´t turn off after 5-6 seconds
Feb 05, 2012, 05:37 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by wszim
And whether or not this is caused by the flashing LED? She brightens a little.
That was my first guess at the time of discovery, but I was leaning more on an electrical noise than the light from the led itself. The sample video uploaded is without the blinking record light, so I assume that is not the problem...

At the end of the video you can see that artifact totally disappears with the presence of enough light...
Feb 05, 2012, 06:11 AM
Fidler & twidler
empeabee's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by mamba max1
Here's a video I just made with the camera (v.18 software)
Uff
Xpected loud bang as you exceeded VNE.
Mike
Feb 05, 2012, 06:24 AM
Fidler & twidler
empeabee's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by CemAygun
Ok, this might be an isolated case but I discovered something strange with my #16. If I shoot an extremely dark scene, with just a little bit of light, I see recurring stripes in the video, like the ones from an old worn out VHS tape. They blink roughly every second. But if I have enough light source in the scene, even if the majority of the scene is pitch dark, they disappear. I assume this is some kind of exposure hunting artifact. Is it just me (or my #16) or is this a known bug?
This might be the 2nd one, the 1st one was a blue haze moving in from the right. On that one cooling the camera (outside in winnter) made it go away until it warmed up again.
Mike
P.S. I have a very small feeling it could be a lens/sensor module problem - need more occurrences.
Feb 05, 2012, 06:26 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Isoprop
Logical theory, but it doesn't explain why I haven't (yet ) had any problems with my 32GB and 64GB cards. Since so many cards are failing I hope this problem isn't due to hardware and I really hope your theory doesn't apply. I certainly don't want my camera to suddenly stop during my 6+ hours of recording. Maybe I should stock up on #11s before they run out.
Looks like you're right. And my theory is not confirmed. Today I ran an oscilloscope. I watched the battery voltage waveforms and power SD on video recording mode. I can not see anything wrong. The voltage is very stable. Although I did it on my 4GB card class6. I was hoping that observed although a small voltage drop, which would presume the problems with the cards consuming more power. Nothing wrong had not noticed. Also measured the temperature of the elements. The most CPU heats up, the lens and the two elements near the matrix (about 40 degrees C) This is not an excessive level.

It's probably good news. It seems that the problem lies in the software and only the manufacturer can be removed by generating a new version.
Last edited by wszim; Feb 05, 2012 at 08:54 AM.
Feb 05, 2012, 06:35 AM
Fidler & twidler
empeabee's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by wszim
Looks like you're right. And my theory is not confirmed. Today I ran an oscilloscope. I watched the battery voltage waveforms and power SD on video recording mode. I can not see anything wrong. The voltage is very stable. Although I did it on my 4GB card class6. I was hoping that observed although a small voltage drop, which would presume the problems with the cards consuming more power. Nothing wrong had not noticed. Also measured the temperature of the elements. The most CPU heats up, the lens and the two elements near the matrix (about 40 degrees C). It's probably good news. It seems that the problem lies in the software and only the manufacturer can be removed by generating a new version.
I think you could be correct, the firmware could be pushing the gain up too high, getting into the noise 'floor' of some sensor/A to D systems, again, more occurrences needed .
Mike
P.S. interesting and useful measurements on the system power supply, Thank you.
P.P.S. oops speed read your post - forget the Ist stuff about noise floor & gain - I was locked into the red line problem
Last edited by empeabee; Feb 05, 2012 at 06:43 AM. Reason: ps


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Looking to buy #11 HD Key Cam within US Abolfazl Aerial Photography 4 Mar 20, 2016 12:14 AM
Discussion The REAL (#11) HD Key Cam Thread (PLEASE! READ POSTS #1-#3 BEFORE POSTING QUESTIONS!) Tom Frank Aerial Photography 9936 Feb 11, 2014 09:56 AM
Poll Poll For Current and Future #11 HD Key Cam Users Tom Frank Aerial Photography 0 Sep 25, 2011 11:55 PM
Discussion New HD Key Cam CHAMP? 1080x720p 3 HOUR RECORD TIME! Jaybee Aerial Photography 4 Jun 02, 2011 11:39 AM